Cantankerish

Hitting Out of Fairway Bunkers

21 posts / 2039 viewsLast Reply

Hey all.  I have limited experience with this particular aspect of the game.  I have plenty of experience hitting a sand wedge out of a greenside bunker, but  the fairway bunker strikes me as a different animal. When my tee shot finds a bunker on a par 5, for example, I have been attempting to hit like my 3 or 5 hybrid out.  But this has not gone well - ever.  I figure you have to pick it clean to get good contact.  But I always seem to shank it hard to the right.  Actually, I bet it is the norm to send it right.

How do you deal with a fairway bunker?  Do you go for it like a pro or are you smart enough to just accept your wasted stroke and pitch it out?  How can one practice this?  (My range has a bunker but its at the chipping green.) I am looking for any information about this shot, really.  Anecdotes, advice, physical explanations of what is different about hitting from sand.  Whatever.  And why the heck am I sending the ball so far right?

Thanks in advance.

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

11 minutes ago, Cantankerish said:

Hey all.  I have limited experience with this particular aspect of the game.  I have plenty of experience hitting a sand wedge out of a greenside bunker, but  the fairway bunker strikes me as a different animal. When my tee shot finds a bunker on a par 5, for example, I have been attempting to hit like my 3 or 5 hybrid out.  But this has not gone well - ever.  I figure you have to pick it clean to get good contact.  But I always seem to shank it hard to the right.  Actually, I bet it is the norm to send it right.