or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › If you hear a golf announcer talk about a golf rule do you assume he's right?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

If you hear a golf announcer talk about a golf rule do you assume he's right?

post #1 of 6
Thread Starter 

Did Kostis just say that if Strikler hits the wrong ball out of a hazard "that's not a problem"? The other announcer immediately talked over him.

post #2 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdsandy View Post
 

Did Kostis just say that if Strikler hits the wrong ball out of a hazard "that's not a problem"? The other announcer immediately talked over him.

 

If he did, then he was wrong.  Used to be that way but not any more.  

 

To answer the thread title, no I don't.  In fact I'm more likely to assume that he's wrong because they seem to miss more than they hit.

post #3 of 6

No.

 

David Feherty couldn't even figure out what kind of water hazard was in front of the 15th green at Augusta National.

post #4 of 6

An announcer first must know the rule, and second must be able to explain it coherently.

 

If it's an oddball situation, a decent announcer would say he's "waiting for the ruling," or "checking on it."

 

Ideally, a broadcast team would have at least one member who recently had gone through rules training. I don't know if this is policy or not. 

post #5 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by iacas View Post
 

No.

 

David Feherty couldn't even figure out what kind of water hazard was in front of the 15th green at Augusta National.

That's easy!  It is one of the kind that has water in it!

post #6 of 6

Assume that they're right?  Heck no!

 

Honestly though, they tend to get it right more often than not.  We just notice the goofs.......some of which are real doozies though! 

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › If you hear a golf announcer talk about a golf rule do you assume he's right?