9 posts / 894 viewsLast Reply

I'm fairly new to vintage clubs.... kinda. My first set was a beat up blob of irons, mainly comprised of 4 Sam Snead Blue Ridge (I believe), with aluminum shafts and that now illegal grip with the flat spot built in for the left hand. Last year, I found a set of 1980 Hogan Directors and 3 Titleist Tour Model persimmons. All were in surprisingly terrific shape. A few months went by and I took them on the range very briefly for the last 5 balls of the bucket. Then a few months back, I used the 7 iron and the 5 wood a few times. Recently, I posted a video on YouTube, with what I THINK is the first modern day black and white video using vintage clubs. I had the most fun in years and the resulting score wasn't bad for me, a 40 for 9. The woods were fantastic, the irons weren't bad, and the sand wedge was awesome. Now, I think I will be playing vintage clubs far more than my moderns. The question is..... How in the hell do you go about knowing what will be the best for you, when you're not in a shop or on a range testing them, likely because you're buying from eBay? Hogan's are always forged and a safe bet. I don't prefer a very sharp leading edge and I usually measure for a stiff flex. I don't have unlimited amounts of money, and I don't want to have an entire garage full of old clubs, but I wouldn't mind hearing your TOP 3 of all time. Based on feel, feedback, performance, and maybe some consideration as to how rare they are. Not holy grail level, but something fairly uncommon. Thanks in advance!

I'm a big fan of the Blue Ridges. I still have the illegal helper grips but don't post to and hdcp calculator with them. They are dirt cheap, forged, and I think they look great. Far from rare but perfect for metal shaft persimmon era. My buddy is a big fan of the Macgregor stuff as we are from Dayton and the history is rich here. Glad another person is getting into the vintage game. Cheers!

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades