Jump to content
mighty

Why Is Larry Mize Playing the Masters?

24 posts / 1937 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Forgot to say Sandy Lyle, Ian Woosnam, Mike Weir, Trevor Immelman 

7 hours ago, jshots said:

I feel like if you win the Masters, you deserve it.

Not sure about that, no other major has lifetime exemption

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

8 minutes ago, mighty said:

Forgot to say Sandy Lyle, Ian Woosnam, Mike Weir, Trevor Immelman 

Not sure about that, no other major has lifetime exemption

That's not true. Correct me if I'm wrong, but the PGA Championship gives an exemption to all previous winners who are capable and willing to play. This is why John Daly, despite not actually having a tour card, continues to play. 

The Open also gives an exemption to all previous champions under the age of 60. So it appears that the only major that doesn't honor it's former champions with a lifetime exemption (or rather playing age exemption) is the US Open. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You are correct, the US Open exemption is only 10 years.  The Open Championship exemption is a minimum of 10 years or until you reach 60, so if someone wins it in their 50's they still are exempt for 10 years.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

But do those other championships sacrifice spots for those exemptions?  The Masters doesn't.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Welcome! Cruise around the forums and topics...Bet you find something to interest you. Best, -Marv
    • 68 - 72 (-4) : Really good weekend. Every part of my game was on point. I´m finally hitting more greens, and more GIR means shotting lower scores. Hugh improvement in my irons accuracy in the last weeks, a bit better dispersion with my driver and decent short game makes the game easier and more fun. Keeping the ball in play is crutial, i played with the same ball the last 4 rounds, no penalty´s. This summer looks good so far.   
    • The 9th, thus Rule 9. First the Clif Notes version: Ball moved? By who or what and what we’re to do about it. BALL MOVED BY THE PLAYER Except on the putting green or during a search, if a player either accidentally or intentionally causes their ball in play to move or picks up their ball when not allowed by the Rules, the ball must be replaced.  The penalty is one stroke. (R9.4b) BALL MOVED ON PUTTING GREEN If a player accidentally moves their ball or ball-marker on the putting green, the ball or ball-marker must be replaced. No penalty. (R13.1d) BALL MOVED DURING SEARCH If the player or anyone else accidentally moves the player's ball while looking for it, the ball must be replaced.  No penalty to anyone. (R7.4) BALL MOVED BY OUTSIDE INFLUENCE If it is known or virtually certain that a player's ball has been moved by someone or something else, the ball must be replaced. No penalty to anyone. (R9.6) BALL MOVED ON ITS OWN If a player's ball is moved by natural forces such as wind, water or gravity, the ball must be played from its new location. No penalty. (R9.3) Exception: On the putting green, if the ball moves on its own after having been lifted and replaced, the player may not play the ball from the new location and the ball must be replaced. No penalty. (R13.1d2) -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Rule 9 - Ball Played as It Lies; Ball at Rest Lifted or Moved Purpose of Rule: Rule 9 covers a central principle of the game: “play the ball as it lies.” If the player’s ball comes to rest and is then moved by natural forces such as wind or water, the player normally must play it from its new spot. If a ball at rest is lifted or moved by anyone or any outside influence before the stroke is made, the ball must be replaced on its original spot. Players should take care when near any ball at rest, and a player who causes his or her own ball or an opponent’s ball to move will normally get a penalty (except on the putting green). Rule 9 applies to a ball in play at rest on the course, and applies both during a round and while play is stopped under Rule 5.7a. What’s covered in the Rule: 9.1 Ball Played as It Lies 9.2 Deciding Whether Ball Moved and What Caused It to Move 9.3 Ball Moved by Natural Forces 9.4 Ball Lifted or Moved by Player 9.5 Ball Lifted or Moved by Opponent in Match Play 9.6 Ball Lifted or Moved by Outside Influence 9.7 Ball-Marker Lifted or Moved https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=9 https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=interp&section=rule&rulenum=9
    • Hey y'all! I'm Chris from South Carolina here!  Finally bought my first beginner set after years of flirting with game!  Can't wait to pick them up this week!  I am totally excited to learn from you fine men and women about this great game!   
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...