Jump to content
IGNORED

Daily Rules Question


Asheville
 Share

Note: This thread is 881 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

3 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Can you explain their reasoning without quoting directly?

The response was brief, affirming that a glove is an artificial object and with the additional qualification I identified earlier. It was also observed that such marking would not be best practice.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


30 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Speaking of ball marking, and many worked out that the answer to the first question is  - False. Thanks

-----------------

Q2 When must a ball be marked?
    A.    When playing "lift, clean and place".
    B.    When taking relief from a cart path.
    C.    When lifted because it interferes with another player’s line-of-play.
----------------

Spoiler

As a general rule, a ball must be marked when it is to be replaced in its original position.  In relief situations, where the ball is to be played from a new spot in a relief area, it can be advisable to mark a reference point, but its generally not required.

 

  • Like 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A and C but not B?

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

51 minutes ago, Asheville said:

 

-----------------

Q2 When must a ball be marked?
    A.    When playing "lift, clean and place".
    B.    When taking relief from a cart path.
    C.    When lifted because it interferes with another player’s line-of-play.
----------------

C

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Asheville said:

-----------------

Q2 When must a ball be marked?
    A.    When playing "lift, clean and place".
    B.    When taking relief from a cart path.
    C.    When lifted because it interferes with another player’s line-of-play.
----------------

C.

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Asheville said:

Speaking of ball marking, and many worked out that the answer to the first question is  - False. Thanks

-----------------

Q2 When must a ball be marked?
    A.    When playing "lift, clean and place".
    B.    When taking relief from a cart path.
    C.    When lifted because it interferes with another player’s line-of-play.
----------------

Definitely C. Although I definitely see how somebody may think A.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Moderator
1 hour ago, Asheville said:

Speaking of ball marking, and many worked out that the answer to the first question is  - False. Thanks

-----------------

Q2 When must a ball be marked?
    A.    When playing "lift, clean and place".
    B.    When taking relief from a cart path.
    C.    When lifted because it interferes with another player’s line-of-play.
----------------

Are these going to count against our final grade? :-)

C, but I may do it anyway on A because I'm getting older and may forget where I lifted it from.

Scott

Titleist, Edel, Scotty Cameron Putter, Snell - AimPoint - Evolvr - MirrorVision -MEVO+

My Swing Thread

boogielicious - Adjective describing the perfect surf wave

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

So what I an getting from these answers is that LCP is a relief scenario? Everything I read said it must be marked, with a marker or (toe of) a club. 

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

12 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

So what I an getting from these answers is that LCP is a relief scenario? Everything I read said it must be marked, with a marker or (toe of) a club. 

Where did you read it?  You can review the Model Local Rule in the Committee Procedures section of the Rules of Golf.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, DaveP043 said:

Where did you read it?  You can review the Model Local Rule in the Committee Procedures section of the Rules of Golf.

14.1

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Bonvivant said:

14.1

OK, in the case of Lift Clean and Place (which is not in the basic Rules of Golf, but rather a Local Rule), are you required to replace your ball on its original spot?  If you review the Model Local Rule, you see that the ball is to be placed within a specific Relief Area, and the Reference Point is the ball's original position.  Portions of 14.2 (Replacing the Ball) are referenced in the Local Rule.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

6 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Where did you read it?  You can review the Model Local Rule in the Committee Procedures section of the Rules of Golf.

The local rules that I have found also require the ball to be marked, but then placed within 1 club length but no closer to hole. The process of marking the ball remains there in these local rules. 

1 minute ago, DaveP043 said:

OK, in the case of Lift Clean and Place (which is not in the basic Rules of Golf, but rather a Local Rule), are you required to replace your ball on its original spot?  If you review the Model Local Rule, you see that the ball is to be placed within a specific Relief Area, and the Reference Point is the ball's original position.  Portions of 14.2 (Replacing the Ball) are referenced in the Local Rule.

I understand this, but that place MUST still be marked. 

  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 minute ago, Bonvivant said:

The local rules that I have found also require the ball to be marked, but then placed within 1 club length but no closer to hole. The process of marking the ball remains there in these local rules. 

Old news, Bon. The 2019 Rules have replaced "mark, lift, clean and place" with "lift, clean and place."

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Just now, Bonvivant said:

The local rules that I have found also require the ball to be marked, but then placed within 1 club length but no closer to hole. The process of marking the ball remains there in these local rules. 

Is this the Model Local Rule from the rules of golf?  I've looked at that one, and there's no mention of marking the ball.  Of course its possible that some competitions alter the Model Local Rule, but we can't base answers here on all of the potential alterations that might be applied.  You can refer to Committee Procedures 8E-3, and see what you find.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Old news, Bon. The 2019 Rules have replaced "mark, lift, clean and place" with "lift, clean and place."

Thanks!

 

3 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

Is this the Model Local Rule from the rules of golf?  I've looked at that one, and there's no mention of marking the ball.  Of course its possible that some competitions alter the Model Local Rule, but we can't base answers here on all of the potential alterations that might be applied.  You can refer to Committee Procedures 8E-3, and see what you find.

I was reading old local rules I believe. The one I found was from Oregon. 

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=http://oga.org/sites/default/files/Playing%20Golf%20Under%20the%20Rules%20In%20Unpleasant%20Course%20Conditions.pdf&ved=2ahUKEwiVlNvaiZXoAhUFX60KHfU6BTwQFjABegQIChAH&usg=AOvVaw1Q-XNVY65Qa4G0TqoOjH-1

Edited by Bonvivant
Link addition
  • :titleist: 917 D2 9.5o EvenFlow blue shaft    :titleist: 917 F2 15o EvenFlow blue shaft    
  • :titleist: 818 H2 19o EvenFlow blue shaft 
  • :titleist: 712 AP2 4-PW
  • :vokey: 52/8o SM6 RAW    56/14o SM6 Chrome      60/4o SM6 Chrome
  • :ping: Anser Sigma G putter
  • :snell: MTB-Black Balls
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Thanks!

I was reading old local rules I believe. The one I found was from Oregon. 

That makes sense, but its always best to look at the current rules.  You can download them to your smartphone pretty easily.  I also keep a link in my Favorites, its a lot easier for this old many to work with them on the computer screen than it is on the phone.

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
30 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

I was reading old local rules I believe. The one I found was from Oregon.

Bookmark this:

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=1

Then use that exclusively.

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 881 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • I'm not so sure that it has no standing just based on what other sports have been through and Golf has mostly avoided so far. How Long Will The PGA Handicap Its Golfers? Unlike the NBA, MLB and NFL, the PGA Tour considers golfers to be independent contractors, and they have to pay their own expenses, including extensive travel, caddy and coaching costs, entry fees, and even a $50...    
    • I wish this was the case for me. being just shy of 5'-9" I find that the driver swing is much different that say my PW. With the PW I am standing much closer to the ball and my swing plane is more vertical. My driver seems much more horizontal and I also work to hit up on it. Maybe I am too 1-plane? I know it might be a little off-topic.
    • Okay, I did this today. Perhaps I did it just a little differently than everyone else. I put 5 balls in a circle around the hole at 8 feet. (Sort of the "clock drill" everyone is familiar with but with only 5 balls and at 8 feet.) Then after I putted those, I did the exact same thing, but put the 5 galls in a circle around the hole at 12 feet. Here are my results: 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - made it = +4 points 8 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 8 foot - 3 putt = - 4 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - made it = +8 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points 12 foot - not past the hole - 2 putt = -1 points 12 foot - past the hole - 2 putt = +1 points Total = 13 points.  I look forward to trying this again to improve upon that 13 points.   
    • I doubt it was really intentional, but...    
    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...