or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Noh Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty for Playing from the Wrong Green
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Noh Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty for Playing from the Wrong Green - Page 3

post #37 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 


In addition, if a temporary green has been prepared but is not in play, it is also a wrong green.

Are You sure?

The rule speaks of  a wrong "putting green".

The definition for putting green doesn't mention a temporary green. Is a temporary green without a hole "prepared for putting"?

 

I cannot find a decision to back up your statement. Have you got one?

 

I only know golf clubs, which dececlare (by LR) prepared temporary greens, which are not in use as putting greens, as GRU, playing prohibited.

This means, that - other than in rule 25-3 - you wouldn't be allowed to stnd on that green while making your stroke.

 

I stand to be corrected, because you are known as one of guys with excellent knowledge of the rules in ths forum.

post #38 of 47
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Highdriver View Post
 

Are You sure?

The rule speaks of  a wrong "putting green".

The definition for putting green doesn't mention a temporary green. Is a temporary green without a hole "prepared for putting"?

 

I cannot find a decision to back up your statement. Have you got one?

 

I only know golf clubs, which dececlare (by LR) prepared temporary greens, which are not in use as putting greens, as GRU, playing prohibited.

This means, that - other than in rule 25-3 - you wouldn't be allowed to stnd on that green while making your stroke.

 

I stand to be corrected, because you are known as one of guys with excellent knowledge of the rules in ths forum.

 

A putting green is any area specially prepared for putting or otherwise defined as such by the Committee. The latter doesn't have to have a hole.

 

The reason that some clubs declare temporary putting greens as GUR is that either they don't know the rule or they believe that players may be confused by the 'no relief for stance' restriction.

In addition, if they haven't yet made a hole but want to protect the putting surface, GUR is the only option.

post #39 of 47

That is kind of an easy one to remember, but I can see it slipping from a player's mind...but the caddy should be all over it

post #40 of 47
It appeared to me when it happened that a rules official watched the whole thing play out and only after the shot was played approached Noh. Shouldn't the official have given him help in advance of him making the mistake?
post #41 of 47
Thread Starter 

The referee said he couldn't see where Noh was

post #42 of 47
I didn't know the rule. Granted there is only 1 green on my course where that could even happen. Maybe he though the had an option, like a cart path, And that was the best position
post #43 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Schulz View Post

It appeared to me when it happened that a rules official watched the whole thing play out and only after the shot was played approached Noh. Shouldn't the official have given him help in advance of him making the mistake?

As Newby points out, the referee was unsighted.  But you are correct that had he been able to see that a player was setting about playing from a wrong putting green (or about to breach any other rule for that matter), he would have intervened.

post #44 of 47
Thread Starter 

Newby ?

post #45 of 47

Surprised the caddie didn't know this.

 

Years ago, this rule was really drummed into us during caddie training. Neither the head pro nor the greenskeeper wanted players gouging divots out of the wrong green with a 7 iron.

post #46 of 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rulesman View Post
 

Newby ?

Sorry.  Must have been thinking of someone else.

post #47 of 47

I can't believe he and his caddie didn't know this rule.

it's just sick he took that divot out off the green

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Noh Assessed Two-Stroke Penalty for Playing from the Wrong Green