or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball didn't get past the ladies tees
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Ball didn't get past the ladies tees

post #1 of 4
Thread Starter 

So I play in a mixed league on Monday's. This one guy was playing against this on girl. On the 2nd hole, a par 5. The white tees are some 60-70 yards away from were the women tee off. So he duffs his drive about 40 yards in front of him. The girl was about to hit, but my opponent held her up to allow the other guy to play his 2nd shot because he was away. I got to thinking, is that correct. We are pretty lax about "Order of Play", and who has honors. So it was no big deal, but I was just curious as to what would happen in an official match were competition has people hitting from different tee boxes. 

 

So a bit of research, 

 

Quote:
 

10-2. Stroke Play

a. When Starting Play of Hole

The competitor who has the honor at the first teeing ground is determined by the order of the draw. In the absence of a draw, the honor should be decided by lot.

The competitor with the lowest score at a hole takes the honor at the nextteeing ground. The competitor with the second lowest score plays next and so on. If two or more competitors have the same score at a hole, they play from the next teeing ground in the same order as at the previous teeing ground.

Exception: Rule 32-1 (handicap bogey, par and Stableford competitions).

b. During Play of Hole

After the competitors have started play of the hole, the ball farthest from thehole is played first. If two or more balls are equidistant from the hole or their positions relative to the hole are not determinable, the ball to be played first should be decided by lot.

 

From this I presume, it doesn't matter if the guy duffed it a foot or 40 yards, the girl would then proceed to hit. Then the hole is now currently in play, the person farthest would play first. 

post #2 of 4

Agreed.  Pretty straight forward.

post #3 of 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by saevel25 View Post
 

So I play in a mixed league on Monday's. This one guy was playing against this on girl. On the 2nd hole, a par 5. The white tees are some 60-70 yards away from were the women tee off. So he duffs his drive about 40 yards in front of him. The girl was about to hit, but my opponent held her up to allow the other guy to play his 2nd shot because he was away. I got to thinking, is that correct. We are pretty lax about "Order of Play", and who has honors. So it was no big deal, but I was just curious as to what would happen in an official match were competition has people hitting from different tee boxes. 

 

So a bit of research, 

 

Quote:
 

10-2. Stroke Play

a. When Starting Play of Hole

The competitor who has the honor at the first teeing ground is determined by the order of the draw. In the absence of a draw, the honor should be decided by lot.

The competitor with the lowest score at a hole takes the honor at the nextteeing ground. The competitor with the second lowest score plays next and so on. If two or more competitors have the same score at a hole, they play from the next teeing ground in the same order as at the previous teeing ground.

Exception: Rule 32-1 (handicap bogey, par and Stableford competitions).

b. During Play of Hole

After the competitors have started play of the hole, the ball farthest from thehole is played first. If two or more balls are equidistant from the hole or their positions relative to the hole are not determinable, the ball to be played first should be decided by lot.

 

From this I presume, it doesn't matter if the guy duffed it a foot or 40 yards, the girl would then proceed to hit. Then the hole is now currently in play, the person farthest would play first. 

 

His ball can't be "away" if she hasn't put a ball in play.

 

As a side note:  If she had played and hit her ball out of bounds, she would have played a stroke and even though she is playing again from tee, with the option of teeing the ball, he is now away as both players have started play on the hole.  In this case it doesn't matter that she doesn't yet have a ball in play.  The fact that she played a stroke means that both players have begun play on the hole.  The same ruling would apply if she had whiffed the ball.  

post #4 of 4
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post
 

 

His ball can't be "away" if she hasn't put a ball in play.

 

That is what I said. 

 

Quote:
 From this I presume, it doesn't matter if the guy duffed it a foot or 40 yards, the girl would then proceed to hit. Then the hole is now currently in play, the person farthest would play first. 

 

I guess it would have read better this way, 

 

Quote:
 From this I presume, it doesn't matter if the guy duffed it a foot or 40 yards, the girl would have to hit her tee shot before he hit is 2nd shot. 
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Ball didn't get past the ladies tees