or Connect
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › What do you consider the most stupid rule in golf?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

What do you consider the most stupid rule in golf? - Page 15

post #253 of 355

In a world of computers, instant replay, and officials around you at all times, signing an incorrect scorecard should not disqualify you. They should be alerted immediately of the infraction and given the stroke penalty. If they turn in the scorecard still incorrect, add another stroke or two. 

post #254 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmorg19 View Post

In a world of computers, instant replay, and officials around you at all times, signing an incorrect scorecard should not disqualify you. They should be alerted immediately of the infraction and given the stroke penalty. If they turn in the scorecard still incorrect, add another stroke or two. 

 

Your wish has been granted: http://www.pgatour.com/2011/r/04/07/rule-change/index.html

post #255 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fore Left View Post

Shirts without collars.....

 

I honestly think if Tiger Woods wasn't playing like he was playing, ranked how he was ranked,  etc...  the tour would have never let anyone else get away with his 'mock-collar' shirts he always wears.

 

The game doesn't care whether you respect it or not. People do.

 

And I'm offended by your disrespect to those of us who love the game but don't share your taste in neckwear.

post #256 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeg View Post

The game doesn't care whether you respect it or not. People do.

And I'm offended by your disrespect to those of us who love the game but don't share your taste in neckwear.

He wears a tie to golf? Now that is old school Bobby Jones era.
post #257 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by TourSpoon View Post


He wears a tie to golf? Now that is old school Bobby Jones era.

 

Well, I assumed he was wearing a Proper Shirt with a detachable collar. But now that you mention it, skipping the tie would be a veritable slur!

post #258 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeg View Post

Well, I assumed he was wearing a Proper Shirt with a detachable collar. But now that you mention it, skipping the tie would be a veritable slur!

Since the tie and coat went out of favor, golf has never been the same!
post #259 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by sacm3bill View Post

 

Your wish has been granted: http://www.pgatour.com/2011/r/04/07/rule-change/index.html

Does this make me psychic? Or an oblivious idiot that luckily hates that rule?

post #260 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soxx22 View Post

I agree that divots should be ground under repair, but I think the worst rule is the stroke and distance penalty for out of bounds. It should be one or the other, not both.


At what stage would you consider it ground under repair.  0, 1/4, 1/2, 3/4, 7/8 grown back. 

 

Do you see why the rule is in place?

 

You would have to spray the whole course with white paint.

post #261 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by wowzer View Post

 

 

Personally, they can make the rule clear, 'If the ball comes to a stop in the middle of the correct fairway (i.e. not the fairway of the 7th hole when you are playing #8) and the ball is NOT laying on grass that's planted in the ground, the player should be able to drop the ball 1 club length, no closer to the hole.'


 The rules don't recognize the term "fairway", so they certainly can't recognize the "correct fairway".  The only areas of the course recognized in the rules are teeing ground, through the green, hazard, and putting green.  And when 2 holes share part of a fairway, how do you determine if you are still on the correct one?

post #262 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fore Left View Post


Shirts without collars.....

 

I honestly think if Tiger Woods wasn't playing like he was playing, ranked how he was ranked,  etc...  the tour would have never let anyone else get away with his 'mock-collar' shirts he always wears.

 

I wonder what Jack was thinking:

 

http://siphotos.tumblr.com/post/27554885320/with-his-longish-blonde-hair-and-bulky

 

1000

post #263 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post


 The rules don't recognize the term "fairway", so they certainly can't recognize the "correct fairway".  The only areas of the course recognized in the rules are teeing ground, through the green, hazard, and putting green.  And when 2 holes share part of a fairway, how do you determine if you are still on the correct one?

Yep.

 

How big problem this ball in divot is, as on my 40 rounds this summer, I have not yet been in one of them? Neither do I remember this happening last year.

post #264 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by luu5 View Post

 

I wonder what Jack was thinking:

 

http://siphotos.tumblr.com/post/27554885320/with-his-longish-blonde-hair-and-bulky

 

1000

 

What Jack is wearing is a true turtleneck.  The turtleneck is a collar.

post #265 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post


 The rules don't recognize the term "fairway", so they certainly can't recognize the "correct fairway".  The only areas of the course recognized in the rules are teeing ground, through the green, hazard, and putting green.  And when 2 holes share part of a fairway, how do you determine if you are still on the correct one?

How far have we moved from "play the ball as it lies and the course as you find it"........

a4_sad.gif
post #266 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fourputt View Post


 The rules don't recognize the term "fairway", so they certainly can't recognize the "correct fairway".  The only areas of the course recognized in the rules are teeing ground, through the green, hazard, and putting green.  And when 2 holes share part of a fairway, how do you determine if you are still on the correct one?

The "correct fairway" would be the one 75 yards to the left of the one in which my tee shot lies, in other wards, the one directly in front of the tee.

 

I've been playing 19 years and can only recall my ball landing in a divot a few times - I can't recall when it last would have done so.  However, I'm sure there is some correlation between hitting the fairway and landing in a divot that at least partially explains why this event is rare for me, or else this reflects upon the abilities of the typical golfers at the course I play to hit the fairway and leave a divot.

 

EDIT:  wow, it appears that someone has given me an avatar.  I have no idea who did so or who is depicted in that photo, though.

post #267 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wisguy View Post

The "correct fairway" would be the one 75 yards to the left of the one in which my tee shot lies, in other wards, the one directly in front of the tee.

 

I've been playing 19 years and can only recall my ball landing in a divot a few times - I can't recall when it last would have done so.  However, I'm sure there is some correlation between hitting the fairway and landing in a divot that at least partially explains why this event is rare for me, or else this reflects upon the abilities of the typical golfers at the course I play to hit the fairway and leave a divot.

 

EDIT:  wow, it appears that someone has given me an avatar.  I have no idea who did so or who is depicted in that photo, though.

 

Actually, some of the worse lies I've ever played out of were unrepaired divot holes in the rough.  Talk about a nasty lie..... g2_eek.gif

post #268 of 355

I reckon that the dress code for golf should simply be 'sporting'-smart-casual. A collarless shirt isn't a disrespect to the game. It's a choice of clothing and nothing more. Just make it 'no jeans and trainers' or something.

Ofc, I adhere any dress code at a club, but I like to play my local municipal 9-holer more than a registered private club, simply because I can wear what I want. I play as crap as I usually do regardless of what I wear hahaha!

post #269 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by divot dave View Post

I found this out the hard way yesterday... apparently its a stroke penalty if your club touches the sand before you swing in the bunker? Gotta be the dumbest rule ever... unless someone can explain why that rule might be considered necessary...

I didn't know this either.. last time I went out I was in the bunker and before hitting I made a little 'divot' right behind the ball where I need to hit.. just because i always did this to prepare.. the guy i was playing with mentioned how thats a stroke penalty right there and to add it to my score. I gave him a "yeah yeah, alright" and was thinking he should just calm down ha.. 

 

I never heard of it and have been doing this as a pre-sand routine for as long as i can remember.. and btw.. it never gave me an advantage.. i was and still am horrible at sand traps.

 

but glad i know now.

post #270 of 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goonsidious View Post

I didn't know this either.. last time I went out I was in the bunker and before hitting I made a little 'divot' right behind the ball where I need to hit.. just because i always did this to prepare.. the guy i was playing with mentioned how thats a stroke penalty right there and to add it to my score. I gave him a "yeah yeah, alright" and was thinking he should just calm down ha.. 

 

I never heard of it and have been doing this as a pre-sand routine for as long as i can remember.. and btw.. it never gave me an advantage.. i was and still am horrible at sand traps.

 

but glad i know now.

 



It's neither here nor there, but actually its a 2 stroke penalty.  a2_wink.gif

New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: Golf Talk
TheSandTrap.com › Golf Forum › The Clubhouse › Golf Talk › What do you consider the most stupid rule in golf?