Jump to content
IGNORED

Same Numbered Hybrid as Iron?


Recommended Posts

Now this may be in the wrong section so forgive me. I was watching a video Michael Breed did on YouTube which is below. (Just the first part) He is advocating for us golfers to get a hybrid that is the same number as your longest iron. So for example, if your longest iron is a 5-iron, you should carry a 5-hybrid for gapping purposes (That's what I take out of it.)

So at what point does this become impractical? I know that the tour pros that carry hybrids, usually don't go 4-iron to 4-hybrid, because the gapping doesn't make sense at that point. It would seem to me that if you were going to do this, you'd have to drop a club somewhere else. (Or go to 4-wood, instead of 3-wood).

My question is: Should what Michael is saying be heeded by most golfers, or is it more meant for middle to high handicaps?

As promised here is the video:

 

Edited by onthehunt526
Grammar
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Given that most hybrids aren’t “numbered”, but rather, are identified by loft, I’d say that this simply reinforces my belief that Michael Breed was born an idiot, and has been losing ground ever since.   ;-)

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just play the clubs that go the carry distances you want, appropriately gapped through the bag, regardless of the loft or the number written on the club.  

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Upvote 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

 

2 hours ago, ncates00 said:

Just play the clubs that go the carry distances you want, appropriately gapped through the bag, regardless of the loft or the number written on the club.  

I carry a 4-iron and a 4/5-hybrid (set 23.5 degrees). The lofts are just about the same (24 vs 23.5 degrees), but the hybrid goes about 10-15 yards further, so for me the hybrid fills the gap between my 5W and 4-iron. I use it for shots 200-220 yards. If it were a different number hybrid, that covered this same gap, that is what I would use.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
2 hours ago, ncates00 said:

Just play the clubs that go the carry distances you want, appropriately gapped through the bag, regardless of the loft or the number written on the club.  

This. I carry a 3H then 4-PW. The gaps are all around 10 yards.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, ncates00 said:

Just play the clubs that go the carry distances you want, appropriately gapped through the bag, regardless of the loft or the number written on the club.  

This is basically what I have. I’ve got 5W, then 4H/5H, then 6-GW. My 6-iron goes 165-170, then my 5H goes 180, the 4H 190-195, then the 5W anywhere from 200-210. So if I’m 180 out in the fairway, I know that a well-struck 5 will get me there comfortably.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • iacas changed the title to Same Numbered Hybrid as Iron?

Your question of reaching impracticality is actually backwards imo; it's impractical if you have a 30y gap, that's what this aims to fix.  This is a good rule of thumb from a former PGA Teacher of the Year that helps you to actually be able to start somewhere with filling your gaps instead of the utterly useless "just use clubs that carry how far you want."  No kidding.  This is how you can go about trying to achieve that.  Not guaranteed, but works for most, and certainly a practical starting point. 

Many hybrids are labeled with numbers instead of or in addition to lofts; a few that come to mind are Epic Flash, Rogue, Apex, Big Bertha, G410, G400, G, M6, M4...  well you get the point.   

Link to post
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, albatrosser said:

instead of the utterly useless "just use clubs that carry how far you want."  No kidding.  This is how you can go about trying to achieve that.  Not guaranteed, but works for most, and certainly a practical starting point. 

It is not a practical starting point because hybrids, irons, and woods are all very different. As I’ve already stated, get on a simulator and gap test. It doesn’t matter what the loft is or the number on the club. The point is to play what fits the gaps you need. That’s what happens at a proper fitting session. Read my previous post. You’re missing the point here. When buying clubs, a person doesn’t need a “starting point.” They’re often expensive, so buyers need to make educated purchases that fit their bags. Again, reread what I said previously.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

You're points ncates are true of course.  We all know hybrids irons and woods are different, that fittings are useful, that gaps must be filled, that performance is more important than printed numbers.  The OP wasn't asking about any of that, and the video in question didn't dispute any of that.  Sometimes advise can go beyond truisms, can be supplemental.  

Link to post
Share on other sites

On 12/2/2019 at 9:07 AM, David in FL said:

Given that most hybrids aren’t “numbered”, but rather, are identified by loft, I’d say that this simply reinforces my belief that Michael Breed was born an idiot, and has been losing ground ever since.   ;-)

Mine are numbered.

Link to post
Share on other sites

On 12/2/2019 at 1:49 AM, onthehunt526 said:

My question is: Should what Michael is saying be heeded by most golfers, or is it more meant for middle to high handicaps?

This would be more for mid to high HDCP golfers, and players who struggle with ball height. Some players do better with long irons or driving irons, especially if they have high clubhead speed.

Final test: do hybrid and iron side-by-side and see which works best.

Also, Michael is talking about traditional hybrids, not iron replacement hybrids (matched to an iron set). Revisit our 2016 thread for details:

 

Edited by WUTiger
Rephrase Para. 1 for clarity
  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'd say the gapping depends upon your iron set and how far you hit your irons. Let's say you hit your 7 iron 155 yds. Let's say you hit your 6i 170 yds. Let's say you hit a 5i 180 yds. but you hit a 5H 185 yds. You might want to consider swapping that 5i for a 5H. Then you have 4H that you hit say 200 yds. From there you have to think about "do I get a 3H or do I switch to a FW?" Maybe you decide to go with a 5W and a 3W from there.

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Day 153.  Before grocery shopping, I stopped at a putting green and worked for half an hour on 3' and 30' putts.  The end of the 3' practice included taking 17 shots to finish all 12 for my clock drill (not great, but not as bad as a month ago) and the 30' finished with my final six putts from 30' (due to this green, they weren't significantly different on the clockface, so I'm still getting a similar read, but I know better than to assume it.  And of course, I had to hit them the right speed) with a total of 11 strokes (five 2-putts and I also sank one). After lunch and before gym, I did the quarantine days 9 (again, with feedback from yesterday) + 10 (which took a while to get right... I'm not even sure I got it right, video to show up later today). Addendum:  I haven't figured out my trigger for the day 10 practice plan.  That's going to take me a bit more thought
    • MD: 89 (Black/Orange combo tees): 89. Up and down sandy on 17th was nice. One of my better sand shots of the week.  SV: 98 (Black tees).. Tough day. Bit too much of a course for me from black tees. Drive on 18 uphill was a bright spot that stood out though.  SV: 89 (Orange tees).. phew.. much better. 2nd shot on 16 uphill from 198 out over bunker with a borrowed 3 iron (thanks @DeadMan.. :-)) that dropped and stopped within a two feet for a kick-in might be the shot of the week for me.  LL: 92, 92 back-to-back on the same day. Tried my darndest hard to break 90 but couldn't twice. Best shot 8 iron on 7th par 3 from 155 for a bird.  Lac La Bell: 107. Forgettable day score-wise except for holes 15-16 where I finally hit couple of good drives.  
    • Pretty amazing for a $500 box. Close enough for me.  
    • I played roller coaster golf. This is going to be a lengthy recap. I’m not expecting people to read through the whole thing; it’s more for my own entertainment purposes to go back over some of these holes. Day 1 (Sandbox and Mammoth Dunes) I made par on #16 at SB by hitting a PW as hard as I could to the front of the green and then putting from there to 8’ from the back hole location. The hole was 170 from the tee and the longest club I had was PW. It sounds a lot easier in writing than it was. I didn’t play that well at MD. Probably hit a few good drives, but I don’t remember doing anything remarkable. Day 2 (SB and Sand Valley) Made birdie on #7 at SB. Teed off with putter, hit it to 3’. Hit an 8i on #16 at SB to 8’. It’s a Redan and I hit a fade. @DaveP043 showed us how it’s supposed to be played by hitting a draw to the front of the green and letting the ball roll up to the hole about 6’ away. Didn’t play well at SV on the first round, but I hit some good drives and made a few pars, including on #18 where I hit driver-3w into the sand area to the right of the green, hit a 30 yard blind sand shot just off the green and made par from there. Day 3 (SB and SV) Birdied #7 again at SB. Again teed off with putter but not great, holed a 20’ putt for birdie. Quit golf on the 3rd hole at SV, so naturally, I birdied #4. Hit a good drive and 2h just left of the green, had a ridiculous putt from the top of a hill that hit a sprinkler head and trickled to tap in distance. Hit 4i-2h on #6, GIR and 4-putted. Dave measured my first putt - I was 40 yards from the hole. Hit a perfect drive over the sand pyramid on #7 (I was on top of it the day before), followed by an easy 2h I wanted to run up to the green, which I pulled slightly but it bounced off a hill and rolled onto the green anyway. Had a 30’ putt for eagle, 3-putted for par. Birdied #12. Like @saevel25, I also went driver-7i and put it on the green. Made par on #14 which I described in the Best Shot of the Week thread. That 6i was probably in the top 5 most pure shots I have ever hit. It started on the line I wanted, turned exactly how I pictured it, and flew exactly the right distance. Missed the 6’ putt for birdie which I really wanted to make with the other group watching on the tee. I hit a good drive on #18 and tried to hit a 2h into the fairway short of the green. Ended up flaring it way right into the Sahara. Matt later asked if I hit a good shot because it looked like I was posing, and I told him I was so gassed I just didn’t want to move after the shot 😂 Day 4 (Lawsonia Links x 2) Got my best score of the trip here with an 87 in our first round. I hit some good shots, but nothing really spectacular. Just made fewer mistakes overall. Made birdie on #9 after hitting my drive into the fescue. Hit a 7i back into the fairway and a low spinner to 3’, which was still outside Dave’s blind third shot from the fairway bunker which he put to 2’. Day 5 (Lac La Belle) Made a really good decision to grab breakfast at Fresh Baked Cafe in Oconomowoc. The beers were cold at the end of the round. I seriously played like crap.
    • Probably not possible. Calling someone on a rules violation is going to disrupt "serenity" within the group but sometimes that is the cost you have to pay for doing the right thing.  I'm sure I've looked the other way on minor rules infractions that had no material impact on the outcome because the cost wasn't worth the benefit. I can't think of any offhand, but to borrow an example from your first post, if someone rotated their ball on the green without marking it, I would probably be more likely to pull them aside on the next hole and tell them they need to mark it next time vs. call a penalty on them.  But like with many things in life - you can't have your cake and eat it to. If you decide that something needs to be called out for a penalty, you have to accept the likely possibility of temporary discord in the group. Don't be a jerk about it - be polite, but direct - and you give yourself the best chance of a positive outcome.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. andreanewman
      andreanewman
      (29 years old)
    2. Erg
      Erg
      (54 years old)
    3. Hacker James
      Hacker James
      (79 years old)
    4. irishmike27
      irishmike27
      (42 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...