Jump to content

18 posts / 3595 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Hi guys

potential issue at our club, 8 th hole uphill OOB all up left side but a cart path runs up left side about 6 to 8 feet from fence. There are small trees planted along the fence which used to be staked so free drop, now they have grown stakes are gone and no free drop which is fine. ( free drop made hole too easy imho). Problem is if a ball stops on the gravel path and you are right handed the room to drop is small and trees and fence interfere. This makes it difficult in places to even have a playable shot after a free drop. You couldn’t play from path with out destroying a club but seems harsh that your only 5 yards off the fairway on a man made path but have to drop where it’s virtually unplayable. There are places where if you took relief it would be unplayable then two clubs only gets you back to path!

can we make a local rule that all drop to right of path if a ball is on the path? Or a drop zone for path? Or is it just tough?

thanks

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

Why can't you drop on the right side of the path.  All you need is Nearest Point of Relief from the path.  Of course, if that is to the left and you get a difficult angle to hit from, that is just tough.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi.

if you’re right handed the nearest point of relief is almost always the left side. It just seems harsh that your ball is in bounds and would be perfectly playable but because you have to get relief from a cart path your ball becomes unplayable. It’s not just a difficult angle, you don’t have a swing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Gazzagolf said:

Hi.

if you’re right handed the nearest point of relief is almost always the left side. It just seems harsh that your ball is in bounds and would be perfectly playable but because you have to get relief from a cart path your ball becomes unplayable. It’s not just a difficult angle, you don’t have a swing.

Depending on how close the path is to the fence, I see a possible way around this.  So you take your drop between the path and the fence, and you can't take a stance to hit the ball toward the green.  A reasonable option is to hit sideways, or even backward (toward the tee).  If the path interferes with THAT stance, you get relief again.  If there isn't enough room to drop the ball inside the fence without having your feet on the path (hitting toward the tee), your NPR might then be on the right side of the path.  Of course, if the path is 6 to 8 feet from the fence, there probably IS enough room to take that shot toward the tee without interference from the path.  I'd be aiming my tee shot at the other side of the fairway, to do my best to avoid this problem.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

19 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Of course, if the path is 6 to 8 feet from the fence…

Right, there's always going to be enough room to take a stance over there.

Don't hit it there, and if you do, consider putting it or blading it back into play so your club(s) don't hit the cart path.

The only real alternative is actually for the club to move the OB line to the (outer) edge of the cart path. That would eliminate drops on that side, but with the obvious other consequences.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I know the ball is on the cart path and you supposedly get a "free drop." But in this case could you take an unplayable lie instead and drop no nearer the hole two club lengths toward the right side of the cart path +1 stroke. Chances are it'll put your ball just off the cart path or maybe you'll be clear. Who knows? But if you're not completely clear with your feet still on the cart path, could you then take cart path relief? Hey, I'm just asking. I'm no expert. I didn't see anything that says you can't do this. It would be an alternative to wrecking your club or the two or three strokes taken trying to hit out of a mess in the bushes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, DrvFrShow said:

I know the ball is on the cart path and you supposedly get a "free drop." But in this case could you take an unplayable lie instead and drop no nearer the hole two club lengths toward the right side of the cart path +1 stroke. Chances are it'll put your ball just off the cart path or maybe you'll be clear. Who knows? But if you're not completely clear with your feet still on the cart path, could you then take cart path relief? Hey, I'm just asking. I'm no expert. I didn't see anything that says you can't do this. It would be an alternative to wrecking your club or the two or three strokes taken trying to hit out of a mess in the bushes.

That's exactly correct.  However, if you lift your ball with the intention of taking free relief from the cart path, you have limited your choices: 

take free relief, near the point of nearest complete relief to the left of the path.  Once you have taken that drop, you can then take any of the unplayable lie choices, at a cost of one penalty stroke, but once you're on the left side of the path you might not be able to get to a decent spot with the relief options available

Take two clublength relief from the original location on the path (unplayable lie), with a total of two penalty strokes

or take stroke and distance relief (unplayable lie) with one penalty stroke.  

This is all in Interpretation 9.4b/6.  The moral of the story, be sure you know what your plan is before you lift any ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

They can create drop zones on the fairway side of the path to take your relief from the path.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 6/3/2019 at 3:23 PM, DaveP043 said:

That's exactly correct.  However, if you lift your ball with the intention of taking free relief from the cart path, you have limited your choices: 

take free relief, near the point of nearest complete relief to the left of the path.  Once you have taken that drop, you can then take any of the unplayable lie choices, at a cost of one penalty stroke, but once you're on the left side of the path you might not be able to get to a decent spot with the relief options available

Take two clublength relief from the original location on the path (unplayable lie), with a total of two penalty strokes

or take stroke and distance relief (unplayable lie) with one penalty stroke.  

This is all in Interpretation 9.4b/6.  The moral of the story, be sure you know what your plan is before you lift any ball.

Looking at it from another angle since it's going to cost you anyway, if it's a paved path, I'd probably putt off of it toward the fairway. But if it was gravel, try to chip it off. It's not a full shot and probably wouldn't damage the club - maybe get it into a better spot. I've learned that sometimes free isn't so free.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Gazzagolf, I think you get relief from that path, and that the relief guarantees space to swing, etc.  But there is no guarantee that you get to hit the ball the direction you would like - just that you can hit it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Cantankerish said:

Gazzagolf, I think you get relief from that path, and that the relief guarantees space to swing, etc.

Not true.

You must take complete relief from the path, but it doesn't guarantee that you have a swing at all.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So then, is complete relief possible without a place to swing?

 

Nvm, different kind of relief

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks folks.

from what I can gather as it stands it’s just tough, if you’re on the path you either play or go to nearest point of relief which maybe way worse and leave you with no shot at all.

as a committee we do have a few options to help though. We can create drop zones just for relief from the path, apparently you can make a local rule that makes the path relief from the ball and exclude stance, so you could drop off the path but be allowed to stand on it which would solve the problem without adding to greenstaff workload marking and remarking drop zones. I didn’t know this was an option but our comp sec checked with regional rules officer.

The more brutal option would be make the left edge of the path OOB so you have to drop on the right.

comp meeting next week to decide, thanks for the ideas and help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Cantankerish said:

So then, is complete relief possible without a place to swing?

 

 

 

Yes - but relief does not guarantee a free swing. One of the most commonly broken rules is people taking relief from paths and thinking they can drop it where they avoid trees and have a clear shot. Complete relief and a place to swing are totally independent entities; they have nothing to do with each other. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

sorry to hijack this thread but I have a question...my playing partner who is right handed found his ball just off the left side of a path. 

Therefore his ball was not on the path nor was his stance, however, he then declared that he intended to play the shot left handed (he has never said that before nor have i seen him play a left handed shot).

Is this legal? I told him I thought you had to make a legitimate attempt and take your normal stance to play the shot but he thought otherwise...

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

53 minutes ago, okeloon said:

sorry to hijack this thread but I have a question...my playing partner who is right handed found his ball just off the left side of a path. 

Therefore his ball was not on the path nor was his stance, however, he then declared that he intended to play the shot left handed (he has never said that before nor have i seen him play a left handed shot).

Is this legal? I told him I thought you had to make a legitimate attempt and take your normal stance to play the shot but he thought otherwise...

16.1a(3) says this:

Quote

(3) No Relief When Clearly Unreasonable to Play Ball. There is no relief under Rule 16.1:

 

  • When interference exists only because a player chooses a club, type of stance or swing or direction of play that is clearly unreasonable under the circumstances.

I'd say that for a right-handed player to choose to play lefthanded when a normal right-handed swing is available is "clearly unreasonable".  A left-handed swing COULD be reasonable if the ball was against a fence or tree or something that made a right-handed swing impossible.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 6/3/2019 at 1:38 AM, Gazzagolf said:

Hi.

if you’re right handed the nearest point of relief is almost always the left side. It just seems harsh that your ball is in bounds and would be perfectly playable but because you have to get relief from a cart path your ball becomes unplayable. It’s not just a difficult angle, you don’t have a swing.

Remember that you do get a club length, not nearer the hole, from the NPR, which may get you to a slightly better spot.  Also, if your ball stopped in the area between the path and the fence (where you are taking relief from the path), you would not be looking for relief.  The drop is just putting you in the nearest place to where your ball stopped that is not impacted by the path, there's no logical reason why you should get to go somewhere else just because it isn't nice.  As quote I have often seen (and often seen abused), it's Nearest point of relief, not Nicest point of relief.  Putting, blading, chipping, or an unplayable are all other options.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 8/8/2019 at 1:53 AM, okeloon said:

sorry to hijack this thread but I have a question...my playing partner who is right handed found his ball just off the left side of a path. 

Therefore his ball was not on the path nor was his stance, however, he then declared that he intended to play the shot left handed (he has never said that before nor have i seen him play a left handed shot).

Is this legal? I told him I thought you had to make a legitimate attempt and take your normal stance to play the shot but he thought otherwise...

 

Of course it's not legal. He's a cheating douche and I can guarantee that he is in other aspects of life.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • I think most people "think" they hit it farther than they do until some actual measurements are done. They really aren't fooling anyone but themselves. Where the ball lands won't lie to anyone. I am realistic about my distances because that is important to me in order to play a quality game. I find on average that most hit it around 25 to even on occasion 50 yds less than they realize. I would state that most are around 15-25 less.
    • He prolly thought it wasn't fair the ball was in a sandy depression so he must have thought he needed to level the playing field.. I mean literally. 
    • Today’s the 10th, hence Rule 10.  A look at two aspects of Rule 10 - Advice and Caddies (Don’t skip the Caddies portion because it’s details pertain to our partners in Four-Ball.) Rule 10 - Preparing for and Making a Stroke; Advice and Help; Caddies Purpose of Rule: Rule 10 covers how to prepare for and make a stroke, including advice and other help the player may get from others (including partners and caddies). The underlying principle is that golf is a game of skill and personal challenge. 10.1 Making a Stroke, Purpose of Rule: Rule 10.1 covers how to make a stroke and several acts that are prohibited in doing so. A stroke is made by fairly striking at a ball with the head of a club. The fundamental challenge is to direct and control the movement of the entire club by freely swinging the club without anchoring it. (And, no. Bernhard Langer is not anchoring; the R&A and USGA have confirmed it several times.) 10.2 Advice and Other Help, Purpose of Rule: A fundamental challenge for the player is deciding the strategy and tactics for his or her play. So there are limits to the advice and other help the player may get during a round. Definition of Advice: Any verbal comment or action that is intended to influence a player in choosing a club, making a stroke, or deciding how to play during a hole or round. But advice does not include public information, such as, the location of things on the course such as the hole, the putting green, the fairway, penalty areas, bunkers, or another player’s ball, the distance from one point to another, or the Rules. Two Interpretations regarding Advice: Advice/1 – Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Advice Examples of when comments or actions are considered advice and are not allowed include: A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke. In individual stroke play, Player A, who has just holed out on the 7th hole, demonstrates to Player B, whose ball was just off the putting green, how to make the next stroke. Because Player B has not completed the hole, Player A gets the penalty on the 7th hole. But, if both Player A and Player B had completed the 7th hole, Player A gets the penalty on the 8th hole. A player’s ball is lying badly and the player is deliberating what action to take. Another player comments, “You have no shot at all. If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief.” This comment is advice because it could have influenced the player in deciding how to play during a hole. While a player is setting up to hit his or her shot over a large penalty area filled with water, another player in the group comments, “You know the wind is in your face and it’s 250 yards to carry that water?” Advice/2 – Verbal Comments or Actions That Are Not Advice Examples of comments or actions that are not advice include: During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par-3 of similar length. A player makes a second stroke that lands on the putting green. Another player does likewise. The first player then asks the second player what club was used for the second stroke. After making a stroke, a player says, “I should have used a 5-iron” to another player in the group that has yet to play onto the green, but not intending to influence his or her play. A player looks into another player’s bag to determine which club he or she used for the last stroke without touching or moving anything. While lining up a putt, a player mistakenly seeks advice from another player’s caddie, believing that caddie to be the player’s caddie. The player immediately realizes the mistake and tells the other caddie not to answer. 10.3 Caddies, Purpose of Rule: The player may have a caddie to carry the player’s clubs and give advice and other help during the round, but there are limits to what the caddie is allowed to do. The player is responsible for the caddie’s actions during the round and will get a penalty if the caddie breaches the Rules. NB In forms of play such as Four-Ball involving partners, a player's partner and the partner's caddie may take the same actions (with the same limitations) as the player's caddie may take under Rules 10.2. Relevant Interpretations: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=interp&section=rule&rulenum=10  
    • This is one place I would not complain about a 5+ hour round. Selfishly, I would prefer it...😊
    • IMO no. He just didn’t think anyone was watching. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Bob Mac
      Bob Mac
      (60 years old)
    2. Bull2152
      Bull2152
      (39 years old)
    3. Hue
      Hue
      (50 years old)
    4. Larrh7
      Larrh7
      (67 years old)
    5. Nixon
      Nixon
      (30 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...