Jump to content
JOBS

Dropped Ball, Found and Played Original

56 posts / 3672 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Can I get clarification on this rule please. I dropped a ball when I believed my original ball landed in the water and then before hitting my dropped ball I found original ball and proceeded to continue to play with my original ball. Upon finding original ball I played it where it lied into the green. My opponent said that it was a penalty to not play my second ball because I dropped it.., i said if I had hit the dropped ball thenI would have had to play it in, but because I found my original ball was obligated to continue with the original.

 

Clarification please. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

You may not play a provisional for a ball thought to be lost in a penalty area.

Since you were not playing a provisional for a ball thought to be lost outside of a penalty area, once you dropped the second ball, it became the ball in play.

Rule 18.3 applies

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, David in FL said:

You may not play a provisional for a ball thought to be lost in a penalty area.

Since you were not playing a provisional for a ball thought to be lost outside of a penalty area, once you dropped the second ball, it became the ball in play.

Rule 18.3 applies

Not necessarily, David. You can sometimes pick up a dropped ball just the same way you can correct an incorrect drop procedure if you haven't yet played a stroke.

Plus, @JOBS, please clarify WHERE you dropped the ball? Where you originally played from? Or near the penalty area?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, iacas said:

Not necessarily, David. You can sometimes pick up a dropped ball just the same way you can correct an incorrect drop procedure if you haven't yet played a stroke.

Plus, @JOBS, please clarify WHERE you dropped the ball? Where you originally played from? Or near the penalty area?

Good point.  I should’ve asked the follow up question...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, JOBS said:

Can I get clarification on this rule please. I dropped a ball when I believed my original ball landed in the water and then before hitting my dropped ball I found original ball and proceeded to continue to play with my original ball. Upon finding original ball I played it where it lied into the green. My opponent said that it was a penalty to not play my second ball because I dropped it.., i said if I had hit the dropped ball thenI would have had to play it in, but because I found my original ball was obligated to continue with the original.

 

Clarification please. 

 

Before dropping the ball did you have knowledge or virtual certainty that the original ball was in the penalty area? The answer hinges on this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The way I read this, @JOBS dropped a ball intending to take relief for a ball in a penalty area (he mentions water).  As I understand it, if he finds his original ball with 3 minutes of beginning to search, and he hasn't played the other ball, the original ball would be the one in play.  I believe that when he finds his original, the dropped ball may not be played.  If the original is in the PA, and he chooses to take relief, he would be required to drop again, but I'm not dead certain of that bit.  If he doesn't find the original, and was virtually certain it was in the PA, he would be right in playing the dropped ball, assuming it was dropped properly in the appropriate relief area.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 minutes ago, Wendy Dominick said:

Before dropping the ball did you have knowledge or virtual certainty that the original ball was in the penalty area? The answer hinges on this.  

 

Yes, we called it in the water and dropped in the correct area as a hazard drop.  Then we found the original. 

I dropped the ball by the drop area where it presumably went in the water.  I then found my original ball never stoking the dropped ball. 

Yes, Dave that is what occurred.  I would have simply played the drop ball if we never found my original ball thereby taking the penalty stroke per usual for any water hazard. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In that case you’re fine to have picked up the dropped ball.  :beer:

In my first answer I envisioned a completely different scenario that I should’ve clarified.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, David in FL said:

In that case you’re fine to have picked up the dropped ball.

Then I’m confused about which ball is in play. 

@JOBS had a ball in play, which he believed went into a penalty area. He dropped a ball to take relief from the penalty area, with the intent for it to be the ball in play.  He did not drop this as a provisional ball. Does this not make the dropped ball the ball in play?

Go to the definitions:

In Play:

Quote

That ball remains in play until it is holed, except that it is no longer in play:

    »    When it is lifted from the course,

    »    When it is lost (even if it is at rest on the course) or comes to rest out of bounds, or

    »    When another ball has been substituted for it, even if not allowed by a Rule.

Substitute:

Quote

A substituted ball is the player’s ball in play even if:

    •    It was replaced, dropped or placed in a wrong way or wrong place, or

    •    The player was required under the Rules to put the original ball back in play rather than to substitute another ball.

Drop:

Quote

To hold the ball and let go of it so that it falls through the air, with the intent for the ball to be in play.

If the Rules require a stroke to be made at the dropped ball for it to be the ball in play, I’m not seeing it. (And that’s possible—maybe I’m not seeing it in an Interpretation. I’ve been wrong before.)

Didn’t Rickie Fowler take relief from a penalty area earlier this year, then his dropped ball also rolled into the same penalty area, so he had to take relief again? If a stroke was required, then Fowler could have made the case that his dropped ball wasn’t in play yet. Found it: Waste Management Phoenix Open. 

rickie-fowler-griffin-connell.jpg

Rickie Fowler made a triple-bogey 7 at TPC Scottsdale's 11th hole during the Phoenix Open when his ball rolled back in the water after a penalty drop

So didn’t @JOBS‘s dropped ball become the ball in play when he dropped it with intent to take relief from the penalty area?

(Haven’t had my morning coffee yet! Sorry.)

 

Edited by Missouri Swede

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

 If a stroke was required, then Fowler could have made the case that his dropped ball wasn’t in play yet

Just like @JOBS did, I believe Fowler would have had to have found the ball from his 3rd shot (in the water) and hit the ball from there in order for the dropped ball to not be the ball in play. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Fowlers' situation was not the same as mine I believe? His dropped ball created another penalty upon his drop having already identified his original ball that landed in the water? My original ball was playable and would never have been a penalty shot. If I had landed in the water then I would have hit my dropped ball and played it all the way in to the hole.

I found my original ball before hitting the dropped ball and well within 3 minutes of looking.  Frankly , it was a fluke that I actually found my original ball and was glad that I had not hit the dropped ball or that would have been my ball with the penalty attached. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

19 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

Then I’m confused about which ball is in play. 

@JOBS had a ball in play, which he believed went into a penalty area. He dropped a ball to take relief from the penalty area, with the intent for it to be the ball in play.  He did not drop this as a provisional ball. Does this not make the dropped ball the ball in play?

Go to the definitions:

In Play:

Substitute:

Drop:

If the Rules require a stroke to be made at the dropped ball for it to be the ball in play, I’m not seeing it. (And that’s possible—maybe I’m not seeing it in an Interpretation. I’ve been wrong before.)

Didn’t Rickie Fowler take relief from a penalty area earlier this year, then his dropped ball also rolled into the same penalty area, so he had to take relief again? If a stroke was required, then Fowler could have made the case that his dropped ball wasn’t in play yet. Found it: Waste Management Phoenix Open. 

rickie-fowler-griffin-connell.jpg

Rickie Fowler made a triple-bogey 7 at TPC Scottsdale's 11th hole during the Phoenix Open when his ball rolled back in the water after a penalty drop

So didn’t @JOBS‘s dropped ball become the ball in play when he dropped it with intent to take relief from the penalty area?

(Haven’t had my morning coffee yet! Sorry.)

 

My interpretation...

Since the original ball was found outside of the penalty area, his drop was incorrect.  Had it been lost outside of the penalty area, it would’ve required stroke and distance, so had he played the dropped ball, he would have been playing from the wrong place.  He’s  allowed to pick up that ball to keep from doing that.  As such, it hasn’t yet become the ball in play, leaving that designation with the original ball.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

In response to @Missouri Swede, I believe 14.5 covers this:

Quote

a. Player May Lift Ball to Correct Mistake Before Ball Is Played

When a player has substituted another ball for the original ball when not allowed under the Rules or the player’s ball in play was replaced, dropped or placed (1) in a wrong place or came to rest in a wrong place, (2) in a wrong way or (3) by using a procedure that did not apply:

  • The player may lift the ball without penalty and correct the mistake.

  • But this is allowed only before the ball is played.

As @David in FL says, the dropped ball was substituted for the original when not allowed, since the original wasn't in the Penalty Area.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To be clear: The dropped ball was not a provisional ball.  It was for a water hazard shot. Before hitting the penalty ball I looked all around to be sure we couldn't find my ball and about 15ft back I saw my ball.  It was playable and was well within the 3 minute time zone.  There never would have been any need to drop a ball if we had walked up to the original ball. It was just buried in the ruff so spotting it was made more difficult,  which is why we all thought it had gone in the water.  There never would have been a need for any penalty shot. The ball was not OB nor was it in the hazard zone. It was just buried and close to the water. 

Edited by JOBS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just another thought...…trying to make sure I get it right...….

Would dropping a new ball constitute declaration of the 1st ball being considered lost, The 3 min rule is discarded when the new ball is dropped and therefore the 1st ball would no longer be in play even if found?

 

 

Edited by IowaGreg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

To be clear: The dropped ball was not a provisional ball.  It was for a water hazard shot. Before hitting the penalty ball I looked all around to be sure we couldn't find my ball and about 15ft back I saw my ball.  It was playable and was well within the 3 minute time zone.  There never would have been any need to drop a ball if we had walked up to the original ball. It was just buried in the ruff so spotting it was made more difficult,  which is why we all thought it had gone in the water.  There never would have been a need for any penalty shot. It was not OB, it was not  in the hard zone. It was just buried. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

45 minutes ago, David in FL said:

My interpretation...

Since the original ball was found outside of the penalty area, his drop was incorrect.  Had it been lost outside of the penalty area, it would’ve required stroke and distance, so had he played the dropped ball, he would have been playing from the wrong place.  He’s  allowed to pick up that ball to keep from doing that.  As such, it hasn’t yet become the ball in play, leaving that designation with the original ball.

 

43 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

In response to @Missouri Swede, I believe 14.5 covers this:

As @David in FL says, the dropped ball was substituted for the original when not allowed, since the original wasn't in the Penalty Area.  

Thanks. I think you’re right. Rule 14.5a:

Quote

a. Player May Lift Ball to Correct Mistake Before Ball Is Played

When a player has substituted another ball for the original ball when not allowed under the Rules or the player’s ball in play was replaced, dropped or placed (1) in a wrong place or came to rest in a wrong place, (2) in a wrong way or (3) by using a procedure that did not apply:

    •    The player may lift the ball without penalty and correct the mistake.

    •    But this is allowed only before the ball is played.

My next question is why 14.5 seems to contradict the definitions I cited above. Specifically, a ball is no longer in play when another has been substituted (definition of in play), and a substituted ball is the player’s ball in play even if:

    •    It was replaced, dropped or placed in a wrong way or wrong place, or

    •    The player was required under the Rules to put the original ball back in play rather than to substitute another ball.

The definitions say the substituted ball is in play, regardless of the Rules. The Rules say to ignore the definition for the substitution (maybe a little exaggerated, but I hope you see my point). There is only one ball in play at any time, even if the substitution is done incorrectly, for the wrong reason or in the wrong place. (Except if rule 14.5 applies; then the ball in play changes back?) 

The only way I see out of this is if “substitution” requires a stroke. But the definition doesn’t indicate this. 

(Second cup of coffee infused and flowing nicely, thank you.)

Edited by Missouri Swede

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I do not think so.  So long as it was believed to have gone in the water and then found it is my understanding that you must play the original ball. The original ball that is found may very well be in the hazard in a different location from where I originally dropped from or may be deemed unplayable also requiring a different drop zone from the ball that was first dropped. 

By playing the first ball dropped rather than the original ball under those circumstances sets the player up for an easier penalty shot also from the wrong location. That is why you go back to the original played when found. 

Edited by JOBS

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2019 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • I’m just not a real fan with comparing teams that essentially played in two different leagues. Numbers are generated from games. It matters who a team is playing. The video earlier was wrong about ‘Vegas doesn’t care who you play, it’s how you play.’ That’s not true. This is why UCF wasn’t the NC despite being 13-0. OSU generated numbers against PSU, MI, and WI twice. Clemson generated its numbers against no ranked teams. It’s true Clemson destroyed its opponents aside from UNC. But so did OSU along with beating ranked teams. But I have the ‘eye’ test and although not scientific it’s all I have because on paper they played apples and oranges to me. 
    • Hi all: New here first post so be gentle. Golfed my whole life except for the past 6 years until I decided to get back into game end of this summer. Had a new set of Titleist blades stiff steel shafts for 20 years starting out, then a set of Callaway Big Bertha X-12's with Memphis 10 steel shafts for 20 years, and now looking at getting another new set of irons but boy, has the game and equipment changed. Hybrids, head sizes, innumerable types and styles of shafts and grips to choose from not to mention ball speed, smash factor, spin rates, trajectory...very different from the old days of: "these sticks feel okay...they hit the ball alright...okay I'll take them. Getting older with nagging golfers/tennis elbow and figured it's time for regular graphite shafts - rusty 10-ish handicap...driver swing speed around 93-94mph average...6 iron swing speed around 80-81mph average. Anyway in the past month I purchased a demo Srixon z585 driver with HZRDUS 65 reg graphite shaft, Callaway XR 16 3 wood w/Fujikura Speeder Evolution 565 reg graphite shaft, a couple of Cobra F8 hybrids (19, 22) w/Aldila Rogue Pro 75 reg graphite shafts and a demo Taylormade GAPR Hi 4 (23) w/KBS HYB reg graphite shaft - all on sale or store/proshop demos...all felt good and hit okay. Now onto the irons...thanks for bearing with me. Most interested in a Like New set of Callaway Steelhead XR irons from 2016//mostly because they seem the most like the X-12's but with all the contemporary bells and whistles....and price is good. But they are outfitted with with Accra i123 M3 graphite shafts and I cannot find out very much about these shafts (other than Accra is a very well-regarded brand and people seem to be satisfied with theirs). Of course I am ordering them sight unseen but figuring "how bad can they be, right?" I guess my long-winded question is - anyone with experience with these shafts and with what clubs and how were they? And is there any way can they be easily adjusted after receiving - as in take out shaft and remove any weights in shaft or head if there are any if it feels too heavy? 123gram shaft seems pretty heavy for graphite...and what little I've read about the i123's is they can be firm-stiff feeling. I know it's hard to tell much until actually swinging/hitting them or any club...but just trying to get as much insight or info ahead of time to make informed online purchase - any and all advice or info welcome!     Thanks
    • I think it’s definitely worth trying. I was enjoying this method. I became a bit frustrated with the long irons. I was a bit irked with JV in that he gives minimal instruction or demonstration of long irons or driver. I understand he has a system but he bases it on the old adage that it’s the short game that counts. He’s wrong of course but he’ll never admit/accept the research from Mark Broadie or LSW. And that irritated me.  I feel my struggles with the longer irons were simply because I couldn’t generate enough swing speed to hit a 3-4-5i properly.  And I threw JV a bone. I paid for his instruction and 3 months in it was still all about the 9i. And on his YouTube videos he never posts numbers. He can’t seem to understand you can’t just show yourself hitting a driver then say, ‘ 117mph swing speed.’ without any proof and then get testy when people ask for LM data. He also repeatedly claims the ‘ Titleist Institute of Technology ’ has verified his swing mechanics? Zero data from that and again he just says follow my lead and expects everyone to believe him or they’re just being negative or difficult. I also don’t buy the whole having ‘ 10 different swings for each club.’ I understand there are trajectories to consider as obviously there will be a lot of overlapping distances with that system. But come on, why would I ever hit a ‘1’ swing with a 3i?    But I can say I enjoyed the nice draw I could produce with my short irons, mid irons too when struck well. Certainly a lot less to think about with this swing.
    • Played most of my adult life and mostly in Canada until 6 years ago...now trying to get back into the game. Handicap has ranged from 5-15 over the years...a 10-12 is where I'd put myself now. Not a big hitter like the Dalai Lama, but deliberate and consistent with good short game. Driver swingspeed - 93-94 mph. 6 iron swingspeed 81-82 mph.  Greetings!
    • I would say if you got to the level of a professional body builder or Olympic weightlifter. Even athletes from other sports do well at golf. I would say just being in athletic shape is good for golf. I would add in compound movements to help develop the muscles around the joints. I think those are the areas that take the most stress in golf. 
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. asimpson1211
      asimpson1211
      (45 years old)
    2. dfriend1
      dfriend1
      (55 years old)
    3. gmohr
      gmohr
      (65 years old)
    4. Jean Trudel
      Jean Trudel
      (74 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...