Originally Posted by iacas
Why do you keep adding the par of the hole? Who cares?
5 > 3.
And if you have an 18 playing against a 5, what @Fourputt is saying is that rather than give the 5 his five strokes, you just give the 18 13 strokes on the handicap holes 1-13.
well, yea... It works like that too, maybe it sounds simpler that way. And indeed, the par of the hole does not matter, and because this is matchplay. Double bogey beats triple bogey on matchplay for sure!
Gross score - allotted strokes = net score
that seems to be the official formula, actually
Player A hcp 0
Player B hcp 18
both score 5 strokes, on any hole, par doesn't matter, it could be a 80 yard par3
5 - 0= 5
5 - 1= 4
Therefore player B wins the hole with one stroke advantage...
I quoted the wrong person accidentally Sorry Fourputt!!!
I should have quoted Club rat, but I goofed up with my answer and quoting.
Fourputt is completely in the right with his answer. High capper receives fully i.e. 100% - of his allotted extra strokes - not 80% of them, and the fully alloted number of extra strokes, is determined by the difference between player handicaps, indeed this is true.
Club rat was wrong with his recollection of the rules, with hcp matchplay. Net score determines who wins the hole. If net scores of the players are equal, then I guess the hole is halved so to speak.
If you play 18 holes, fully, and all holes are tied, all holes have equal net score between the two players, then you play sudden death until winner is declared...
Edited by late347 - 5/22/14 at 9:26am