Jump to content
iacas

Embedded Ball Holed?

50 posts / 6670 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

47 minutes ago, iacas said:

Given five seconds of thought, more than highly unlikely: almost impossible, given that there's going to be a plastic or metal cup liner in there, preventing any part of the ball from being "inside" the circumference of the hole. No?

First, to confirm, I was only referring to Bonvivant's dashing red ball, the original picture issue is very clear cut as previously discussed.

And as I posted, and you clearly agree, the likelihood is about as remote as remote can be. But on your hole liner point - which I agree plays a role in that very low likelihood - I simply note it doesn't prevent the possibility because: 1)  there is no requirement under the rules for a hole to have a liner and 2) if used, the requirement is that it be sunk at least one inch below the level of the green.

So even just for hypothetical discussion, I think Bonvivant's picture poses interesting rules issues. And questions that the Rules do not or cannot unambiguously answer in their current form are very few and far between.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It looks like it’s touching the flagstick. But doesn’t look like it hit the bottom of the hole. This is from the golf subreddit.

3AB4E543-03BB-4464-AF14-42A650B28B30.jpeg

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

That’s a tough one to decide. If I was in this situation during a round (and I know you can’t do this because it’s a pic), I would’ve centered the flagstick if it wasn’t already. If it dropped, it’s considered holed. If not, then I’d play it from there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, nevets88 said:

It looks like it’s touching the flagstick. But doesn’t look like it hit the bottom of the hole. This is from the golf subreddit.

3AB4E543-03BB-4464-AF14-42A650B28B30.jpeg

 

It's not the bottom of the hole that's relevant. If it is not touching the flagstick, is the ball at rest and the entire ball below the surface of the green?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, dagolfer18 said:

That’s a tough one to decide. If I was in this situation during a round (and I know you can’t do this because it’s a pic), I would’ve centered the flagstick if it wasn’t already. If it dropped, it’s considered holed. If not, then I’d play it from there.

Just for information, this rule changed slightly in 2019, and @Rulesman has given you the current information.  You might want to double-check the definition of "holed" in the current rules, which also refer you to Rule 13.2c for situations where the ball is touching the flagstick.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=3&subrulenum=3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

From the article linked in the first post, again:

Quote

“When dealing with a ball embedded in the side of the hole, we are only concerned with the entire ball being below the surface of the green, even is part of the ball is outside the circumference of the hole,” he wrote in an email. “If the entire ball is below the surface, the ball is holed. If the entire ball is not below the surface, the ball is not holed.”

He added that the “Definition of Holed” section of the rulebook takes precedence. Rule 13.2c, he said, exists for those times the ball is leaning against the flagstick but hasn’t fallen to the bottom of the cup — but isn’t embedded.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades


Hi all,,new to these forums,,

So heres my first post,,,guys at club asking if this is holed or not,,(hope you can see picture).

I suggested rule13.2c...

But we're still discussing said shot.

Cheers

IMG-20200607-WA0002.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

45 minutes ago, scobo said:

Hi all,,new to these forums,,

So heres my first post,,,guys at club asking if this is holed or not,,(hope you can see picture).

I suggested rule13.2c...

But we're still discussing said shot.

Cheers

IMG-20200607-WA0002.jpg

I moved your post to this thread where we have already discussed the shot in question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 hours ago, scobo said:

Thanks,,and I can see it caused a lot of discussion too,,,,

The previous discussion covered multiple side issues. The original article also had a nice 4 part summary which is all you need.

1. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

2. Embedded, leaning against the flagstick, not fully submerged: NO ACE

3. Embedded, not leaning against the flagstick, fully submerged: YES ACE

4. Not embedded, leaning against the flagstick, fully or partially submerged: YES ACE

Another quirky photo popped up here: 

Of course, two dimensional photos may not give you everything you need to fit the picture into the four categories above. In this case, while the consensus of commentators is ball is not holed, per the interpretation Holed/1 (category 1 or 2 above), I note that depends on whether that ball is actually embedded in ground outside the line of the cup itself. If it merely damaged the ground on the way to being inside the hole cup then it may not remain embedded in the side of the hole. If that is the case, then the ball would be holed if it is touching the flagstick (category 4 above).

I suggest it is a much clearer/easier call if you are on the spot, rather than viewing a photo.

 

Edited by fredf

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Can't find the ruling right now, but I recall a ruling about a large leaf being over a hole and a ball coming to rest on the leaf that is over the hole. If I recall the ruling stated to mark the ball, move the leaf and replace the ball in the hole and consider it holed. 

I know that this is its own case, but certainly on the spectrum of this discussion. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 hours ago, 2bgood-II said:

Can't find the ruling right now, but I recall a ruling about a large leaf being over a hole and a ball coming to rest on the leaf that is over the hole. If I recall the ruling stated to mark the ball, move the leaf and replace the ball in the hole and consider it holed. 

I know that this is its own case, but certainly on the spectrum of this discussion. 

Yes, different situation, and the ruling has changed post Jan 2019. The question was raised again recently - ball overhanging hole but held up from dropping by a stick/leaf or whatever - and has been answered by the R&A and the USGA. This from the USGA facebook page:

United States Golf Association - USGA Michele - when a ball is resting on or against an object overhanging the hole (such as a ball coming to rest against a twig across the hole), the ball is NOT holed unless the Definition of Holed is otherwise met, such as when the ball is also resting against the flagstick with part of the ball below the lip of the hole. Please note, the USGA and R&A jointly write and interpret a single set of Rules that apply to all golfers worldwide and therefore, our answers are the same. Prior to 2019, the answer to this question was addressed with a very specific equity position (that no longer exists). As mentioned above, you may be interested to hear Grant Moir of the R&A discuss this question in this video: 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the original picture, if that was in my foursome, that player would be buying drinks. Yes, I am easily swayed. 🤣

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

22 hours ago, 2bgood-II said:

Can't find the ruling right now, but I recall a ruling about a large leaf being over a hole and a ball coming to rest on the leaf that is over the hole. If I recall the ruling stated to mark the ball, move the leaf and replace the ball in the hole and consider it holed. 

I know that this is its own case, but certainly on the spectrum of this discussion. 

That originates with a situation at my club some years ago when I asked for a ruling from the R&A. At the time the answer was as you post above.

I asked the same question a few weeks ago in the light of the rule changes and was told the ruling has now changed.

"No the answer would be different under today’s Rules.  The old answer used equity which is no longer part of the Rules.

 Just like the ruling with the twig, the same would apply for the leaf.

 Grant actually covered this question in a recent Q&A that he did.  You can see the Q&A here:

 


A special interactive edition of ‘Rules from the Garden: #AskGrant’ will be showcased by The R&A on Friday afternoon.

 The question is at about 12:40 on the above video."

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • I know enough to be dangerously wrong, but also wise enough to know when great advice is given, such as @iacas has given above.  When I am in my practice zone, which is my backyard, I am focusing on one area of my swing - is it impact, is it backswing, is the downswing - what do I want to accomplish/see today.  Great thing is some days I see the mountains move, other days I can't hit my way clear out of a very wet paper sack, but I press  on. Often when doing work at the desk, I am turning my body - working through the torso motions.  My stretches in the say are to replicate what happens in a swing.  Flipping my wrists - I can show you video from about 2 yrs ago and some more recent.  I have gotten better at ball striking, not flipping wrists, but using the the KISS principle - Keep It Simple Son. One part at a time - Erik gave a great reference many moons ago when he spoke of how a classically trained violinist learns a piece (you can insert any instrument here).  At first is seems like disconnected, dissonant notes, yet as they accomplish a piece, they move forward little by little. Then at the end of the day, when it is time to play the notes are fluid and flawless.  This process is about learning it note by note - the YouTube guru's all have a fast cure - the only good one is hard work on A SINGULAR KEY POINT till it is automatic.  Muscle memory is a fantastic thing - it makes things automatic.  Please pardon the ramblings of an old man who had a good day on the course!
    • Golf: $600-900 depending on what courses we decide to play.   Stay is free, no cost for any of the nights at the lake house.   Everything else is kind of unknown at this time.  Am I missing anything? I'd provide a good portion of the food and drinks for the meals at the lake, but we may want to go out a couple nights for dinner, and I am no cook. We do have a grill and a full Kitchen at the Lake that we could use.   Btw, I'd recommend anyone who would be flying in to go through Minneapolis. It's only about 2 hours to the lake vs 3 from Milwaukee.    
    • Day 70 spent an hour on the range chipping/putting and getting some video of my full swing. I’ll get it up either tonight or tomorrow. 
    • Played a nearby muni course today.  Last time there - holes 15-17 were underwater (drainage issues) so we were not able to do a full round.  Today the course was back to normal and funny thing, fairways were dry and the ball loved to roll out!  The fronts of the greens were mush, plug the ball sticky.  Made for approach shots at the front of the green tricky because too steep a landing and you were rolling no where.  For a guy who just starting to consistently shoot in the 90's it made attacking the greens more challenging.  Keep thinking about how in LSW, to aim for the big area of the green and not hunt flags.  To be honest, I had a blast with the 50* wedge as I was putting the ball exactly where I saw it landing.  Overall - cannot complain shot a 96 (48/48), gold tees (translates to around 6100yds).  Only one triple, NO SNOW MEN!, but way too many doubles to overcome.  All in all drives were some of my best ever, with them either being on fairway or just off enough the S20 saw them as in the rough.  That's okay.  Not a bad day putting, still had some 3 putts but it was me not the putter or the greens which were reasonably fast.  Would love to play this one again soon, its just over an hour away so not too bad a drive.  Thinking about taking the missus there as she is saying she is ready to go play a round.   
    • Estimated total cost not including travel and food? Can be a wide range
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Aldo Aitken
      Aldo Aitken
      (30 years old)
    2. Also Aitken
      Also Aitken
      (30 years old)
    3. CJK
      CJK
      (62 years old)
    4. Coffin-dodger
      Coffin-dodger
      (70 years old)
    5. Greg55
      Greg55
      (65 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...