or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Chella Choi Cheating. What is the LPGA doing about it?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Chella Choi Cheating. What is the LPGA doing about it? - Page 15

post #253 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckeyeNut View Post
 

She DQ'd herself........................

 

 

End of story!

 

 

My 2 cents...


Agreed. It was too bad it had to end that way. I suppose we all make big mistakes, this was certainly one of her's.

post #254 of 305
How often in the past did she mark 1' putts?

I'm not going to give her a pass if she typically does, but it would really be saying something if she does not.
post #255 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14ledo81 View Post

How often in the past did she mark 1' putts?

I'm not going to give her a pass if she typically does, but it would really be saying something if she does not.
How about a video compilation of her marking multiple putts of any length. Does she typically put her marker down to the left of her ball or ONLY when she's doing the manoeuvre.
post #256 of 305

The ball moved approximately one ball to the left as far as I can tell, which is 4.3cm, or 1.68" in the silly system.

post #257 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrDC View Post
 

I notice this was another case of a viewer calling in and letting them know about the infraction.

Not a fan of this practice at all, if the officials don't call it, then the player should not be penalized, no way should a caller be able to point out a penalty.


Most officiated sports have a number of officials watching a small space. Basketball, for example, has three officials watching an area the size of my back yard. Golf has (who knows how many) officials covering a 150-acre arena. That's why the players have to officiate themselves, and honor regarding the rules is paramount. Odds are, no one will be watching you except the players in your group and their caddies, who are busy with their own game, and a handful of fans, who are not looking for or trained to look for this sort of thing, which essentially means no one is watching. Trying to pull a fast one like Choi did hurts the field in that tournament and the integrity of the sport. I say TV viewers are an important check.

 

And I watched the tape. Good grief, how obvious can you get?

post #258 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Recreational Golfer View Post

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrDC View Post

 

I notice this was another case of a viewer calling in and letting them know about the infraction.



Not a fan of this practice at all, if the officials don't call it, then the player should not be penalized, no way should a caller be able to point out a penalty.







100% agree - the armchair call-in's need to stop - I have a huge problem with that
post #259 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by inthehole View Post

100% agree - the armchair call-in's need to stop - I have a huge problem with that

 

I disagree 100% with you. And this is the thread for that:  Should Viewers Be Able to Call in Rules Violations .

post #260 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lihu View Post
 

 

Was it really 4cm? The distance seems to be growing. ;-)

 

In all honesty, I am not sure why she's using a huge marker like that.

 

I did an experiment where I placed the ball at the edge of my reach in roughly the same body position. Then when I tried to replace it in the same position I would have lost my balance.

 

Hypothetically, if she was pissed that she just missed a birdie putt and lipped out 1 foot, and she was tired and lazy then she might be prone to place the ball in still on the marker but where she can do it comfortably. The thinking is probably that the net outcome would not matter because no one misses a 1 footer.

 

Remember that I am not excusing her behavior at all, neither during the action nor the act of WD and not signing her card. The only thing I would change is title of this thread which I think should read "Chella Choi breaks the rules and is defiant about the ruling. What is the LPGA doing about it?"

 

If I am ever guilty of murder, I want you on my jury.

post #261 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post

If I am ever ALLEGEDLY guilty of murder, I want you on my jury.

Fixed that for you.
post #262 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamo View Post


Fixed that for you.

 

Nope.  Allegedly does not apply here because I KNOW.

 

I mean if I am ACTUALLY guilty I want people on the jury who will bend over backwards to an implausible extent to excuse my actions.  

post #263 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post

Nope.  Allegedly does not apply here because I KNOW.

I mean if I am ACTUALLY guilty I want people on the jury who will bend over backwards to an implausible extent to excuse my actions.  
I shot her on accident. I thought she was a deer.
post #264 of 305
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by inthehole View Post



100% agree - the armchair call-in's need to stop - I have a huge problem with that

You have a huge problem with cheats being identified?

That's a strange position to have.

We are talking here about cheating, not rules violations like a club grazing a weed in a hazard and oscillating golf balls

post #265 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post
 

Nope.  Allegedly does not apply here because I KNOW.

 

I mean if I am ACTUALLY guilty I want people on the jury who will bend over backwards to an implausible extent to excuse my actions.  

 

The way I see it, you were just losing your balance. :-)

post #266 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtleback View Post

Nope.  Allegedly does not apply here because I KNOW.

I mean if I am ACTUALLY guilty I want people on the jury who will bend over backwards to an implausible extent to excuse my actions.  

there would be no need for a trial if you already admitted guilt.
post #267 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lihu View Post


there would be no need for a trial if you already admitted guilt.

He's guilty but he isn't pleading guilty. Happens all the time.

post #268 of 305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ernest Jones View Post
 

He's guilty but he isn't pleading guilty. Happens all the time.


True. :-)

 

http://www.nolo.com/legal-encyclopedia/representing-client-whom-the-lawyer-thinks-is-guilty.html

post #269 of 305

So the cheater finished third in a tournament that she shouldn't have been playing in, on a tour that she should have been suspended from, and pocketed a cool $76,000 that should have gone to all of the other players in the field who aren't cheaters.

 

Wonder what all of those women immediately below her think about that.

post #270 of 305

I'm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Golfingdad View Post
 

So the cheater finished third in a tournament that she shouldn't have been playing in, on a tour that she should have been suspended from, and pocketed a cool $76,000 that should have gone to all of the other players in the field who aren't cheaters.

 

Wonder what all of those women immediately below her think about that.

I'm disappointed that none of them had the nerve to speak up.  I wonder if a memo went out to all the ladies on the Tour from the LPGA requesting their silence because it seems too coincidental that not one person had something to say about it.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › Chella Choi Cheating. What is the LPGA doing about it?