When a rule requires a player to replace a ball, it must be replaced on the same spot from which it was lifted. Where the mark is placed is not specified under the rule. What Choi did was so blatant that it boggles my mind. Her casual attitude toward this action just confirms her intent to change the line of her putt, yet it's as if she somehow thought that there was nothing wrong with that. Has she never heard of the penalties handed out for a ball that moves just 1/16 of an inch? Crazy.
Then Judy Rankin getting all PC about it. Bull! She is in a position of being a semi-reporter, yet she tries to excuse it as an honest mistake. More bull! I really think that the LPGA is in such dire straits that they thought it would be best if the incident just quietly went away. Instead they are going to be hurt far more if they continue to simply ignore it. They need to act or the entire Tour gets a black eye from it.