Jump to content
KrisF

What to Do if the Rules Official Gives a Wrong Ruling?

20 posts / 2627 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

I know you can ask for a second opinion but what if they still tell you the wrong ruling after the second opinion? 

What happens to the -Rules Official- and the stroke made after the wrong ruling?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

5 minutes ago, iacas said:

Do you have a specific example?

Because the answer depends on a lot of things.

For instance, Ball lands in bunker and the ball is touching what is an obvious stone. Rules Official tells you to move the stone and its moved without penalty according to the "Official" . Note: Local Rule says its not a movable obstruction and Rule 23-1 clearly states it is not to be moved.

Edited by KrisF

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I’m not going to be answering the actual question, because the RO was correct.  Unless the stone was embedded in the bunker, it’s a loose impediment (not an immovable obstruction) and by rule may be removed.  

Additionally, a local rule may not contradict the rules of golf, which that one, at least as you explain it, appears to do.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

14 minutes ago, David in FL said:

I’m not going to be answering the actual question, because the RO was correct.  Unless the stone was embedded in the bunker, it’s a loose impediment (not an immovable obstruction) and by rule may be removed.  

Additionally, a local rule may not contradict the rules of golf, which that one, at least as you explain it, appears to do.

What I meant say was stone was "embedded" and touching the golf ball and the same hazard.

Edited by KrisF

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, KrisF said:

What I meant say was stone was "embedded" and touching the golf ball and the same hazard.

In who's view was it embedded? Was it solidly embedded? The referee may well have determined it was not.

Rule 23-1 no longer exists of course.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

17 hours ago, Rulesman said:

In who's view was it embedded? Was it solidly embedded? The referee may well have determined it was not. 

Rule 23-1 no longer exists of course.

Gallery view and Golfers view.  And you could see it pretty obviously solidly embedded.  This in the case of when rule 23-1 existed. And after the stroke was made it was obvious that the stone was hit but the Rules Official did not see this after the stroke...

Edited by KrisF

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 minutes ago, KrisF said:

Gallery view and Golfers view.  And you could see it pretty obviously solidly embedded.  This in the case of when rule 23-1 existed. And after the stroke was made it was obvious that the stone was hit but the Rules Official did not see this after the stroke...

You'd be better off proposing both a clearer situation and one that exists under the current Rules of Golf.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

You'd be better off proposing both a clearer situation and one that exists under the current Rules of Golf.

Alright so, Rules Official tells you that you grounded your club out of an unmarked bunker and that you incur a penalty, yet it wasn't unmarked and not a Bunker just simply dirt.

What happens to the stroke made and the Official?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just now, KrisF said:

Alright so, Rules Official tells you that you grounded your club out of an unmarked bunker and that you incur a penalty, yet it wasn't unmarked and not a Bunker just simply dirt.

What happens to the stroke made and the Official?

Still not a good example.

Bunkers don't need to be "marked." Plus, why would grounding your club "out of" the bunker be a problem?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 minutes ago, iacas said:

Still not a good example.

Bunkers don't need to be "marked." Plus, why would grounding your club "out of" the bunker be a problem?

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6 minutes ago, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

I'm out. The person's not just going to stand there while you play a shot off their foot.

Nor is any Rules Official going to say that, nor is any player going to play that shot off someone's foot.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, iacas said:

I'm out. The person's not just going to stand there while you play a shot off their foot.

Nor is any Rules Official going to say that, nor is any player going to play that shot off someone's foot.

Well crazy things do happen...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

Maybe if you're filming a movie with Richard Kiel.  Anyone who gets to be a rules official knows full well this isn't a situation where you don't play it as it lies. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 hours ago, KrisF said:

Well crazy things do happen...

Not crazy an could happen.

Players ball is just in a No Play Zone but because the marking is not clear he calls a referee. The referee tells him it's OK and he can play it. So he does. The referee checks the markings again and realises the ball was in the NPZ.

The referee should apologise to the player and tell him he is not penalised.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 7/19/2019 at 9:06 PM, KrisF said:

Ball lands on someones foot, you are suppose to take relief yet the Official says play the ball where it lies. Whats happens to the stroke made?

Someone just watched Happy Gilmore.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe its the players responsibility to know the rules. So if an official makes a mistake and the player posts a wrong score because of it, I think the player will be assessed the penalty when the mistake is discovered.

Nothing I can point to here, just my understanding of the situation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...