Jump to content
ChetlovesMer

The Cheating Thread

45 posts / 3384 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

22 hours ago, klineka said:

A little off topic but shouldn't he have technically marked a 2?

I thought that once your ball is in the hole, you're done for that hole, and since it was an accident that he played another ball, that wouldn't be considered practice.

He claimed that he found “his ball”. It had identical markings to the one in the hole. Titleist Pro V Red 4 with 3 blue dots in a triangle. That’s not a coincidence. 

He cheated when he said that was his ball regardless of the “other ball”being in the hole. If he had of gone back and played a provisional ball from the same spot as his previous shot then that would have counted as a 2. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

2 hours ago, Nagah said:

 It had identical markings to the one in the hole. Titleist Pro V Red 4 with 3 blue dots in a triangle. That’s not a coincidence. 

That is probably one of the most common ball/marking combinations around.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 6/26/2019 at 10:35 AM, bkuehn1952 said:

Can't say I have ever caught anyone cheating in a tournament setting.  There have been some dubious situations, like the "miracle silent ricochet" from deep in the woods back to the light rough.  Not sure how it happened but I did not see any sleight of hand.  My experience is that most problems arise from a player being unfamiliar with the Rules and/or honest errors in counting strokes.

I have played with a few amateur sleight of hand artists. One in particular has never lost a ball. Even when we hear it hit deep into the woods. He will always drop you at your ball and then look for his. Miraculously always finds it. The first couple times, OK, but after that, I was not born yesterday!

What he does is:
1- plays random feral balls, as he works at a course and has an endless supply.
2-Never marks his ball, considers it defacing
3- what ever ball you find, is probably his
4-Keeps a ball in his pocket, when he reaches in the rough, or to move a leaf announces "here it is and places it".
5- never plays out of a bunker. "F that, I dont know whats in there, I am not going to risk my clubs"
6- Writes what he "should" have scored, not what he did. Therefore, lipped puts, chucked chips and duffed tee shots dont count.

Suffice to say I only play with this individual for scrambles, as we mostly use my shots and I control the score card. 

As far as " player being unfamiliar with the Rules", I find that alot of the weekend warrior, retired weekday players know the rules. They just dont care.  They are not playing for money, they are not playing for a championship, they are just out there batting the ball around and enjoying the day with their buddies. 
I have heard it many, many times "I paid to play, I will play the way I want.  I am just out her to have fun".  And really who am I to tell a bunch of old timers, Vietnam vets that they cant improve their lie to even ground.

However, I will say that I have seen more than 1 course (ranger) force a golfer not to adhere to the loss of distance on a lost ball.
Hit a ball, thought it was ok. Got to the spot realized it must have hooked more than thought and went into woods. Never found ball. Went to head back to the tee to take shot, ranger stopped us and said "NO!". There was a group behind us and group behind them. ranger said "what are going to do bump in front of them, they are on the TEE?" "just drop and hit"

So I dropped where I thought it went out, took a stroke. Worst of all, despite that one bad hole, finished with decent score, but couldn't use the score for handicap.

Around here, golf is a dying sport. Private courses are struggling for members, public courses are struggling for players. Most these places just want you playing. They don't care, or enforce the rules. They just want your money until they convert to condos.
This is why there are so many cargo shorts white undershirts on the course!
So we have people who are spending their hard earned $65 to play a 5 hour casual round. The know the rules, they just don't care.

But I always wonder if these same people played Augusta  or St. Andrews, under the watchful eye of patron, would they still cheat?

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

13 minutes ago, Elmer said:

So I dropped where I thought it went out, took a stroke. Worst of all, despite that one bad hole, finished with decent score, but couldn't use the score for handicap.

You don't have to play all 18 holes under the Rules of Golf to post a handicap.  13 is enough;  you would count either your most likely score on the hole had you played by RoG, or a net par, as the score for purposes of handicap. 

Whenever someone asks me if I'm playing "Winter Rules," I tell them I'm playing golf, but as long as we don't have anything riding on the match and they don't take too long, they're welcome to make up some other game and play that instead.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, Elmer said:

So I dropped where I thought it went out, took a stroke. Worst of all, despite that one bad hole, finished with decent score, but couldn't use the score for handicap.

In addition to what @Shindig wrote, it sounds like your course should adopt the local rule allowing a drop, if they haven’t already:

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules-hub/rules-modernization/major-changes/golfs-new-rules-stroke-and-distance.html

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In competition play, i don't think ive ever encountered somebody that was just outright cheating. I think thats actually very rare in golf. Most of the situations ive been involved in with a player being DQ'ed were inadvertent. Or just absurdity. Like this one time i saw a guy get DQ'd because he put his umbrella in a rangers cart...  But ive played with plenty of people that play preferred lies at all times and mark down a 5 when they really made a like 8 or something. 😂 

I mostly find that kind of stuff amusing. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Had a guy that I played a few times with in college who would consistently place his ball two inches in front of his marker, drop on the wrong side of the cart path, stuff like that. It's just odd because it's stuff that makes very little impact on the round, but is obvious enough that everyone can see it and now thinks considerably less of him.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 minutes ago, BC-to-MI said:

Had a guy that I played a few times with in college who would consistently place his ball two inches in front of his marker, drop on the wrong side of the cart path, stuff like that. It's just odd because it's stuff that makes very little impact on the round, but is obvious enough that everyone can see it and now thinks considerably less of him.

I can't tell you how many times I've had a slick 2-foot downhiller and wanted to mark my ball two feet in front of the marker.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...