Jump to content
cutchemist42

Is There a Golf Equivalent of the Houston Astros Scandal?

56 posts / 1998 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

Anything come close to this scandal in golf lore? I've seen this asked on other sport forums and it led to some interesting stories and takes so thought I'd ask here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

If you mean deliberately cheating and getting away with it with little to no penalty? Sure, it just happened to Patrick Reed at the Hero World Challenge and has happened to others in the past.

Has someone deliberately cheated and gone on to win a major championship? I'm not sure. My knowledge of golf history is quite limited compared to others on here.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

17 minutes ago, klineka said:

If you mean deliberately cheating and getting away with it with little to no penalty? Sure, it just happened to Patrick Reed at the Hero World Challenge and has happened to others in the past.

Has someone deliberately cheated and gone on to win a major championship? I'm not sure. My knowledge of golf history is quite limited compared to others on here.

Yeah the Patrick Reed is one thing. I was kinda thinking any of the Majors or 2nd tier tournies.

I almost think it might be hard to fully cheat your way to a tourney of that level but I dont know the full history of golf to say so.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

22 minutes ago, klineka said:

Has someone deliberately cheated and gone on to win a major championship? I'm not sure. My knowledge of golf history is quite limited compared to others on here.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, klineka said:

If you mean deliberately cheating and getting away with it with little to no penalty? Sure, it just happened to Patrick Reed at the Hero World Challenge and has happened to others in the past.

He was penalized two strokes. Even if he had done it intentionally… it's two strokes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Nothing compares with the magnitude of cheating over an entire season, including the playoffs, resulting in winning the World Series.

I could envision someone incorporating electronics that go undetected.  Not exactly the Rodney Dangerfield putter, but some unfair advantage.

However, if someone was able to cheat throughout the season, end up number one and win the Tour Championship/Fedex Cup there would be more than a slap on the wrist.

John

Edited by 70sSanO

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

No, not even close.  There have undoubtedly been instances of individual golfers infringing, But the kind of systematic, organizational conspiracy to cheat that occurred with the Astros?  Nothing remotely comparable.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Patiently waiting for a male pro to transition and go on the lpga.

that will be big

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, chilepepper said:

Patiently waiting for a male pro to transition and go on the lpga.

that will be big

That should be a poll, Who could make the transition? I'd vote for Ian Poulter just because he's Ian Poulter. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The closest we seem to have is Billy Mayfair who has the worst reputation (maybe Reed has it now) for consistent cheating.

Reed has had a better career, IMO.   But those 1-2 shots here and there that you save by cheating can be the difference in how you place and that can translate to serious money.   

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

And then there's the other side of the coin. Roberto Devincenzo signed for an incorrect score, kept by a playing opponent, and lost the Masters because of it. He would have been in a playoff if that score had been accepted, or won the Masters outright if the score had been kept correctly. I think! It was a long time ago! 

And I don't know if this qualifies as cheating, but Nicklaus and Palmer were in a playoff for the 1962 US Open at Oakmont. In that day you had to come back on Monday and play 18 to decide things. I read an article that said, in the locker room before the match, Palmer asked Nicklaus if he wanted to "split it". Meaning  split the pot. Apparently, this was a common occurrence back then and, who knows, maybe today.

If I recall correctly, the purse was $10,000 to the winner, $5,000 for second place. So, they could go out, play a stress free round of golf, and both head home with $7,500 in their pocket! Big money in '62!

Reportedly, Nicklaus thought about it for a few seconds and said, "No, I'd rather play it straight," , and Palmer replied, "That's what I thought you'd say".  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

And I don't know if this qualifies as cheating, but Nicklaus and Palmer were in a playoff for the 1962 US Open at Oakmont. In that day you had to come back on Monday and play 18 to decide things. I read an article that said, in the locker room before the match, Palmer asked Nicklaus if he wanted to "split it". Meaning  split the pot. Apparently, this was a common occurrence back then and, who knows, maybe today.

If I recall correctly, the purse was $10,000 to the winner, $5,000 for second place. So, they could go out, play a stress free round of golf, and both head home with $7,500 in their pocket! Big money in '62!

Reportedly, Nicklaus thought about it for a few seconds and said, "No, I'd rather play it straight," , and Palmer replied, "That's what I thought you'd say".

Cool story, but what’s it have to do with cheating?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

21 minutes ago, Buckeyebowman said:

And then there's the other side of the coin. Roberto Devincenzo signed for an incorrect score, kept by a playing opponent, and lost the Masters because of it. He would have been in a playoff if that score had been accepted, or won the Masters outright if the score had been kept correctly. I think! It was a long time ago! 

The score was accepted. He signed for a 4 instead of a 3.

And yeah, what’s the point of your post?

BTW Palmer was upset he didn’t agree.

B450D968-31F8-45F8-A073-16BABF276DD2.jpeg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, billchao said:

Cool story, but what’s it have to do with cheating?

Probably zero, even if we include the ending.  Palmer picked up Nicklaus's marker on 18, trying to concede.  He was stopped by a USGA rules official who reminded him that in medal play, you cannot concede a putt.  He put it back, Nicklaus made the 2' for 71 (to Palmer's 74).

But there was no intent, and (at least to me) to use the word cheating there has to be intent.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

23 hours ago, iacas said:

The score was accepted. He signed for a 4 instead of a 3.

And yeah, what’s the point of your post?

BTW Palmer was upset he didn’t agree.

B450D968-31F8-45F8-A073-16BABF276DD2.jpeg

OK, you read a different article than I did. 

23 hours ago, billchao said:

Cool story, but what’s it have to do with cheating?

That's why I included in my reply "And I don't know if this qualifies as cheating"! Reading comprehension is a wonderful thing. But, don't feel too bad about it. I've made mistakes myself. The point being that both players could have a stress free round of golf knowing they were both going home with a predetermined amount of money! 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • A 56 degree wedge is normally considered a sand wedge. Lob wedges are typically 58+ degrees. 56 degree wedges are quite a bit easier to hit than the typical 60 degree lob wedge. When I mentioned a "gap wedge", they are typically 50-54 degrees depending on the full wedge set up of a player. For example, I carry a 47 degree PW from my set, and then 52 (GW), 56 (SW), 60 (LW) from Titleist/Vokey (brand isn't that important though).
    • By Associated Press, Wire Service Content May 23, 2020, at 3:22 PM Western Montana Virus Outbreak Tied to Luxury Golf Club An outbreak of COVID-19 in western Montana is tied to an exclusive golf and country club developed by financial executive Charles Schwab. - - - - - -KATU News requested and received records from Portland's Parks & Recreation Department and discovered that from March 1 through April 6, 2019, there were 23,089 rounds of golf played at its five municipal courses. During that same time period this year, from March 1 through April 6, 2020, Portland Parks Golf saw an increase of 15% in golf rounds - 26,554 rounds of golf were played as the coronavirus outbreak spread in the Pacific Northwest. Portland golfers play through coronavirus pandemic at city courses Golfers are still swinging away at Portland's five city-owned and operated courses during the coronavirus pandemic, with more rounds being played compared to this time period last year, even as orders from the governor...
    • Torrey allows them and play seemed to speed up during a period when riding carts were not allowed. Torrey South in particular with elevated greens and a lot of green side bunkers, I can see the 2 - 3 foot area off and around the edge of the greens getting extra wear from all the push/pull cart trafic.  With a push cart and the course setup all the walkers with push carts are funneled into these small pathways as they keep the carts off the green and avoid slowing play down by making trips back to their carts if they leave them back at the fairway.  It's pretty much okay as the Kikuyu grass is so tough, otherwise it would be a problem. They should just allow and encourage players to just walk the carts right onto the green.
    • And how about a massive mower that is on the green everyday.    I don’t drive my push cart over the green, but I do drive it over tee boxes if they are in my way. The only reason is that a lot of them are battery driven and they might spin out on the green doing some damage that way if the user is not careful.  Yes they still have them and charge some for them. But they are crap and most of the people have their own and many are battery driven. 
    • Hello to everyone, new poster here.  Wanted to share my thoughts about this method...maybe not just this method, but the overall effect of an open stance on early extension. I'm 57, 5 hncp, rather thick chested and inflexible, and have struggled with early extension and flipping for many years.  Really, I'm a 10 hncp ballstriker and a 2 inside 25 yards. I have watched a few "senior" themed instruction videos to address EE, and they're almost all some theme of  - closed stance, get a deep shoulder turn, swing out to the right, and accept early extension.  None of this worked for me...my driver especially was wildly inconsistent. So, opening my stance and swinging out instantly improved my ballstriking through the bag.  Not really sure why, but I believe a closed stance facilitates EE - if I close up, it's not difficult to straighten my back, be on my toes, and stay balanced.  Moving the left foot back with the butt moving forward results in a totally unbalanced (falling forward) position which can't be maintained, so the body doesn't do it (EE). Yes, my backswing is shorter, but I'm making better strikes and haven't lost distance.   Does this make any sense?  
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. cowboydave1967
      cowboydave1967
      (53 years old)
    2. mey123
      mey123
      (33 years old)
    3. obothehobo
      obothehobo
      (24 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...