Jump to content
  • entries
    14
  • comments
    72
  • views
    4,111

Reflections on Golf and Life After ECU Injury - Part 2

Sign in to follow this  
cipher

1,547 views

The popping sound I heard was quite loud and the pain was strong enough that my initial reaction was to think I actually broke the ulna bone(the outside arm bone) near the wrist.  I tried to pick my club back up and the nerves in my arm near the wrist were on fire.  I could not even grip the club at all with the left hand.  I had actually hit the ball a bit thin and the shot flared out to the right about 40 yards right and short of the green and I missed the water.  When I made it up to the ball I tried to one arm about a 40 yard chip up onto the green.   I bladed the ball into an embankment in front of the green luckily and it slowed the ball down enough that it hopped up onto the green and left me with a long putt.  I made two right hand only putts for a par somehow and we headed to the clubhouse at the turn. 

At the turn we grabbed some ice and I began to ice the injury.   My round was most definitely over.  I decided to ride along in the cart so my Dad could finish his round.   I had no idea what was actually wrong with my wrist but as the afternoon went on I was fairly convinced that the wrist or the arm bone was likely not broken.   I had a sinking feeling that something else was very wrong and that I was not going to be playing golf for a long time.   

Sleeping through that night did not go very well.  Anytime I moved my arm in my sleep I would irritate the wrist and the pain would wake me up.  The next day I went to an urgent care office to see if there would be an easy diagnosis.  The doctor came in and said that he had no idea what injury I had exactly but that it was likely some kind of tendon problem. He also mentioned that an x-ray would probably not find the issue either.  He gave me a brace to try and immobilize the wrist until I got back home and could have further tests done.  The brace also helped me to be able to sleep at night as well.  I did my best to enjoy the rest of that 2015 spring vacation and I looked forward to heading home to see a specialist who could try to figure out my issue. 

Sign in to follow this  


4 Comments


Recommended Comments

1 minute ago, iacas said:

Unfortunately this is one of those times when an early diagnosis and treatment would mean very little. :-(

Yes, unfortunately so.

Share this comment


Link to comment

This is not meant to make light of what happened - not in the least - but I found it interesting you not only wanted to finish the hole, but actually finished it and with a par. All while being in intense pain.

If anyone deserves to come back from an injury and once again play the game, it's someone with that much skill and desire.

Share this comment


Link to comment
Guest
Add a comment...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Blog Entries

  • Posts

    • Day 170.  I got home way too late, but remembered the challenge so I'm doing some of UGP's stretches.  Probably good given how little I moved today.  (Incidentally, earlier today I saw my future golf room for the first time, better than the previous one!  Ten days until setup!)
    • Almost always putt. Either with my putter or a club from PW-7 iron using the same putting stroke depending the pin location and grass condition. 
    • Yeah you must’ve missed that. It was posted earlier by @fredf then reposted by @Missouri Swede.
    • This is good stuff and interesting to hear from someone that plays on such big greens. I have never had that luxury/challenge, depending on the green. I find it so interesting that some people love partial shots (could be full swing but reduced power), and others don't want any part of it. For me, in that same situation of 100 yards with back edge at 110, this is how I would take it. Full shots are 80-85 yards for 53o, 95-100 yards for PW, 110 yards for 9I. I would almost always take a 9I into this green, unless there is serious trouble long. A 85-95% 9 iron is going to leave me on the green almost all of the time, barring L-R miss. If I hit it super pure, or I have some extra adrenaline pumping, I'm over for sure, but close. If it is sloping toward the back, then its a pitching wedge, and an almost certain downhill putt, but that's the nature of the beast. I use a Garmin approach S20, which is fairly basic, but has done a really good job of telling me center, front and back of the greens when I have played. When I know the pin layout for the day, I do cater to that, but if I have any doubt, or it is scary at all, I play for the center
    • I have gone through the replies and the main claim is 'Serious misconduct'. I get that but it seems like a grey area. open to interpretation.  I can't find any section of the rules that describe the scenario that i provided and the rules are very specific in terms of objects, balls hit, touched, where participants stand, act etc. There are other reasons the said example could count as legitimate play. Perhaps Player B is putting away from the hole because he wants an easier uphill putt to finish the hole. Also if  Player B's ball is directly opposite Player A's ball and putts it pass the hole and just pass his partners mark it is an over hit and the putt coming back is going to show the line for the next putt. Misconduct or inherent part of the game. Have we lost the freedom to decide on the direction of the next stroke. NB. The 4BBB I am referring to would be part of a Team Stableford competion. So there is no conceding putts involved.   Ahhh I have found some clarity. Point 7.  1.2a/1 - Meaning of Serious Misconduct The phrase “serious misconduct” in Rule 1.2a is intended to cover player misconduct that is so far removed from the expected norm in golf that the most severe sanction of removing a player from the competition is justified. This includes dishonesty, deliberately interfering with another player’s rights, or endangering the safety of others. The Committee must determine if the misconduct is serious considering all the circumstances. Even if the Committee determines that the misconduct is serious, it may take the view that it is more appropriate to warn the player that a repeat of the misconduct or similar misconduct will result in disqualification, instead of disqualifying him or her in the first instance. Examples of actions by a player that are likely to be considered serious misconduct include: Deliberately causing serious damage to a putting green. Disagreeing with the course setup and taking it on himself or herself to move tee-markers or boundary stakes. Throwing a club towards another player or spectator. Deliberately distracting other players while they are making strokes. Removing loose impediments or movable obstructions to disadvantage another player after that other player has asked him or her to leave them in place. Repeatedly refusing to lift a ball at rest when it interferes with another player in stroke play. Deliberately playing away from the hole and then towards the hole to assist the player’s partner (such as helping the player’s partner learn the break on the putting green). Deliberately not playing in accordance with the Rules and potentially gaining a significant advantage by doing so, despite incurring a penalty for a breach of the relevant Rule. Repeatedly using vulgar or offensive language. Using a handicap that has been established for the purpose of providing an unfair advantage or using the round being played to establish such a handicap. Examples of actions by a player that, although involving misconduct, are unlikely to be considered serious misconduct include: Slamming a club to the ground, damaging the club and causing minor damage to the turf. Throwing a club towards a golf bag that unintentionally hits another person. Carelessly distracting another player making a stroke.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Robert  D McCabe
      Robert D McCabe
      (57 years old)
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...