Jump to content

All Activity

This stream auto-updates

  1. Past hour
  2. I'm not sure this is correct. I would recommend reviewing Rule 16.1b. Your relief area has to be in the general area.
  3. SJ7

    My Swing (SJ7)

    I hope these are a little better, I will have to the face on angle on the course sometime the bays around me are far to small and the camera would be so close, Even on these one's the down line angle was the farthest away I could possible have. Comparing my game from now to my original post I'd say my ball striking has been a lot better in terms of consistency. I'm never too far offline and I'm pretty short in terms of distance. Driver I'm probably averaging around 210ish but can squeeze it out 240ish if I get everything right.
  4. The issue is when this happens in a formal competition. Hard to protect the field by calling it for a single brief phrase. I did call advice in a tournament a few weeks ago when one player helped the other make a 10 foot putt on the first hole. Afterwards the advice-giver checked with the committee and added two strokes to his score. The player who accepted the advice and made the putt did not.
  5. They know it's embedded because they saw it land and then cannot find it and the ground is soft. See USGA Embedded Ball FAQ. Yes, if the ball is "known or virtually certain" lost in an abnormal course condition such as temporary water, then there is free relief referencing the point that the ball entered the abnormal course condition. However, soft ground is not temporary water. Water has to be visible. Yes, they say, "leave it there, it might help". Maybe this one is not as difficult to call as other examples though.
  6. Thanks for the welcome. I'm figuring out the kid stuff. My kids are 6th grade and 3rd grade. I bought them a set of top flight clubs to share for now, but my 6th grader is really on the high end of height for the clubs, and I'm going to need a 2nd set. So my youngest one is all set for now, I just need to do some figuring on the oldest one. As far as actually playing with them, I've got to get that figured out as well, and I'm interested to hear about others' experiences. We have a par 3 course nearby, and that's a good start. Thus far, I've let them hit a shot off the tee, and t
  7. It’s like anything else, if you make a change and see improvement, then the change was worth it. Its just golf.
  8. "Choose to do it all at once" is not in the rules. If you do that, you have played from a wrong place. The penalty is 2 strokes, or DQ if it was a serious breach. Usually a cart path is not "right next to" a penalty area, so relief from the cart path after dropping on it could be between the cart path and the penalty area. It is a question of protecting the field because some players follow the correct procedure and even end up playing from the cart path when their cart path relief would have them closer to and maybe standing in the penalty area.
  9. How does a player know when they should move up to blades? I ask because my son (18 years old, 3 years experience, 5-6 hdcp) seems to think he should consider it. He was fitted for Wilson C300s 3 years ago. He hits them well. I could be wrong, but I think his 6 iron is his 200+ yard club and that 7 iron is in the 190s. He practices with a Mevo into a net a lot and should know his distances well because of that (assuming Mevo is accurate). But sometimes on the course even sometimes with the Mevo into the net he gets what he considers a flyer from a fairway lie that goes 10-15 yards farth
  10. Today
  11. I shot around 83-85 on all the courses except the last day at Sand Valley when I shot a 79. I had a really good back nine at Sand Valley that day. I typically started slowly, and then had a good middle stretch of holes, 6-15, then have a bad last few holes. I putted really well, thanks Erik for giving me two putting tips about 4-5 weeks ago. Started making everything inside 15-FT. I think at the Sand Box, I had a 9 hole stretch where I made everything inside 15-FT. I didn't have many putts inside 5-Ft there. The best hole for me was #12 at Sand Valley where I went Driver, 7 iron to about
  12. @KevinBlakeHave you read this post? It may help.
  13. I shot 80 on the second day at SV, then 80 and 81 at Lawsonia, which were my 3 lowest scores of the year. Some highlights: 60 yard sand shot to 5 feet for birdie on MD. 3 birdies in a row from 10-12 on SV on day 2. Had a combined 30-35 feet of eagle putts on 10 and 12 (I hit two 5 irons to about 15 and 20 feet, respectively), and stuffed an approach from about 115 to 4 feet on 11. Making par from the driving range on 9 on SV. Hit a completely blind 70 yard shot to 15 feet. I had to turn on my GPS to get some guess at the yardage because I couldn't see the flag to hit with my
  14. I filmed @DeadMan@iacasand @GolfLug all with great shots on the the final hole of the Sandbox, number 17. Erik and Vishal nearly ace it. Gotta love the drunk guy yelling in the background. 😂
  15. No, It does impact lie angle at address. Hand position can effect lie angle at impact to. just because you present no toe up at address doesn’t mean you present that same position at impact. Your hand position can be different at impact than at address, and the dynamics of the golf club will change the lie angle as well. you could have very low hands at address and then swing where they end up much higher. If you change the lie angle of the club because it looks a lot toe up at address, then you could induce the toe to be down at impact. impact is what matters. When fitting, th
  16. So it's not the position of your hands that affect how much your toe should be up at address, it's just your swing speed and the material the shaft is made from? I had seen it mentioned that hand position was the most important thing for this but maybe it's wrong
  17. We did some competitive stuff on the Sandbox and the last day I shot about as well as I possibly could. I shot a 53(par 51) on the final day when we did a team competition. The Sandbox was just and absolute joy to play, and some of the pin positions were very tough to get. I shot an 80 at Mammoth which was low for me on the one day my driver was behaving, but was mostly mid to high 80s on the other days. I had a few hybrid(it's a 3 cranked down to a 2) shots that were probably my best shots. The par 5 number 18 on Mammoth to just before the green from about 250 out. Same thing on 10(par
  18. Depends on the swing. The club shaft is not straight at impact, even if you match hand position because the weight of the clubhead will cause the shaft to bend, sending the toe closer to the ground. That depends on your swing speed, and the golf shaft. Its best just to get fitted for irons and use a lie board.
  19. Sounds like you guys had a great time, I loved reading the reviews. I'd love to hear about some of the best shots you guys hit out there, did anyone go super low compared to how they usually score?
  20. Yeah. Eastern Michigan is one of the ones I'll admit not knowing. Pretty weak for someone that went to Bowling Green, but they were the Eagles by the time I got there. Another one I never knew was the NBA Warriors. Before moving to California, the Philadelphia Warriors used a really hokey-looking Indian character. Obviously, they kept the name but changed the logo. Really. The fact that the teams are pulling these nicknames is proof positive that people are offended by them. If it was still a real argument, Washington Football Team would have never given up that nic
  21. That one really shouldn't be an issue - if you see it happening, you can tell the player to mark the ball and they have to mark the ball. Rule 15.3a:
  22. If your hands are high up at both address & impact, should your iron address position be toe up or flush with the ground?
  23. I'm confused by this. How would they know the ball is embedded if it's lost? Or are they just claiming that since it was lost it must have been embedded? Isn't there a rule regarding casual water where if its known or virtually certain your ball is in the casual water you would get free relief even if you cant find your ball? Would the same thing apply to an embedded ball? Good luck proving this one. I believe there has to be spoken/acknowledged intent by both players in order to make it backstopping. Do you actually see instances where players speak out loud that they are
  24. I see this often in casual golf. Frequently if playing a new course with someone who "Knows" the course they inevitably tell you how to play each hole as if they are your caddie.
  25. Played a strange 85-shots round at my home course yesterday. 1/13 fairways and 4/18 greens (12/18nGIR) was actually flattering with the long game I displayed. An absolute horrorshow of ballstriking. Thinned it, sliced it, shanked it, pulled it and duffed it short, left and right. Hull 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Out 10 11 12 13 14 15 16
  26. This is one of those that depend on the situation. If you do have a cart path right next to the hazard and your two club lengths drop comes into there, you are entitled to free relief from the path (ball or stance). In theory you should mark the spot, then take relief from that spot as GUR relief, but many people choose to do it all at once
  27. @BeauJoe - welcome to TST. Don't worry about older clubs. Quite a few of us here have them. The oldest clubs at home are a Dunlop set from 1986, which I use when I don't want to travel with my clubs from my apartment in the city to our coffee estate
  1. Load more activity


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...