or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Accidental Tee Shot
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

Accidental Tee Shot - Page 2

post #19 of 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by David in FL View Post
 

 

It's generally pretty clear whether someone intended to hit the ball or not.  Even when I've seen someone completely whiff the ball, I've never had a doubt as to their intent......

 

And if it's not clear ...

 

Quote:
 

14/1.5

Intent to Strike Ball Ceases During Downswing; Club Not Stopped But Path of Clubhead Altered to Avoid Striking Ball

Q.A player begins his downswing with the intention of striking the ball but decides during the downswing not to strike the ball. The player is unable to stop the club before it reaches the ball, but he is able to swing intentionally over the top of the ball. Is the player deemed to have made a stroke?

A.No. The player is considered to have checked his downswing voluntarily by altering the path of his downswing and missing the ball even though the swing carried the clubhead beyond the ball.

If the player had not successfully checked his downswing (i.e., he had struck the ball), he is considered to have made a stroke.

Any doubt regarding the player's intent must be resolved against the player.

post #20 of 20

No doubt especially on the tee when you are right there. I've seen guys nick it with a waggle and send it flying somewhat far but it didn't look like the full blast swing that popped of the top of the toe that went just as far.

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Rules of Golf
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Rules of Golf › Accidental Tee Shot