Jump to content
Philip88

Golf Rule: moving ball hit putter on green

5 posts / 1436 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

Depends upon from where the stroke was made.

 

1) When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot 

 

2) When ball played from anywhere else. If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence, the ball must be played as it lies,

 

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=11

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 8/4/2019 at 6:10 AM, Asheville said:

Depends upon from where the stroke was made.

 

1) When Ball Played from Putting Green Accidentally Hits Any Person, Animal or Movable Obstruction (Including Another Ball in Motion) on Putting Green: The stroke does not count and the original ball or another ball must be replaced on its original spot 

 

2) When ball played from anywhere else. If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence, the ball must be played as it lies,

 

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=11

Does another putter fall in the definition of "movable obstruction"? It's considered to be "equipment", but I'm unsure how it would be treated on the green.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

30 minutes ago, Robbyboy said:

Does another putter fall in the definition of "movable obstruction"? It's considered to be "equipment", but I'm unsure how it would be treated on the green.

Quote

If a player’s ball in motion accidentally hits any person or outside influence:

  • There is no penalty to any player.

  • This is true even if the ball hits the player, the opponent or any other player or any of their caddies or equipment.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 8/16/2019 at 2:38 PM, Robbyboy said:

Does another putter fall in the definition of "movable obstruction"? It's considered to be "equipment", but I'm unsure how it would be treated on the green.

From the Definition of 'Obstruction'

Player equipment, flagsticks and rakes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...