Jump to content
IGNORED

Two Players Penalized at LPGA Q-Series for Not Knowing Rule


Recommended Posts

  • Administrator
38 minutes ago, RemyM said:

I know the rules, just making a point, like the player at Q School said, she sees it happening all the time.

And again, what happened at Q-School was quite different from what happens "all the time."

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I can see two sides to this.  On one hand, by waiting Kim left the possibility that they would make the same mistake again.  Apparently they didn't.  But by bringing it up during the round, she could

Since we are making assumptions I see Kim's side of things. She alerted a rules official, no less, right away. Doesn't seem like she just 'let it ride' for a while.  If she really wanted to be a

I have a number of things to say here. Days after rules controversy, Kim still defending herself on Twitter Christina Kim has been tirelessly relaying her side of the s

Posted Images

1 hour ago, RemyM said:

There was another time on screen that Lexi Thompson's caddie gave the signal on a par 3 and it was right in front of a fellow competitor.  I'm done with screen shots though.  To me this is the same as backstopping.

I know the rules, just making a point, like the player at Q School said, she sees it happening all the time.

Saying you "know the rules (sic)" doesn't mean that you really do. You continue to demonstrate that nobody should give you a badge and a radio and let you out on your own.

Link to post
Share on other sites

8 hours ago, iacas said:

From the first post:

gettyimages-1185072577.jpg?w=640

PINEHURST, N.C. – There’s never a good time for a two-stroke penalty. But the second week of Q-Series, where a whole year’s worth of status is on the line, ranks up there among the worst times to g…

Kendall Dye and Dewi Weber (both of these are players) were still in shock about the whole thing after Q-Series ended.

The incident took place on the 17th hole during Round 6 at Pinehurst No. 9.

As Dye tells it, Christina Kim (Player A) hit first on the par 3. Then Weber (Player B), runner-up at the 2016 NCAA Championship while a freshman at Miami, stepped up to the tee. As Weber (Player B) prepared to hit, Dye (Player C) motioned toward Weber’s caddie to ask if it was an 8-iron. Jacqueline Schram (Player B's caddie) signaled back to confirm that it was, indeed, an 8-iron.

So, C asked B's caddie, and B's caddie responded.

The rules officials got it right (the one on scene was a bit slow to respond, unsure, as he was a volunteer or something), and the proper penalty was assessed.

Thanks. That clears it up for me.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay one last time.  Here is the shot of Lexi Thompson's caddie on a par 3.

So basically if your group is on TV you can flash signals of your club but if your not, you can't.  I know the signal is intended for the guy with the microphone and not the fellow competitor looking at it, but she still sees it.  I liken this to the extra scrutiny players on TV used to get and had penalties assessed since there was video evidence of what they did, while a player not on TV might have done the same thing but no one saw it.  The rules were changed to limit how video can be used to assess penalties, the naked eye exception.  My whole point in all this was to show what the correctly penalized player at Q School meant when she "sees it all the time," I never said the players at the Tour Championship should have been penalized.  Obviously some of you don't think it's a big deal, but some people didn't think caddies lining up a player was a big deal, or anchoring a putter was a big deal, but others did and the rules were changed.  I'm entitled to my opinion and I think this practice should be stopped even if others don't and I certainly should not have been insulted for expressing my opinion.

IMG_20191126_130601431.jpg

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Solution:  It's almost 2020.  Micro chips added to the pros' clubs to let the announcer know the club.  We already have Game Golf and microchips for dogs.  Finger signaling is so 2019.  Although still good for road rage.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
2 hours ago, RemyM said:

I know the signal is intended for the guy with the microphone and not the fellow competitor looking at it, but she still sees it.

She can also look in the bag if the caddie makes no effort to hide the club choice, or speak quietly when they're discussing club choice.

Jeez.

2 hours ago, RemyM said:

My whole point in all this was to show what the correctly penalized player at Q School meant when she "sees it all the time,"

She doesn't see what happened at Q School "all the time."

And, I don't see where you were insulted.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Use your best judgment. You can have multiple home courses. But if you only play them once a month or something that’s going to be tough.
    • Nice birdie on the 17th today.  Started on the back 9.  About 500 yard tee shot over water and a fairway hazard around 250.  Got it that length but missed the hazard.  Then a 2 hybrid got me inside 50 yards of the green and a great PW put me inside 5 feet.  Drained the putt for a nice birdie 
    • Last evening played on a 9 hole league. Short, fairly easy course. Drove wildly, putted poorly. Still shot a 41. It helps when your drive can be in the adjacent fairway and you can still reach in regulation with a 9 iron or wedge.......
    • Even people with a one plane swing? 
    • Today after work, I had a great workout.  Bench press 3x5x130 lbs (I plan to continue at this weight until I can comfortably do 3x8;  same with press and squats), deadlifted 200 lbs (3 iterations:  2, 3, 3 lifts each) and then went for a bike ride (11.8 miles, walked the bike for about a third of a mile in there though).
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. 3putt71
      3putt71
      (64 years old)
    2. cdutra40
      cdutra40
      (22 years old)
    3. Doovy
      Doovy
      (27 years old)
    4. JLeeWildcat9
      JLeeWildcat9
      (35 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...