Jump to content
KrisF

What to Do if the Rules Official Gives a Wrong Ruling?

26 posts / 4515 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

2 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

I believe its the players responsibility to know the rules. So if an official makes a mistake and the player posts a wrong score because of it, I think the player will be assessed the penalty when the mistake is discovered.

Nothing I can point to here, just my understanding of the situation.

Why add your opinion or what you think might be right when we are talking about a factual thing?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 hours ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

I believe its the players responsibility to know the rules. So if an official makes a mistake and the player posts a wrong score because of it, I think the player will be assessed the penalty when the mistake is discovered.

Nothing I can point to here, just my understanding of the situation.

Rulings by Referee

referee is an official named by the Committee to decide questions of fact and apply the Rules.

referee's ruling on the facts or how the Rules apply must be followed by the player.

  • A player has no right to appeal a referee's ruling to the Committee.
  • The referee may seek the Committee's help before making a ruling or refer a ruling to the Committee for review, but is not required to do so.
When Wrong Rulings Will Be Corrected

If a ruling by a referee or the Committee is later found to be wrong:

  • The ruling will be corrected if possible under the Rules.
  • If it is too late to do so, the wrong ruling stands.

See also Clauses 10 & 11 here

https://www.randa.org/en/rog/2019/rules/committee-procedures/6c#10

Edited by Rulesman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My example actually happened. I hit the ball from a forward tee during a club championship match play event. We were unsure of the penalty . That being the case i hit a second tee shot and called the official (club pro):for some help. By the time he made it out to us I had hit my second shot on this par 5 hole. The official said match play the penalty was loss of hole. Ok, I picked up my ball, thought I lost the hole and proceeded to head in the direction of the next tee. Before my opponent got to his ball the pro came back and said he made a mistake and it was not loss of hole. The correct ruling was that i could hit the tee ball again from the correct tee without penalty (as I did) or my opponent could require i play the original tee ball .

So here we are my ball is in my pocket after 2 shots because of an incorrect ruling. My opponents ball is on the green in 3 and has not been moved. Where do we go from here and why?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 8/10/2020 at 10:23 AM, Sirtom said:

My example actually happened. I hit the ball from a forward tee during a club championship match play event. We were unsure of the penalty . That being the case i hit a second tee shot and called the official (club pro):for some help. By the time he made it out to us I had hit my second shot on this par 5 hole. The official said match play the penalty was loss of hole. Ok, I picked up my ball, thought I lost the hole and proceeded to head in the direction of the next tee. Before my opponent got to his ball the pro came back and said he made a mistake and it was not loss of hole. The correct ruling was that i could hit the tee ball again from the correct tee without penalty (as I did) or my opponent could require i play the original tee ball .

So here we are my ball is in my pocket after 2 shots because of an incorrect ruling. My opponents ball is on the green in 3 and has not been moved. Where do we go from here and why?

As discussed above, the answer is found in Committee Procedures 6C(10).

In your case, it seems clear that no further shots were played by either player from the time you were given the incorrect ruling, you just picked up your ball after being advised of the incorrect ruling. So you should replace your ball from where it was lifted - estimating the spot if you are not exactly sure of it - and play on. In your scenario, it only becomes too late to correct when a player hits from the next tee.

Edited by fredf
minor word change

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 8/10/2020 at 1:23 AM, Sirtom said:

My example actually happened. I hit the ball from a forward tee during a club championship match play event. We were unsure of the penalty . That being the case i hit a second tee shot and called the official (club pro):for some help. By the time he made it out to us I had hit my second shot on this par 5 hole. The official said match play the penalty was loss of hole. Ok, I picked up my ball, thought I lost the hole and proceeded to head in the direction of the next tee. Before my opponent got to his ball the pro came back and said he made a mistake and it was not loss of hole. The correct ruling was that i could hit the tee ball again from the correct tee without penalty (as I did) or my opponent could require i play the original tee ball .

So here we are my ball is in my pocket after 2 shots because of an incorrect ruling. My opponents ball is on the green in 3 and has not been moved. Where do we go from here and why?

 The R&A and the USGA produce a Players edition of the Rules of Golf. You should carry it in your bag.Its just about pocket size

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Beastie said:

 The R&A and the USGA produce a Players edition of the Rules of Golf. You should carry it in your bag.Its just about pocket size

I wholly support players carrying and using the Rule book, phone app is much better if you can get familiar with it (everything is accessible), but the question being responded to here is not covered in the Rules.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 8/18/2020 at 11:08 AM, fredf said:

I wholly support players carrying and using the Rule book, phone app is much better if you can get familiar with it (everything is accessible), but the question being responded to here is not covered in the Rules.

I was responding to Sirtom and that situation is definitely covered by the ROG.

86E6BDD2-9186-4EC8-923D-373D09A69AD8.png

If he knew the rule there would have been no need for a ruling

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

36 minutes ago, Beastie said:

I was responding to Sirtom and that situation is definitely covered by the ROG.

86E6BDD2-9186-4EC8-923D-373D09A69AD8.png

If he knew the rule there would have been no need for a ruling

I'm not disagreeing with the benefits of carrying and knowing how to use a rule book. But Sirtom's question was about what to do when given a wrong ruling by the official/referee. And the rule book cannot help with that, it is not in there. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • Yes, you can manually tag the putts with the iPhone app, the Apple Watch app, or on their Link belt device. (I don’t have the link—I use either the watch or iPhone.) In fact, it’s pretty common for me to adjust the # of putts as I finish a hole, since I often have to add on the tap in putts—I don’t have the patience to let it register a tap in. You do have to pair the putter sensor with the app. If you don’t, the system won’t work at all (just the way they designed the system, I guess). Found this out the hard way: my putter sensor died, and I tried to re-pair it, unsuccessfully. No big deal, I thought. Except next time I went to play (replacement not yet arrived), it wouldn’t let me start the round: “need to pair your putter.”  Next time the putter sensor died, I knew better: ordered replacement, but didn’t un-pair the dead sensor.  Arccos thought I was chipping in every hole, no putts recorded.  I just added the putts manually as I went. So for you, pair the putter sensor at home (a onetime thing), put it away in your desk or wherever—don’t throw it away, because you’ll probably need it sometime in the future. Then add all putts manually, as I did when my sensor died. Here are what the iPhone app and Apple Watch app screens look like: [Yes, I’m on my third sensor now.  First one lasted about 5 months IIRC. Second one only lasted 23 rounds.  Both replaced free under warranty — forget if it’s 1 or 2 years. But I’m a little concerned they both died so quickly.]  
    • Another cold day where it didn't get above 50 during the round. Played the outside (Hills at Community) 45-46-91. 4 pars offset by 4 doubles and a triple, the rest being bogeys. Only two 7s on the card which is good by me, just can't get back into the 80s. Iron play was as good as yesterday, if not better. Driver was keeping the ball in play which helps too. Just some poor 3 wood shots that really hurt me, one being a full top that went 5 yards in front of me. Glad that Ohio weather hasn't shut me down all the way yet. This also marked my 60th round played at my home courses for the year. I've probably played 80 total though because my courses were closed for the first 2 months of Covid.
    • Pushing club out further. Can really feel all my ribs..:-)
    • There’s a button that opens up a zoomed in view of the green, and on that view, you can place the flag and the location of your first putt, and any chips close to the green. It only records the location of the first putt as far as I can tell, but you can increment the number of putts on that view or the overall hole view.
    • Managed to get one of two drills recorded before skies opened up. Letting my back completely open up to target to get a good turn and pushing out club away from me to get width. Pushing club away can be better for sure.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. anhthinhspkt
      anhthinhspkt
      (25 years old)
    2. DARTSO
      DARTSO
      (40 years old)
    3. davem1955
      davem1955
      (65 years old)
    4. matteson83
      matteson83
      (37 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...