or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Sand Save question
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Sand Save question

post #1 of 20
Thread Starter 
So, I was playing today and hit the greenside bunker. I got out of the bunker and got on the fringe and then chipped onto the green. From there I made the putt.

Does that count as a sand save?
post #2 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RFKFREAK View Post

So, I was playing today and hit the greenside bunker. I got out of the bunker and got on the fringe and then chipped onto the green. From there I made the putt.

Does that count as a sand save?

 

I'm not sure of the "official" definition of Sand Save, if there is one...  I would think that it would mean you knock your second shot into the greenside bunker on a par 4, get out and "save" the par with a one-putt.  However, given the circumstances, if you want it to be a Sand Save, I say go for it!

post #3 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RFKFREAK View Post

So, I was playing today and hit the greenside bunker. I got out of the bunker and got on the fringe and then chipped onto the green. From there I made the putt.

Does that count as a sand save?
A sand save is up and down in 2, for par.
post #4 of 20

Sounds like this was a par 3? Short par 4?

post #5 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunther View Post


A sand save is up and down in 2, for par.

I wouldn't limit it to being for par necessarily, but I agree that it's getting up and down from the bunker.

post #6 of 20

I know guys that declare a sandie if they make par after getting out of the sand, even if it's from a fairway bunker or GIR after finding sand on a reachable par 5. I let my stat tracker do it for me. I only get credit for a sand save if I get up and down from the bunker for par or better after missing GIR. All the scrambling stats on my tracker are based on that except for bounce backs, they include that in the scrambling stats

post #7 of 20
Pretty sure official definition for sand save is par or better from the sand. If you bogie you didn't really save anything.
post #8 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkolo View Post

I wouldn't limit it to being for par necessarily, but I agree that it's getting up and down from the bunker.
Yes, par or better is required for it to be considered a save. Can be a bunker shot make for birdie, a bunker shot and a putt, a bunker shot and chip in for par or 2 bunker shots, as long as par is saved, it counts as a sand save.
post #9 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave2512 View Post

I know guys that declare a sandie if they make par after getting out of the sand, even if it's from a fairway bunker or GIR after finding sand on a reachable par 5. I let my stat tracker do it for me. I only get credit for a sand save if I get up and down from the bunker for par or better after missing GIR. All the scrambling stats on my tracker are based on that except for bounce backs, they include that in the scrambling stats
Yes, we play sandies too, par from a fairway bunker. I don't think the tour tracks those as sand saves, however, but I could be wrong.
post #10 of 20
I always considered a sand save as up and down in two for par or better. If you are in a greenside bunker on a par 5, only the birdie counts as a sand save.
post #11 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by vangator View Post

I always considered a sand save as up and down in two for par or better. If you are in a greenside bunker on a par 5, only the birdie counts as a sand save.
Personally, I'd count a par in that situation a sand save. I believe the tour does too but not 100% sure.
post #12 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunther View Post

Personally, I'd count a par in that situation a sand save. I believe the tour does too but not 100% sure.
Pretty sure this is right. I mean, what are we talking about "saving"? To me it's fairly obvious that it's par we're trying to "save". If it's a birdie so much the better, but when I think "save" in golf I think par.
post #13 of 20
Greenside bunker on a par 5 and on in GIR doesn't leave much to save though. I would rather hit out of a bunker next to the green than fron 100 out in grass. You still have two putts for par. The save is usually up and down when GIR is missed.
post #14 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunther View Post


Yes, par or better is required for it to be considered a save. Can be a bunker shot make for birdie, a bunker shot and a putt, a bunker shot and chip in for par or 2 bunker shots, as long as par is saved, it counts as a sand save.

The PGA Tour disagrees with you, and so do I:

 

Sand Save Percentage: "The percent of time a player was able to get 'up and down' once in a greenside sand bunker (regardless of score). Note: 'Up and down' indicates it took the player 2 shots or less to put the ball in the hole from that point."

 

http://www.pgatour.com/stats/stat.111.html

post #15 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkolo View Post

The PGA Tour disagrees with you, and so do I:

Sand Save Percentage: "The percent of time a player was able to get 'up and down' once in a greenside sand bunker (regardless of score). Note: 'Up and down' indicates it took the player 2 shots or less to put the ball in the hole from that point."

http://www.pgatour.com/stats/stat.111.html
Mmm, interesting. This site is a wealth of information. My own group wouldn't pay me for a sandie in that case, however, so my personal rule still applies, unfortunately. I get up and down out of bunkers for bogey or double all the time. ;)
post #16 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkolo View Post

The PGA Tour disagrees with you, and so do I:

Sand Save Percentage: "The percent of time a player was able to get 'up and down' once in a greenside sand bunker (regardless of score). Note: 'Up and down' indicates it took the player 2 shots or less to put the ball in the hole from that point."

http://www.pgatour.com/stats/stat.111.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunther View Post

Mmm, interesting. This site is a wealth of information. My own group wouldn't pay me for a sandie in that case, however, so my personal rule still applies, unfortunately. I get up and down out of bunkers for bogey or double all the time. ;)
Interesting. I have always assumed that the "save" meant saving par. So it just means sinking the putt in 2 strokes or less from the bunker regardless of score?
post #17 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post



Interesting. I have always assumed that the "save" meant saving par. So it just means sinking the putt in 2 strokes or less from the bunker regardless of score?

I think it just applies to whatever score you're trying to save. So, yesterday, when I was in the rough short of the green on a par-4 and pitching to get on with my fourth shot, I was trying to save bogey. I remember thinking "If I could save bogey here, that'd be a great 5." Probably the only reason I remember it is because I actually wound up getting up and down for a change. 

post #18 of 20
He's right, it basically means your ball is in the hole in 2 strokes or less after you are standing over it in the bunker about to play your wedge shot out. Just simply think of it as, getting up and down out of a sand trap like the PGA tour excerpt
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Sand Save question