Jump to content
Subscribe to the Spin Axis Podcast! ×
Note: This thread is 2214 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

Posted
On 9/24/2019 at 1:23 PM, DaveP043 said:

That's not exactly correct.  See Rule 10.2b(3), if you take your stance while the club is in place, you cannot escape the penalty by picking up the club.

As to the OP, it would be hard to "prove" that the player was parking his cart specifically to assist with his alignment.  On the other hand, if he's told you that he parks that way on purpose, you'd be justified in telling him that he was breaking the rule.  I suppose that you could argue that parking a buggy doesn't qualify as "setting down an object", but to me if he's parking the "object" in a specific way to help with alignment, he's violated the rule.

For clarification, what do they consider your “stance?” Do you need to have the club in hand, can you get alongside the ball, then grab the club and settle into your shot? I never knew it was against the rules to address the ball without picking it up

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Posted

From the Definitions:

Stance - The position of a player’s feet and body in preparing for and making a stroke.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=definitions&subrulenum=63

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted (edited)

If it's legal do it...i tend to address the ball with club face to intended target...all i had to do was adjust ball to front foot placement..was slightly fading so moved ball to outer edge of my left ( i'm  RH ) that's how i align and wham hitting ball dead straight https://scontent-ort2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.24130-6/70248890_166229744498321_7765487863332556464_n.mp4?_nc_cat=100&efg=eyJ2ZW5jb2RlX3RhZyI6Im9lcF9oZCJ9&_nc_oc=AQmVY4LPBrf0uN847jtq_eUFXCxjmiq53ziC-xvp296_1ouMFPGhy8UjgmavOWoGiCXyQ7LjsoAeLvhpmPadGZbj&_nc_ht=scontent-ort2-1.xx&oh=c9e6b4197e9ade22803fcda6eb1fa10c&oe=5E2E62AA 

Edited by kevin6string
missing signature

Posted

If you make a very small mark on the fairway by tapping the ground with your club 3 feet from in front of your ball, does that count as not allowed. I know pros have been making a divot with their club on the tee box then using the up turned turf as a tee for the ball.  eg Laura Davies. same thing or different.


Posted

If you make a very small mark on the fairway by tapping the ground with your club 3 feet from in front of your ball, does that count as not allowed.

NOT ALLOWED

I know pros have been making a divot with their club on the tee box then using the up turned turf as a tee for the ball.  eg Laura Davies. same thing or different.

ALLOWED

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB

Posted
12 minutes ago, Asheville said:

If you make a very small mark on the fairway by tapping the ground with your club 3 feet from in front of your ball, does that count as not allowed.

NOT ALLOWED

I know pros have been making a divot with their club on the tee box then using the up turned turf as a tee for the ball.  eg Laura Davies. same thing or different.

ALLOWED

I wrote to the USGA to ask about making a mark in the dew as an alignment and was told that it is under consideration, so as of now, we don't know!


  • 3 weeks later...
Posted
On 10/2/2019 at 9:35 PM, Wendy Dominick said:

I wrote to the USGA to ask about making a mark in the dew as an alignment and was told that it is under consideration, so as of now, we don't know!

No answer yet Wendy?


Note: This thread is 2214 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.