Jump to content
IGNORED

Dropped Ball, Found and Played Original


JOBS
 Share

Note: This thread is 1060 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Then I've got a question relating to the title of the thread.

1) I hit a drive - a cut. It went into the trees on the left side. I saw two small branches of pine drop to the ground. I had reason to believe that it took quite a bit of steam out of the drive. I lost sight of the ball because of the trees. 

2) I looked for the ball in the area of the trees. I didn't find it. So I used the local rule and dropped at that point and played a shot which landed on the fringe. On my way to the hole I found my original ball sitting pretty in the first cut on the left out LOS because of a small hill about 70 yds closer to the hole. And yes it was my ball - I had my initials on it. 

3) So I played my original ball and took a par. 

Did I make the right decision?

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To build on @Rulesman, if you read the local rule, once you drop the second ball, the original ball is out of play and the substituted ball is in play.  @DrvFrShow, you didn't do it correctly, sorry.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

You can't in fact 'declare a ball lost'. As soon as you substitute another ball, the original becomes lost.

Semantics, a bit. But here's a question: If you drop a fresh ball but don't hit it and find your original ball within the total 3 minutes then what is the rule?  Or is the dropping of the fresh ball the "declaration" ?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Double Mocha Man said:

Semantics, a bit. But here's a question: If you drop a fresh ball but don't hit it and find your original ball within the total 3 minutes then what is the rule?  Or is the dropping of the fresh ball the "declaration" ?

Look at post #22...I believe you'll find the answer there

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

Look at post #22...I believe you'll find the answer there

Ah, thank you.  That'll teach me to first read all the posts in a thread. 

So, apparently, you can drop another ball, without serious intent to hit it... and you can pick it up if you find the original (within the allotted time).  I'm thinking "intent" comes down to swinging at the fresh ball, or if you're Mr. DeChambeau the 4 minute scientific lead-up, caddie discussions, triple wind check, to striking the ball.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, Double Mocha Man said:

it doesn't matter if you find the original... even if it's in the hole!

This one I know:  If the original ball is in the hole, the hole was over for that player, even if he didn't know it at the time.  So the dropped ball was inconsequential.

  • Like 1

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

On 9/16/2019 at 1:24 AM, DrvFrShow said:

Then I've got a question relating to the title of the thread.

1) I hit a drive - a cut. It went into the trees on the left side. I saw two small branches of pine drop to the ground. I had reason to believe that it took quite a bit of steam out of the drive. I lost sight of the ball because of the trees. 

2) I looked for the ball in the area of the trees. I didn't find it. So I used the local rule and dropped at that point and played a shot which landed on the fringe. On my way to the hole I found my original ball sitting pretty in the first cut on the left out LOS because of a small hill about 70 yds closer to the hole. And yes it was my ball - I had my initials on it. 

3) So I played my original ball and took a par. 

Did I make the right decision?

The moment you hit a ball you dropped, that became the ball in play.  The only time this doesn't apply is if you hit a ball that goes in the hole and you assume it is lost so hit another.  In that case, since you have holed out, the hole is done and the second ball you hit doesn't count

What's in the bag

  • Taylor Made r5 dual Draw 9.5* (stiff)
  • Taylor Made Rescue 2H (stiff)
  • Cobra Baffler 4H (stiff)
  • Taylor Made RAC OS 6-9,P,S (regular)
  • Golden Bear LD5.0 60* (regular)
  • Aidia Z-009 Putter
  • Inesis Soft 500 golf ball
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
4 minutes ago, pganapathy said:

The moment you hit a ball you dropped, that became the ball in play. The only time this doesn't apply is if you hit a ball that goes in the hole and you assume it is lost so hit another.  In that case, since you have holed out, the hole is done and the second ball you hit doesn't count

That's not the only time.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Are you sure?

Under the local rule, if in effect, the ball dropped is in play and the original is no longer in play, even if found within the 3 minutes search time.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If you hit the ball after it has been dropped the second ball is definitely in play!! No matter what.., unless your original is in the hole. If you have not hit the dropped ball and your original ball was never OB or in a Penalty area you may correct the drop.Rule 14.5.

If you were in a penalty area, drop a ball and then find your original ball you may not play your original. I studied the KVC rule and spoke with the Pro where I play.  He said it is all about KVC and to memorize when you can and when you cannot make a correction. Every ball dropped in golf is dropped with the i intent to play that ball (or you would never drop a ball). That's why there is only at the appropriate time an opportunity to correct an incorrect drop when it is dropped for the wrong reason, but if you hit that ball then you own that ball all the way into the green where upon missing the opportunity to  make the correction. Game over. 

That is how it was explained to me. Hope that makes sense. 

Edited by JOBS
Link to comment
Share on other sites


3 hours ago, iacas said:

That's not the only time.

Are you saying you can hit a ball you drop and it isn't in play in other circumstances.  I didn't know.  Please elaborate on what circumstances??

What's in the bag

  • Taylor Made r5 dual Draw 9.5* (stiff)
  • Taylor Made Rescue 2H (stiff)
  • Cobra Baffler 4H (stiff)
  • Taylor Made RAC OS 6-9,P,S (regular)
  • Golden Bear LD5.0 60* (regular)
  • Aidia Z-009 Putter
  • Inesis Soft 500 golf ball
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 hours ago, pganapathy said:

Are you saying you can hit a ball you drop and it isn't in play in other circumstances.  I didn't know.  Please elaborate on what circumstances??

You can a drop a ball correctly with intent to play it but it may not yet be in play.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
4 hours ago, Rulesman said:

You can a drop a ball correctly with intent to play it but it may not yet be in play.

He did say "hit a ball you drop".

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, Rulesman said:

You can a drop a ball correctly with intent to play it but it may not yet be in play.

 

4 hours ago, iacas said:

He did say "hit a ball you drop".

Correct, a dropped ball is not in play till you hit it.  If you find the old one within the three minutes, you can pick the dropped ball up and hit your original.

@iacas- you did say there are times when you can hit the dropped ball and it still isn't the ball in play.  Please elaborate on the circumstances for everyone's benefit.  I know it isn't the ball in play when you have already holed out.  What else.  Thanks

What's in the bag

  • Taylor Made r5 dual Draw 9.5* (stiff)
  • Taylor Made Rescue 2H (stiff)
  • Cobra Baffler 4H (stiff)
  • Taylor Made RAC OS 6-9,P,S (regular)
  • Golden Bear LD5.0 60* (regular)
  • Aidia Z-009 Putter
  • Inesis Soft 500 golf ball
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, pganapathy said:

 

Correct, a dropped ball is not in play till you hit it.  If you find the old one within the three minutes, you can pick the dropped ball up and hit your original.

@iacas- you did say there are times when you can hit the dropped ball and it still isn't the ball in play.  Please elaborate on the circumstances for everyone's benefit.  I know it isn't the ball in play when you have already holed out.  What else.  Thanks

If you drop and play a provisional ball, it is NOT the ball in play until your original is lost (3 minutes is up) or it becomes known or virtually certain that your original is out of bounds or you play the provisional from a spot nearer to the hole than the original is likely to be.

There may be other instances where a ball can be dropped and played without immediately becoming the ball in play, but I can't think of another right now.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 1060 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I doubt it was really intentional, but...    
    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
    • Oh man, I would LOVE for one of those guys to say that under oath. But at the end of the day, not one of those guys in that lawsuit said they were leaving for money.  They were leaving for a "better schedule", to "spend more time with their families", or "to grow the game of golf."  They were also aware that LIV was an international organization, the LIV website literally calls themself an "International Golf Series."  They were aware of the format at the time they joined, they were aware of the schedule.  They were also made very aware of what the penalty would be from the PGA Tour if they joined.  They had all of that information in advance, and made a choice.  Now to come back and say that? Understand you're playing devils advocate, but that argument coming from these professionals should have no legs to stand on in a legal setting.
    • Playing devils advocate here because I can't comprehend what its like to be a millionaire and want to be a zillionaire - but I think the point is there is no competition in LIV just money. Thus still no meaningful choice to them. LIV can pay but can't provide competition, PGA Tour has the competition but doesn't pay that well. Most PGA Tour players are not making a ton of money, especially compared to other US sports.
    • Day 650: Played 18 this morning at North Kingstown. Driver was dreadful. I’m at a loss as to what is different on the course.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...