weifert

Does my driver have the wrong shaft for me?

11 posts / 1080 viewsLast Reply

I'm a newbie. I've been trying to figure out why I can hit my irons well. But swinging the driver feels uncomfortable, and I never hit it well.

I realized that while my iron shafts are steel extra stiff, the driver staff is graphite and flexible. Could a flexible shaft be causing problems in a golfer's swing?

Want to hide this ad? Register for free today!

What brand and flex shaft do you have? Have you been fitted for your irons but not driver? Neither? If you’re happy with your irons fine, but take that driver and go get on a monitor and find your right shaft. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, Vinsk said:

What brand and flex shaft do you have? Have you been fitted for your irons but not driver? Neither? If you’re happy with your irons fine, but take that driver and go get on a monitor and find your right shaft. 

The driver is a Titleist 983k driver with an "Ultralight" S shaft. A friend of mine gave it to me a couple of years ago.

I've never been fitted for clubs, and I'm happy with the irons. I'll definitely consider getting fitted for a driver.

9 minutes ago, weifert said:

The driver is a Titleist 983k driver with an "Ultralight" S shaft. A friend of mine gave it to me a couple of years ago.

I've never been fitted for clubs, and I'm happy with the irons. I'll definitely consider getting fitted for a driver.

Just as pure basic static read, if you’re fine with x-stiff shafts in your irons I doubt that shaft is right for you. Do you know your driver swing speed? Ultralight is probably too light for you. 

1 minute ago, Vinsk said:

Just as pure basic static read, if you’re fine with x-stiff shafts in your irons I doubt that shaft is right for you. Do you know your driver swing speed? Ultralight is probably too light for you. 

No on the swing speed, and I think a fitting would give me that information.

16 hours ago, weifert said: