Jump to content
hoselpalooza

A Ball Is Lodged in a Tree Branch Beyond the Reach of a Club

3 posts / 2610 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Quote

 

Stroke

Stroke/1 – Determining If a Stroke Was Made

The player’s action does not count as a stroke in each of following situations:

A ball is lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club. If the player moves the ball by striking a lower part of the branch instead of the ball, Rule 9.4 (Ball Lifted or Moved by Player) applies.

 

after reading rule 9.4 i'm uncertain what should happen in the above scenario. please help! 😅 

9.4a is applicable since no stroke has been made, stating the ball must be replaced in its original spot. but how could one be reasonably expected to replace a ball that is beyond the reach of their club? what happens if they can't? 

it also seems 9.4b should apply, causing the player to incur one penalty stroke, though i'm surprised the definition wouldn't just mention this. is this correct?

thank you!

rule 9.4: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rule-9.html
definition of stroke: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/definitions_interpretations.html

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Check out interpretation 

9.4a/1 – Procedure When Player’s Ball Is Dislodged From Tree

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@jlbos83, thanks for your help. 👍

after reading/re-reading the interpretation and definition a few times i realize what confused me. the part of the definition i quoted doesn't mention "retrieve" even though that's exactly what the player is doing in that scenario. 

the interpretations don't explicitly cover that same scenario from the definition (weirdly) but to me it looks like this how to correctly proceed:

the player should make it clear he or she will take unplayable ball relief under rule 19 before knocking the ball out of the tree. they get one penalty stroke under rule 19 but no additional strokes (rule 9.4) for deliberately causing the ball to move. 

Edited by hoselpalooza
a word

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...