Hi Everyone, 

I sort of hate to even open this topic up but would honestly like to hear some other opinions. 

For the last 2 years, ( I just started playing golf 2 years ago because of Parkinson's Disease in my right hand. Exercise does wonders for controlling this disease. I had quit playing back in 1975 due to work, family, and raising kids.) ; 

I have been shooting just under a 97 to 100 for 18 from the whites. I am a 72 year old right handed golfer and play fairly well, at least I think I do. ( I play the ball where it lies and only move it or touch it if allowed by the USGA rules. But I digress)

I recently decided to see if I could break 95 0r even 90 at my age and still play the way I have always played. 

I shot a 92 last week in beautiful weather and then last Saturday in cold and rainy wind, I shot a 44 and a 38 for a 82. I also have shot several 80's this summer. However, this last time I played, I used a fairly new Titelist DT on the front nine. 

I made the offhand comment to my golfing buddy that I couldn't remember the last time I played golf, if ever, with a new ball. He pulled the cart over after my tee off on hole #10 and I switched to a new Callaway and promptly hit it in the lake. 😞 (He gave me two new sleeves of a Callaway balls that he had won in a tournament) (I was so embarrassed to hit the first new ball in the lake.) 

I then took my stroke penalty and got another new Callaway and drove it 200 yards to the green using my #3 fairway wood. I then proceeeded to play the rest of the round with the new Callaway ball. I shot a personal best of 38 on the back nine. 

I have been told that lost balls are lost for a reason and need to be left alone unless for practice or to give to the grand kids. After my personal best of 38 I am inclined he may have a valid point. 

The weather has not permitted me to play since last Saturday and it is now Wednesday and I am hoping to get out tomorrow.