butchammon

Does Anyone Grip a Putter Like I Do? (Variation of Reverse Overlap)

6 posts / 550 viewsLast Reply

I just made a quick You Tube video, showing how I grip my old, ancient, Odyssey DF-550 blade putter.  I wonder how common this style of grip pattern is?

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

I don't think about my putter grip. But I think my grip is actually pretty similar. I sure I don't point that left index finger, however. 

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Thanks...  I don't know why I rest my left hand index finger over the right fingers, but, I just do...  Like I mentioned in the video, I've been doing that putter grip for probably 30 years, and it works for me.

I try many many different varations of grips. Just about as many as I have putters which is probably around 15 or so. I love putting and probably spend 75% of my practice there. Putting is not a part of golf. It is a different sport alltogether. You can be having a bad round of golf, but if you are putting good it possibly can save your round. But if you are putting badly enough, and can't get the ball into the hole your round will suffer. You do not have to be able to bust the ball 275 yards down the fairway to be a good putter. Or be able to hit your approach shots to within 15 foot of the hole to be a good putter. Practicing putting, and I do mean practice good basics, makes you a good putter.

39 minutes ago, golfer2b2000 said: