or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Grounding the club in a hazard--on an obstruction
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Grounding the club in a hazard--on an obstruction

post #1 of 7
Thread Starter 

I was watching a replay of the U.S. Amateur tonight and on one hole, a guy's ball rolled off the green, towards a hazard, stopping just short on a retaining wall (that was in the yellow lined hazard).  As he grounded his club, I wondered if he didn't know it was part of the hazard, but I was wrong (as usual).  Decision 13-4/30 says that you are allowed to ground your club at address in a hazard on an obstruction (ie, retaining wall, bridge over creek, etc).  

 

I've played a couple course in the past that have cement lined water hazards (can think of one in Vegas).  If they aren't defined specifically as an integral part of the course, I guess that means you could ground your club on the dry edges?

post #2 of 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBFore View Post
 

I was watching a replay of the U.S. Amateur tonight and on one hole, a guy's ball rolled off the green, towards a hazard, stopping just short on a retaining wall (that was in the yellow lined hazard).  As he grounded his club, I wondered if he didn't know it was part of the hazard, but I was wrong (as usual).  Decision 13-4/30 says that you are allowed to ground your club at address in a hazard on an obstruction (ie, retaining wall, bridge over creek, etc).

 

I've played a couple course in the past that have cement lined water hazards (can think of one in Vegas).  If they aren't defined specifically as an integral part of the course, I guess that means you could ground your club on the dry edges?

 

Even if they are an integral part of the course, you may ground your club on them.

 

R13-4.........

 

Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.

post #3 of 7
Thread Starter 

Thanks.  I learn something new every day!  I'd probably be embarrassed about how many rules I don't know.  You'd think after all these years, I'd have come across all of them by now, lol.

post #4 of 7

The fact that many water hazards (ponds or ditches) are lined with concrete or plastic liners is probably not unconnected with the fact that you do not get relief from an IO in a water hazard.

post #5 of 7

I have a question about inside a hazard rules.Say im in a hazard area with grass growing upwards.I know I cant ground my club behind the ball but am I allowed to touch any top parts of grass growing upwards with my club?Do I have to hover my club above the top parts of grass or am I allowed to lower club down in grass just not grounding it on the ground?I was watching a tournament last week or so and I saw the player touching the blades of grass but wasn't grounded.

post #6 of 7
Just skimming the top of the grass in a hazard is not considered grounding the club - no penalty.
post #7 of 7

Here is the applicable rule.

 

13-4. Ball in Hazard; Prohibited Actions........................

 

Note: At any time, including at address or in the backward movement for the stroke, the player may touch, with a club or otherwise, any obstruction, any construction declared by the Committee to be an integral part of the course or any grass, bush, tree or other growing thing.

 

Regarding your scenario of hovering the club above the ground and/or  practice swings above the ball, you just can't do anything that improves your lie or area of intended swing.

 

A key here is "growing thing."   Touching or moving loose impediments (by definition loose impediments are not attached or growing) would be a penalty.

 

At our club we weed-eat the grass along the lakes inside the hazard stakes.  If I were to touch the grass at address or during my back swing, no penalty.  If I were to touch a blade of grass that had been cut, that's a penalty.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Grounding the club in a hazard--on an obstruction