Jump to content
iacas

Embedded Ball Holed?

37 posts / 1580 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

What do you think?

More here:

HoleInOneControversy.jpg

This mind-bending photo had everybody asking: Is a ball embedded in the side of the cup a hole in one? We tracked down the answer.

(I think there's likely some of the ball above the lip, thus, the ball is not holed.)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Register for free today and you won't see this ad spot again!

When will people learn to take photos from the proper angles to determine if the ball is completely below the putting surface?

I can’t tell from the picture, so absent additional evidence I can’t say that it’s holed.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, dennyjones said:

It looks as if it is resting against the flag stick.    If they pulled the stick and it fell into the hole, ace, no? 

Not if the ball is embedded in the side of the hole. Then the rule for embedded ball applies.

Plus, the whole pulling the stick and the ball drops thing is the old rule. Now if the ball is resting against the stick and not embedded, it is considered holed as long as any part of the ball is below the putting surface.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Here is my question with this. If you consider it not holed, how do you continue the hole? If you mark this ball, pull it out to clean it, and then replace it, it will definitely fall in the hole. Horizontally, more than half of the ball is "over" or "in" the cup. I say its a hole in one.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, dennyjones said:

It looks as if it is resting against the flag stick.    If they pulled the stick and it fell into the hole, ace, no? 

Old rule.

29 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Here is my question with this. If you consider it not holed, how do you continue the hole? If you mark this ball, pull it out to clean it, and then replace it, it will definitely fall in the hole. Horizontally, more than half of the ball is "over" or "in" the cup. I say its a hole in one.

You repair and replace it on the lip, and have to tap it in.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, iacas said:

You repair and replace it on the lip, and have to tap it in.

Interesting. I thought that you had to replace the ball where it was. I guess if you are too close, you have to move it? Pity for that guy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, Bonvivant said:

Interesting. I thought that you had to replace the ball where it was. I guess if you are too close, you have to move it? Pity for that guy.

You do replace it. And, as it's deemed "not holed," you can't replace it so that it falls in. That would not be replacing it.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

🤦‍♂️...This again? Last time this turned into someone getting banned I think.

Just now, iacas said:

You do replace it. And, as it's deemed "not holed," you can't replace it so that it falls in. That would not be replacing it.

BTW... Where have you been on my SS thread? I figured you would know from your students if it were possible...:offtopic:...🤷‍♂️

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, iacas said:

You do replace it. And, as it's deemed "not holed," you can't replace it so that it falls in. That would not be replacing it.

You do not "replace" it, if it isn't in the same spot.

 

3 minutes ago, TRUCKER said:

🤦‍♂️...This again? Last time this turned into someone getting banned I think.

🔨

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

36 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

You do not "replace" it, if it isn't in the same spot.

You’ll have to take that up with the USGA.

Quote

But if the ball is embedded on the putting green, the player may mark the spot of the ball and lift and clean the ball, repair the damage caused by the ball’s impact, and replace the ball on its original spot (see Rule 13.1c(2)).

The ball is replaced on its original spot after repairing the damage, as if the damage didn’t exist to begin with.

You mark the ball, pull it out, fix the damage to the green, replace the ball, then tap in to hole out.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Just now, billchao said:

You’ll have to take that up with the USGA.

The ball is replaced on its original spot after repairing the damage, as if the damage didn’t exist to begin with.

You mark the ball, pull it out, fix the damage to the green, replace the ball, then tap in to hole out.

That rules quote says "in its original spot". If we are talking about a 2 direction axis, that puts the ball over the hole in this case. You would have to move the ball from its original spot to keep it out of the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

From Definitions: Holed - When a ball is at rest in the hole after a stroke and the entire ball is below the surface of the putting green.

When the Rules refer to “holing out ” or “hole out,” it means when the player’s ball is holed.

For the special case of a ball resting against the flagstick in the hole, see Rule 13.2c (ball is treated as holed if any part of the ball is below the surface of the putting green).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

That rules quote says "in its original spot". If we are talking about a 2 direction axis, that puts the ball over the hole in this case. You would have to move the ball from its original spot to keep it out of the hole.

You can’t put a ball in the hole if it’s not holed. I don’t know why you’re trying to argue the semantics of it. Whether a ball is holed or not when it is embedded in the side of the hole is clearly defined.

Quote

Holed/1 – All of the Ball Must Be Below the Surface to Be Holed When Embedded in Side of Hole

When a ball is embedded in the side of the hole, and all of the ball is not below the surface of the putting green, the ball is not holed. This is the case even if the ball touches the flagstick.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, Dutch Boy said:

IMO If the ball is embedded rule 16.3b applies and relief may be taken  by dropping a ball in the relief area right behind where the ball was embedded.

 

R16.3b is for a ball embedded in the general area.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • 2020 TST Partners

    PING Golf
    FlightScope Mevo
  • Posts

    • I voted "yes" with the understanding that no organization is perfect.  Sure, courses need to be set up to allow for maximum roll out in the fairway and some speedy greens to make it entertaining to the casual golf watcher.  The PGA Tour is in business for itself but their tournaments do raise good amounts of money for charities.  I watch some of most PGA Tour tournaments and do enjoy them and agree that they do help the business of golf. Although they are often involved in controversy I do look to the USGA to maintain the integrity of the game and sponsor the US Open championships.
    • https://sandvalley.com Thanks!!
    • Maybe.  Or roll your PW back a little and play fewer wedges. To your latter question, it depends on whether you want an extra club somewhere else.  For instance, if you can hit little controlled shots with your PW, then you could get an extra club club at the top end of your bag, like a driving iron or hybrid or fairway wood.  At your speed, having an extra "big" club like a driving iron/hybrid or something might be good for you.  It really depends on what kind of shots you're more likely to face and whether you'll use the clubs.   Some guys don't even carry but 3 wedges: 48, 54, 60, for example.  That 6 degrees of separation helps cover a wide variety of wedge distances while freeing up room at the top for other things.  
    • If the cieling is high enough, indoor swing practice is viable. Full swings, pitching, chipping, and putting can all be done indoors. Just make sure the cieling is high enough.  Put up a net to hit balls into. If no net, then fake golf balls work well. A guy I know up in Utah, hits balls into an old mattress, set up against a wall. For outdoor exercise, walking a mile or two every day can keep a person in decent shape. I walk about 5 miles a week. This in addition to my 2-4 rounds of golf each week. Just about any type of daily exercise is a good thing, regardless of the weather. Maybe find an old "Kallassy Swing Magic" club to swing on a daily basis.. Can't find one, make your own. , 
    • I documented and discussed my torn bicep ( see below). The recover has been slow, but good. However in the process I have acquired a nasty case of tennis elbow in the opposite arm. After 5 months of rehab, I have begun swinging, slowly and lightly. Luckily when my league starts I only have to play 9 holes. Anything more and my Dr has told me my arm will be tired and show weakness, from what it used to be. One of my greatest fears moving forward is re-injuring the arm. This fear is based on a few factors. it is cold when I first start playing (usually 40s-50s), therefore I will be tight My home course does not have a range, so any loosening is done just swinging clubs. Because of work, I am not always able to get to the course with ample time to stretch and warm up. I notoriously over swing, with all the brute strength I can muster.  So I was wondering if anyone has used compression sleeve to hold their bicep and forearm? I have used them when I tweaked my thigh and it seemed to work.. However the thigh does not need to be as flexible in the golf shot as my left arm. Does anyone wear a full or partial compression sleeve? if so any recommendation on a brand and was it difficult to adapt? Did you find it beneficial? Any thoughts or advice are appreciated.  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Dray574
      Dray574
      (45 years old)
    2. henry granic
      henry granic
      (64 years old)
    3. Jscrillah
      Jscrillah
      (48 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...