Jump to content
IGNORED

Dean Snell on Optimal Ball Performance as It Gets Colder


Recommended Posts

Yeah I always keep my golf balls in a warmer when it drops below 50. Gets me an extra 2-3yds. I also clean it after every hole to get any grass stains off to improve the flight pattern which keeps that baby draw right at 5-10’ rather than 4.2-9.3’. I also realize the cooler grass on the greens can affect my roll so I bring my ball to the same temp as the green as to not misjudge the expected revolutions. 😛

  • Upvote 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
1 hour ago, Double Mocha Man said:

Years ago they used to sell a golf ball warmer.  Wondering if those are still around.  I just keep an extra in my pocket.  The pocket with a secret hole in it...

And… those would be illegal.

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, Piz said:

Just curious @Vinsk do you use one of those instant read thermometers or rely on instinct?  

I keep an instant read one in my bag. I’ve noticed Snell balls keep their temp about .00001 degrees more stable than even premium golf balls. I think it helps that ‘Snell’ is a shorter stamp than ‘Titleist ProV1.’ Less friction. 

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Vinsk said:

Yeah I always keep my golf balls in a warmer when it drops below 50. Gets me an extra 2-3yds. I also clean it after every hole to get any grass stains off to improve the flight pattern which keeps that baby draw right at 5-10’ rather than 4.2-9.3’. I also realize the cooler grass on the greens can affect my roll so I bring my ball to the same temp as the green as to not misjudge the expected revolutions. 😛

Are those shanks longer too?  :-D

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
12 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

I would have thought Snell would know that.

I think it used to be 14-3/13.5, but I'm not sure where it is now in the Interpretations. Maybe it's gone.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, iacas said:

I think it used to be 14-3/13.5, but I'm not sure where it is now in the Interpretations. Maybe it's gone.

It’s in the Equipment Rules (not in the iOS app).

https://www.usga.org/content/dam/usga/pdf/Equipment/Equipment Rules Final.pdf

CB26F360-2138-44BA-9D0A-F9E3C3CDABD1.thumb.jpeg.13d703115563b186630c4c29027c8107.jpeg

  • Informative 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I store all my  golf gear at in home room temperature during colder weather. 

When on the the course playing,  I rotate between three balls that I keep in my pocket. Every hole, or two, I play a different ball.

All that said, my cold weather golf reality is that if it is so cold to really bother the ball, I am also wearing so many layers of clothes, that my swing is more inhibited than than what ever the cold will do to the golf ball. 

Also if the weather gets really cold enough to bother my golf game, I will either stay home for a couple days till it warms up, or take a road trip south. A 6-7 hour drive south could be as much of a 50* degree increase in temperature. Them "snow birds" know what they're doing. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
12 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:

It’s in the Equipment Rules (not in the iOS app).

https://www.usga.org/content/dam/usga/pdf/Equipment/Equipment Rules Final.pdf

The shaded part of the Equipment Rules is quoted from the Rules of Golf, 4.2a(2), and is included in the phone app.

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Pretty amazing for a $500 box. Close enough for me.  
    • I played roller coaster golf. This is going to be a lengthy recap. I’m not expecting people to read through the whole thing; it’s more for my own entertainment purposes to go back over some of these holes. Day 1 (Sandbox and Mammoth Dunes) I made par on #16 at SB by hitting a PW as hard as I could to the front of the green and then putting from there to 8’ from the back hole location. The hole was 170 from the tee and the longest club I had was PW. It sounds a lot easier in writing than it was. I didn’t play that well at MD. Probably hit a few good drives, but I don’t remember doing anything remarkable. Day 2 (SB and Sand Valley) Made birdie on #7 at SB. Teed off with putter, hit it to 3’. Hit an 8i on #16 at SB to 8’. It’s a Redan and I hit a fade. @DaveP043 showed us how it’s supposed to be played by hitting a draw to the front of the green and letting the ball roll up to the hole about 6’ away. Didn’t play well at SV on the first round, but I hit some good drives and made a few pars, including on #18 where I hit driver-3w into the sand area to the right of the green, hit a 30 yard blind sand shot just off the green and made par from there. Day 3 (SB and SV) Birdied #7 again at SB. Again teed off with putter but not great, holed a 20’ putt for birdie. Quit golf on the 3rd hole at SV, so naturally, I birdied #4. Hit a good drive and 2h just left of the green, had a ridiculous putt from the top of a hill that hit a sprinkler head and trickled to tap in distance. Hit 4i-2h on #6, GIR and 4-putted. Dave measured my first putt - I was 40 yards from the hole. Hit a perfect drive over the sand pyramid on #7 (I was on top of it the day before), followed by an easy 2h I wanted to run up to the green, which I pulled slightly but it bounced off a hill and rolled onto the green anyway. Had a 30’ putt for eagle, 3-putted for par. Birdied #12. Like @saevel25, I also went driver-7i and put it on the green. Made par on #14 which I described in the Best Shot of the Week thread. That 6i was probably in the top 5 most pure shots I have ever hit. It started on the line I wanted, turned exactly how I pictured it, and flew exactly the right distance. Missed the 6’ putt for birdie which I really wanted to make with the other group watching on the tee. I hit a good drive on #18 and tried to hit a 2h into the fairway short of the green. Ended up flaring it way right into the Sahara. Matt later asked if I hit a good shot because it looked like I was posing, and I told him I was so gassed I just didn’t want to move after the shot 😂 Day 4 (Lawsonia Links x 2) Got my best score of the trip here with an 87 in our first round. I hit some good shots, but nothing really spectacular. Just made fewer mistakes overall. Made birdie on #9 after hitting my drive into the fescue. Hit a 7i back into the fairway and a low spinner to 3’, which was still outside Dave’s blind third shot from the fairway bunker which he put to 2’. Day 5 (Lac La Belle) Made a really good decision to grab breakfast at Fresh Baked Cafe in Oconomowoc. The beers were cold at the end of the round. I seriously played like crap.
    • Probably not possible. Calling someone on a rules violation is going to disrupt "serenity" within the group but sometimes that is the cost you have to pay for doing the right thing.  I'm sure I've looked the other way on minor rules infractions that had no material impact on the outcome because the cost wasn't worth the benefit. I can't think of any offhand, but to borrow an example from your first post, if someone rotated their ball on the green without marking it, I would probably be more likely to pull them aside on the next hole and tell them they need to mark it next time vs. call a penalty on them.  But like with many things in life - you can't have your cake and eat it to. If you decide that something needs to be called out for a penalty, you have to accept the likely possibility of temporary discord in the group. Don't be a jerk about it - be polite, but direct - and you give yourself the best chance of a positive outcome.
    • Was in a group a few years ago that played every Wednesday and we did this same thing with net birdies every year.  One year got to 16 of them, but couldn't get two of them that I didn't get strokes on.  At least with this one, I get to count more than just Wednesday rounds...
    • I'm aware, but the post described choosing to forego two drops and immediately drop more than two club lengths from a penalty area. That is not in the rules. And, in the cited example of a penalty area and a cart path, "back where you started" would never occur. Because relief from a cart path must be in the general area, not back in the penalty area. 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. andreanewman
      andreanewman
      (29 years old)
    2. Erg
      Erg
      (54 years old)
    3. Hacker James
      Hacker James
      (79 years old)
    4. irishmike27
      irishmike27
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...