Jump to content
Club Rat

Partner in Fourball Stands Behind Partner During Putt

37 posts / 3643 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

With the new rules effective this year, was there a change in allowing a partner in a Two Man Match Play which allows the partner to stand behind his partner during the time the player is putting?
Also, is standing behind his partner in close proximity a breech of the rules?

The two partners had a long putt from an identical position. They looked over there putts and discussed the situation. (Line of putt, break etc.) 
Then the one partner addressed the ball on the putting green and his partner was directly behind him at that moment. (about 7 feet to observe the line of the putt)
He quickly realizes his partner was about to putt and steps to the side one stride and observes the putt, then steps back in behind the line of his partner to observe the line of the putt.

Also how is close proximity determined or measured in distance?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 minutes ago, iacas said:

Assuming by “behind” you mean on the extension of their line.

Yes Erik, I thought the rule was 14-2b, but I'm not able to locate the ruling.

20 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

Also, is standing behind his partner in close proximity a breech of the rules?

Also meaning on the extension of their line.

20 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

Also how is close proximity determined or measured in distance?

Is one step to the side consider to be close proximity, while a couple of steps, 2-3 steps considered away from the line enough?
The guy took one stride away and then stepped back to observe.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, Club Rat said:

Yes Erik, I thought the rule was 14-2b, but I'm not able to locate the ruling.

 

I'm afraid you are about 10 months off the pace. 😲

 

 

Edited by Rulesman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm still puzzled about the ruling in regards to who is penalized?

Would it be the player standing behind his partner or the player making the putt.
It seems to me it would be a loss of hole by the partners in general?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, iacas said:

Did you look at 23.8?

Yes I have read this ruling, but it does not directly address my question.
Is a general penalty when a partner stands behind his partner while he takes his stance and or putts.
In which case, it would be a loss of hole?

The second issue was the partner moved to a close proximity away after the player address the ball to make the putting stroke.

And this occurred in a four ball partner match.

Quote

23.8  When Penalty Applies to One Partner Only or Applies to Both Partners

a. Penalties Other Than Disqualification

When you get a penalty other than disqualification, that penalty normally applies only to you and not also to your partner
Partner: A player who competes together with another player as a side, in either match play or stroke play..

In match play Match Play: A form of play where you or your side plays directly against an opponent or opposing side in a head-to-head match of one or more rounds., if you get the general penalty
General Penalty: Loss of hole in match play or two penalty strokes in stroke play. (loss of hole), you have no score that can count for your side
Side: Two or more partners competing as a single unit in a round in match play or stroke play. on that hole; but this penalty has no effect on your partner
Partner: A player who competes together with another player as a side, in either match play or stroke play.,
who may continue to play for your side
Side: Two or more partners competing as a single unit in a round in match play or stroke play. on that hole.

There are three situations where your penalty also applies to your partner
Partner: A player who competes together with another player as a side, in either match play or stroke play.:

(1) When you breach Rule 4.1b (Limit of 14 Clubs; Shared, Added or Replaced Clubs).

(2) When your breach helps your partner’s Partner: A player who competes together with another player as a side, in either match play or stroke play. play.

(3) In match play Match Play: A form of play where you or your side plays directly against an opponent or opposing side in a head-to-head match of one or more rounds., when your breach hurts your opponent’s
Opponent: The person you compete against in a match. The term opponent applies only in match play.

Exception – If You Make a Stroke at Wrong Ball, it is Not Treated as Having Helped Your Partner ‘s Play or Hurt Your Opponent’s Play.

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Club Rat said:

Yes I have read this ruling, but it does not directly address my question.
Is a general penalty when a partner stands behind his partner while he takes his stance and or putts.
In which case, it would be a loss of hole?

The second issue was the partner moved to a close proximity away after the player address the ball to make the putting stroke.

And this occurred in a four ball partner match.

 

 

I don’t get it...you posted the rule. How does this not answer your question?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, Vinsk said:

I don’t get it...you posted the rule. How does this not answer your question?

Because I do not fully understand the ruling and want to be certain of how the penalty is applied and to whom.
In certain situations in 4 ball only one player would be penalize and be out if the hole.
Also because I've never come across a situation of a "General Penalty" before,

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, Rulesman said:

Do you think any of the exceptions in 23.8a(2) apply?

Yes that is exactly what occurred and thank you very much for the clarification.

Quote

Player B takes a stance for a putt and makes the stroke while Player A deliberately stands in a location on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball for any reason. Player B is in breach of Rule 10.2b(4) (Standing Behind Player) for taking a stance when Player A is in such a location and will get the general penalty

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

55 minutes ago, Club Rat said:

Yes that is exactly what occurred and thank you very much for the clarification.

Did you read far enough? Both players get the general penalty:

  • Player B takes a stance for a putt and makes the stroke while Player A deliberately stands in a location on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball for any reason. Player B is in breach of Rule 10.2b(4) (Standing Behind Player) for taking a stance when Player A is in such a location and will get the general penalty.

    Further, when Player A’s putt is on the same line as Player B’s and Player B makes a stroke while Player A is on an extension of Player B’s line of play, Player B’s breach helped Player A so Player A also gets the same penalty as Player B.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I now understand the term "General Penalty" and how it is used for a few situations.
Until I inquired in this thread, I honestly have ever had anyone speak in the manner of a general penalty.
Learn something new today, thanks Erik and @Rulesman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note that you have to look further than the Rule. Erik's text is in fact

Interpretation 23.8a(2)/1 – Examples of When Player’s Breach Helps Partner’s Play

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On 10/18/2019 at 12:57 PM, Club Rat said:

 

Also meaning on the extension of their line.

Is one step to the side consider to be close proximity, while a couple of steps, 2-3 steps considered away from the line enough?
The guy took one stride away and then stepped back to observe.

This is a good question that I am not aware of any official answer to.  IMO, your suggestion above is a good one that I would support (in the absence of further clarification) in the case of a longer putt - one step to the side could still be 'close proximity' but a couple of steps would not.  Distance of ball from hole does seem to come into it.  For example, if the putt is only a yard and a half then a full step to the side would not seem to be close proximity but a putt of say 5 yards and one step may not be enough to escape the 10.2b(4) restriction if the 'observer' is not in the process of moving away.  I'd be interested in others thoughts on this angle.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Rulesman said:

Interpretation 23.8a(2)/1 – Examples of When Player’s Breach Helps Partner’s Play

I did and that scenario did occur as I mentioned above.

On 10/17/2019 at 8:57 PM, Club Rat said:

The guy took one stride away and then stepped back to observe.

He actually already had breached the rule standing behind his partner when he address the putt, then quickly stepped
away when he noticed I was watching him.

The sad part, he stood behind his partner on the second hole of the match and I told him he could not do that,
But, I failed to tell the dumb ass it was a penalty at the time, My bad.
I should have called them out at that time, but wasn't sure who would receive the penalty.
I also should have called the head pro to let him tell the rule at the time.

Our poor decision cost us the championship.

For all I know, the dumb ass might have been checking his partners alignment.
This might had been the situation, but that's hard to call them out on.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Can I please add to the discussion. In a 4BBB

If Player A has 5 ft birdie putt (so pretty certain to make par). and Player B has a 6 ft putt for par 9o degrees from Player As ball. 

Can Player B putt his ball to just behind Player As mark and not  at the hole so that his next putt will show Player A the line for his birdie attempt.

thanks.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • The con with hybrids though is that they go even on misshits. So you are bound to get more lost balls with it if you are not striking it perfectly. I have a 22 degree after my irons and it´s ridiculously easy to get into the air and I certainly have better percentage then my old iron 3 but the misses is close to be as dangerous as misses with a 3-wood seeing the distance they go in the wrong direction. But it´s very useful. If you have a day you can´t chip you can just use it as a chipper. Trying to recover with distance from a fairway bunker or bad lie in the rough much easier then a fairway wood or iron. From a perfectly good lie the fairway wood is preferrable though but the misses using an iron versus a wood or hybrid tend to be much less punishing as the ball will go a much shorter distance and is required to hit well to get the distance. Another thing is distance control. If no wind fine but with wind and the high trajectories it would be hard to calculate. Maybe punch shot is easy with hybrid too though... I don´t know about backspin because yet to land my hybrid on a green 😛. The holes I play I hardly ever get it for the approach shot where there is any real chance. I seldom need to hit more then 160 metres to pin. I am still not 100 % sure about the distance I have with it need more time to dial that in better. On the range it appears to be a huge difference when ripping it and on a slower swing. but I do feel it replaces my old 18 degree fairway wood quite well. Goes a bit shorter but significantly longer then my i5 d7 despite its playing as a i-3 so gapping aside I think I lucked out with the right hybrid loft in between my 3wood and irons.  25 degree hybrid probably don´t go longer then the average well hit iron 3? I am very curious to try a set of cleveland hb turbos or the like but not in the market for new clubs currently but would be interesting how they play and if they can just about eliminate all duffing which do happen on occasion... But again if that short duff short is replaced by an out of bound not much gained.  
    • I have a 21 year old "kid" and he and none of his friends can control themselves, nor care to.  It's life as usual.  Hang out at someone's house, drink, sit on the couch, pass a joint.  He didn't get this from me.  Though I did some of that stuff in my 20's... but there was no Covid-19.  And had there been I think I would have been smart enough to follow a few rules to stay safe.
    • Not basically. Exactly, AND HIS DAD IS A DOCTOR!!! His biologic father that is.
    • So basically, screw others I want to do what I want to do mentality. While it may not be fatal to most young people, it can have a long lasting health effect.
    • Its professional golfing wear so be damned if not 🙂 very practical shorts with pockets for tees gloves etc. Well worn shirt not washingmachine friendly wool it seems but no holes yet 😛 Also have white golf pants and one black and one white t-shirt. The flexible wool on golf wear is so comfortable like wearing a pyjamas 🙂
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. bradley cameron
      bradley cameron
      (27 years old)
    2. Muzzychris
      Muzzychris
      (30 years old)
    3. rrives
      rrives
      (57 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...