So, assuming that a player violated 16-2 by taking an unreasonable length of time, do you think they are subject to a penalty under 6-7 for playing without undue delay? For purposes of this thread, should those voting to assess Langley a penalty under 16-2 also give him another 2 shots under 6-7?
As I said, there is no penalty under 16-2 for being slow in getting to the hole. That is the function of 6-7.
The penalty in 16-2 only arises if the ball falls into the hole after 10 seconds have elapsed since he got there.
Extract from 16-2
When any part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole, the player is allowed enough time to reach the hole without unreasonable delay and an additional ten seconds to determine whether the ball is at rest.
No penalty mentioned in 16-2 yet and the words in green below reinforce the point.
If by then the ball has not fallen into the hole, it is deemed to be at rest. If the ball subsequently falls into the hole, the player is deemed to have holed out with his last stroke, and must add a penalty stroke to his score for the hole;
otherwise, there is no penalty under this Rule.
The logic for the 16-2 penalty is that after 10 seconds the ball is (deemed to be) at rest. Normally the player would have to make another stroke to get the ball into the hole. To prevent the player standing there for 10 minutes for the ball to fall in for free, he either taps it in (1 stroke) or if it eventually falls in the penalty is applied in lieu of the stroke he should have made.
A further point. If he does stand watching the ball for ages, he could get another penalty for undue delay under 6-7. If it doesn't fall in eventually, he must hole the ball or he will not have completed the hole.