or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Errant shot hits tree, then power line.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Errant shot hits tree, then power line.

post #1 of 3
Thread Starter 

Seems to be in the Local Rule category that balls hitting power lines must be replayed.  I had thought a general Rule.

 

 But today the poorly played wedge went way right and hit the upper branches of the tree,  fell onto the power lines and then into the rough.

 

If Local Rule in effect, must this shot be replayed?  If no Local Rule in effect, play as it lies in rough? 

post #2 of 3

Yes and yes.

post #3 of 3

For a bit more discussion on this....

 

In my experience, the local rule is generally only invoked when the power lines are in play for a "normal" shot - usually if the lines are strung across the hole or are otherwise likely to be a factor in the normal play of the hole.  One course I play has a string of high tension lines down the left side, well into the rough, and they do not have the local rule in place.  If you hit those lines, play it as it lies.  I've never actually hit the lines on that hole, but I've bounced a couple of drives off one of the big (about 3 feet in diameter at the base) metal poles.  A friend hit a high hook and clipped the lines once, and they saved him from going OB, so I guess it's not necessarily a bad thing.    

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Errant shot hits tree, then power line.