Jump to content
Nail

Marker Doesn't Sign Card: Who Is in the Wrong?

22 posts / 1325 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

4 hours ago, MacDutch said:

Where I live, you check the result first. Then the marker signs and gives the card back. This might differ for the USA, but thats how it works here in Spain. Played many tournaments over here. So yes, I will point a finger. Skunky move by the marker who knows this is possibly the best card (relative to handicap) the player ever carded. I would be rooting for him, if I was the marker. I would make sure my part would be done for sure.

 

What complete and utter nonsense. First of all, 42 points will rarely guarantee a win in a stableford competition in a grade where there are guys playing off 20..

Secondly - where is the "Skunky move"? That would be the case if the marker submitted the card before giving it to the player to check and sign.

Thirdly, when I have a decent score I check signatures several times - almost to an obsessive degree - and so should everybody.

There is not one single iota of blame upon anyone but the player. 

I'll tell you how this sort of stuff usually happens: A player gives an ALREADY SIGNED card to his marker on the first or second tee. The marker marks it, doesn't sign it and submits it. The player has stupidly assumed that the marker signed it.

There are absolutely no grey areas in the OP's dilemma in this thread. He is 100% wrong. What I find disturbing is tat the the player thought it wasn't his fault. On what possible basis?

1 hour ago, Nail said:

 

He still got cut two strokes though lol so he is now off 18 and he got no prize for his efforts 😂

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

Edited by leftybutnotPM

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

4 minutes ago, leftybutnotPM said:

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

You are probably right -  I think this is to prevent people from manipulating their handicaps. An NCR can result in a handicap going down for low markers.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

23 hours ago, leftybutnotPM said:

What complete and utter nonsense. First of all, 42 points will rarely guarantee a win in a stableford competition in a grade where there are guys playing off 20..

Secondly - where is the "Skunky move"? That would be the case if the marker submitted the card before giving it to the player to check and sign.

Thirdly, when I have a decent score I check signatures several times - almost to an obsessive degree - and so should everybody.

There is not one single iota of blame upon anyone but the player. 

I'll tell you how this sort of stuff usually happens: A player gives an ALREADY SIGNED card to his marker on the first or second tee. The marker marks it, doesn't sign it and submits it. The player has stupidly assumed that the marker signed it.

There are absolutely no grey areas in the OP's dilemma in this thread. He is 100% wrong. What I find disturbing is tat the the player thought it wasn't his fault. On what possible basis?

Why? It shoud have been a DQ.

It was a DQ but the club still cut him, I assume because he played to a certain standard shooting an 85 so they cut him.

btw I’m the OP but not the player or the marker. I’d never make the mistake to not get a good score signed

23 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

I don't know the CONGU rules, but in the USGA areas, a player's score is still submitted for handicap in most situations where a DQ is warranted.  And with the "ratchet" system that CONGU uses, I could see his handicap being reduced by 2 strokes with such a good score.

Ya I think he was off 19.9 before and he shot 5 points over the competition standard scratch for the day so (5 x 0.3) 1.5 off his handicap is 18.4 so playing handicap goes from 20 to 18. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • Having played many, many rounds while under the influence of marijuana I can personally attest to it not being performance enhancing.  Against the rules?  Perhaps.  But not performance enhancing. Quite the opposite. Everyone reacts differently to being high, and while it may well reduce stress it also certainly reduces one's ability to focus.  Golf requires focus.  I'd get high and kick ass for about two holes, then be all over the place. I haven't used marijuana since moving to Florida because it's not legal here, and I don't have a qualifying medicinal reason to get a prescription.  I could of course make one up, because it's not like getting a prescription is difficult, but it's not such an important thing to me that I feel the need to go out of my way.  I personally don't see a difference between drinking or smoking beyond the legal aspect - both are personal decisions, and when used responsibly should be an individual's choice.
    • Heck, I will occasionally do this when playing with my wife.  I always feel like an ass when it happens, but she's a good soul and cuts me a break.
    • As others have said, playing a course from the correct tees makes golf a lot more fun. And it makes for more birdie and eagle opportunities. Heck playing from tees even a bit shorter than you need can be fun. I had two eagles in my last round. I played with some guys who like to play a yardage between the back tees and the middle tees. That made it easier to hit par the par 5s in two, and I did just that. Screw the ego, golf is supposed to be fun.
    • I carry Titleist Vokey wedges and have for many many years. I like that I don't have to think every time I replace them. It's easy. I just get the same specs as I've had before and I know what they are going to do. I nearly always get the previous year's model. Still brand new, but the previous year saves me about 40% off the cost.  Anyway, lately I've seen a number of folks I've played with who carry the Callaway PM Grind wedges, which have grooves all over their face. Taylormade hi-toe wedges have that feature as well. I don't know if it actually makes any difference, but to my mind it totally makes sense to put the groves all over the face. It actually makes me wonder why all wedges aren't made that way.  Anyone have any thoughts about this. Why do most manufacturers leave the toe of the wedge "ungrooved"? Does it really help to have the whole face covered in groves?  On a related note, does anyone play a Hi-Toe wedge? Seems like a good idea as well, especially for lob wedges, 60 degree and the like. Seems like it would give you more surface from which to hit a shot when trying to take a bigger swing. I don't use my lob wedge that way, but it seems like it would help if I did. 
    • Offended?  No.  Annoyed?  Absolutely. I played an event in 2015.  It was my first event with this group and I unknowingly got paired with the hothead.  You know the guy.  "I used to be a 1 index!"  Now he's unable to break 90.   First hole, he hits an 'awful' drive (it landed 4 feet in the rough) and complains about it all the way to the ball.  The pin is tucked in the back-right corner of the green behind a trap.  He hits a shot about 35 feet left of the flag at the center of the green.  A good, smart shot.  He proceeds to fling his 7 iron approximately 40 yards into the fairway.   Later in the round, he hits a second shot on a par 5 that he tugged a little bit.  He got a little unlucky and it hit the cart path and kicked it to the left.  The ball came to rest in play, but near a log that, if he moved it... the ball would move as well.  He took an unplayable, chopped the ball forward a bit with his wedge and then proceeded to use his wedge as a hatchet on the log.  About his 8th smash of the wedge, the head snapped off.   Par 3 later in the round, he missed a 10 footer.  He tossed his putter in the air and let it fall to the ground.  The blade of the putter buried itself in the green about 4 feet from the hole.  He attempted to repair it, but it was evident that there was damage and SOMEONE was going to have to putt through his tantrum later in the round.   I wasn't offended by any of his actions.  A 50 year old acting like a petulant toddler?  His problem... not mine.  I was annoyed by his antics, however.   I've told this story before, but... when I was a caddie back in high school at a local country club, I had a guest of a member fling his club over a fence that bordered a local hospital.  This was on the 10th hole.  He was pissed that he hit a poor shot, so he reared back and let it fly.  It cleared the fence.  I looked at him in disbelief.  He told me to climb the fence and get the club.  I put his bag down, apologized to the member and walked back to the caddie master and told him what happened.  Shortly after, the member and his guest arrived back at the caddie area where the member paid me for the full round, tipped me nicely, took my side with the caddie master and then told his guest he'd not be welcomed back any time soon.   Throwing clubs is not acceptable and it IS poor etiquette.  The word is literally defined as: "The customary code of polite behavior in society or among members of a particular profession or group." I don't see how throwing clubs and having a tantrum on the course can be deemed anything but IMPOLITE.   CY
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Nevsteve
      Nevsteve
      (60 years old)
    2. Pab4141
      Pab4141
      (26 years old)
    3. rdpoffenberger
      rdpoffenberger
      (34 years old)
    4. Salem Golfer
      Salem Golfer
      (54 years old)
    5. stothemc
      stothemc
      (36 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...