Jump to content
Cantankerish

Ball stays in ball mark on green

12 posts / 835 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Wet conditions today.  My nephew hit his 6-iron well and ended up on the green.  The ball embedded itself where it landed.  Can he repair the ball mark and replace the ball?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

Quote

16.3  Embedded Ball

a. When Relief Is Allowed

Relief is allowed only when your ball is embedded in the general area. But if your ball is embedded on the putting green, you may mark the spot of your ball, lift and clean it, repair the damage, and replace your ball on its original spot.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Unless you’re Matt Kuchar in which your ball may become embedded in its own pitch mark from a drive where after the ball sprung forward it spun back and landed in its pitch mark. A third opinion from the officials may be warranted.🙂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, Vinsk said:

Unless you’re Matt Kuchar in which your ball may become embedded in its own pitch mark from a drive where after the ball sprung forward it spun back and landed in its pitch mark. A third opinion from the officials may be warranted.🙂

And what was the ruling given?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 hours ago, Cantankerish said:

Wet conditions today.  My nephew hit his 6-iron well and ended up on the green.  The ball embedded itself where it landed.  Can he repair the ball mark and replace the ball?

Yes. Read all about it in Rule 13.1, here: https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=13&subrulenum=1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

And what was the ruling given?

Lol..yeah they basically told him to stop being ridiculous and play it as it lie.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Vinsk said:

Lol..yeah they basically told him to stop being ridiculous and play it as it lie.

Oh dear!

16.3a(2)/1 – Concluding Whether Ball Is Embedded in Its Own Pitch-mark

It must be reasonable to conclude that the ball is in its own pitch-mark for the player to take relief under Rule 16.3b.

An example of when it is reasonable to conclude that the ball came to rest in its own pitch-mark is when a player’s approach shot lands on soft ground just short of the putting green in the general area. The player sees the ball bounce forward and then spin back. When the player arrives at the ball, he or she sees that it is embedded in the only pitch-mark in the area. Since it is  reasonable to conclude that the ball spun back into its own pitch-mark, the player may take relief under Rule 16.3b.

But did this happen this year?

Edited by Rulesman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...