Jump to content
Sol

Out of Bounds (not off tee)

5 posts / 1002 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

So yesterday I hit a perfect drive On a par 5 and proceeded to go for the green in 2.  I ended up pulling my 2nd shot left of green.  Shot was pin high but way left.   I couldn’t  really see where it went so I did not even think to hit a provisional.  Once I walked up to green  I realized that my ball likely went out of bounds pin high.  Rather than walk back to original spot from the fairway I figured I should just take advantage of the new rules where you can take 2 strokes and drop a ball in the fairway.  So, I dropped a ball in just in front of the green and took 2 strokes. I then 2 putted for what I thought would be a 6.  is this Legit for amateur play?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

10 hours ago, Sol said:

So yesterday I hit a perfect drive On a par 5 and proceeded to go for the green in 2.  I ended up pulling my 2nd shot left of green.  Shot was pin high but way left.   I couldn’t  really see where it went so I did not even think to hit a provisional.  Once I walked up to green  I realized that my ball likely went out of bounds pin high.  Rather than walk back to original spot from the fairway I figured I should just take advantage of the new rules where you can take 2 strokes and drop a ball in the fairway.  So, I dropped a ball in just in front of the green and took 2 strokes. I then 2 putted for what I thought would be a 6.  is this Legit for amateur play?

As @iacas says, the local rule must be in effect for this to be an acceptable option.  The way you worded this makes me wonder a bit whether you were "no closer to the hole" than the point where the ball crossed the OB line, that's a part of the local rule requirements.  Similarly, you cannot go more than 2 clublengths from the edge of the fairway.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

As @iacas says, the local rule must be in effect for this to be an acceptable option.  The way you worded this makes me wonder a bit whether you were "no closer to the hole" than the point where the ball crossed the OB line, that's a part of the local rule requirements.  Similarly, you cannot go more than 2 clublengths from the edge of the fairway.

 

Thanks! Makes sense. I probably should have backed up away from hole a bit more but I’m glad to know the rule applies to OB even when when not on the tee box. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

15 minutes ago, Sol said:

Thanks! Makes sense. I probably should have backed up away from hole a bit more but I’m glad to know the rule applies to OB even when when not on the tee box. 

Yeah...you’re disqualified and not welcome back to the course.😆

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...