Jump to content
Asheville

Daily Rules Question

59 posts / 2674 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

False, reason in Spoiler

Spoiler

14.1a requires the player to mark the position of the ball in one of two ways:

Use a ball-marker (a term defined in the Rules)

Hold a club on the ground right behind or next to the ball

Using a finger to mark the spot is not one of the permitted methods to mark the ball.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

51 minutes ago, DaveP043 said:

False, reason in Spoiler

  Reveal hidden contents

14.1a requires the player to mark the position of the ball in one of two ways:

Use a ball-marker (a term defined in the Rules)

Hold a club on the ground right behind or next to the ball

Using a finger to mark the spot is not one of the permitted methods to mark the ball.

 

Spoiler

So a golf glove could be used instead, since it's an artificial object?  The tip of a glove? With the finger inside?

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

A prosthetic finger could be used...so long as it was either pocketed, or reattached, before continuing play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For @Missouri Swede, in my opinion if its not being worn, it might qualify, but if it IS being worn, no.  I can't really back that up, its just my interpretation.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

The requirement is that it is an object made to be a ball-marker or another small piece of equipment.

IMO a glove satisfies neither.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

I'm going with False. Not with his or her own finger, … but maybe if you cut off somebody else's finger and that was your usual ball marker???? …. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Quote

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green...... (the OP question)

If the ball moves doesn't it get replaced w/o penalty under the new rules?   What if I accidentally kick my ball, don't I replace it to the original place and I couldn't be sure it's rotational orientation?  

I saw the spoilers from @DaveP043 and it makes sense. 

Not trying to troll and will end with the questions but curious.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

11 hours ago, Asheville said:

A player may rotate his or her ball on the putting green after marking the position of the ball with his or her finger.
    A.    True
    B.    False
 

The answer is false.

However, if that finger is in a gloved hand and the part of the glove used allows the player to accurately identify the spot the ball was lifted from to enable accurate replacement then the answer is true.

A ball marker must be an artificial object, per the definition.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

8 hours ago, fredf said:

The answer is false.

However, if that finger is in a gloved hand and the part of the glove used allows the player to accurately identify the spot the ball was lifted from to enable accurate replacement then the answer is true.

A ball marker must be an artificial object, per the definition.

I suggest you read the definition of a ball marker

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

10 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

I suggest you read the definition of a ball marker

I suggest you re-read my input.  It is the current official answer.  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, fredf said:

I suggest you re-read my input.  It is the current official answer.  

What is the authority for that 'official answer' and where is it published?

Edited by Rulesman

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

29 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

What is the authority for that 'official answer' and where is it published?

From an official body (one of the two) that provides rulings with the following statement at the bottom "This response is for your personal information and may not be posted or disclosed by email or internet posting."

I would prefer to see any ruling these bodies make published, except for obvious answers where someone failed to check the Official Guide carefully. I think publishing would support the cause of Rules education.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ball-Marker
An artificial object when used to mark the spot of a ball to be lifted, such as a tee, a coin, an object made to be a ball-marker or another small piece of equipment.

When a Rule refers to a ball-marker being moved, this means a ball-marker in place on the course to mark the spot of a ball that has been lifted and not yet replaced.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Speaking of ball marking, and many worked out that the answer to the first question is  - False. Thanks

-----------------

Q2 When must a ball be marked?
    A.    When playing "lift, clean and place".
    B.    When taking relief from a cart path.
    C.    When lifted because it interferes with another player’s line-of-play.
----------------

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, fredf said:

From an official body (one of the two) that provides rulings with the following statement at the bottom "This response is for your personal information and may not be posted or disclosed by email or internet posting."

I would prefer to see any ruling these bodies make published, except for obvious answers where someone failed to check the Official Guide carefully. I think publishing would support the cause of Rules education.

Can you explain their reasoning without quoting directly?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Affiliates

    SuperSpeed
    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo
  • Posts

    • How have you been? I was wondering what happened to you since I have not seen you around lately. Yes, my current club is only 5 mins away and Paako is exactly 30 mins door to door. It’s not too bad since the drive is easy. I was able to get the tee time I want all the way to July! No need to stress or scramble to get a time. It is alot more expensive to play there but they only have 50 members v. hundreds at other clubs. I am going to enjoy it as much as possible. I am still a member at my club for this month, so I will play there during the week and head over to Paako for the weekends. So far, we really like it there and I am eyeing a home in the community....we will see. I have only played 4 complete rounds since starting golf in May and I have been doing pretty well. I should be able to maintain my hcp eventhough Paako is alot tougher (72.9/141) v (69.5/129). I scored 78 twice already! Woohoo! I have not bought any new clubs since the m5 tour but am eyeing a SIM now. I cannot resist if it somehow gives me extra 10 yards!  I am sure you will reach your goals in no time once you golf more! I probably need to work on my putting too as I am giving strokes away too easily... Take care!
    • Hi Ace: I hope you are doing well. Sorry to hear you resigned from your current club.....I know it was so convenient for you as you could get there using your golf cart....I hope you didn't pay an initiation and losing the cost of that initiation. In my 52 years of playing golf....I've never heard of a course being run like a gong show...the GM and head pro seem so INCOMPETENT....and the culture doesn't seem great....a culture that doesn't seem friendly. Glad you joined Paako....the best course in NM...but the 1 hr return drive may eventually get to you....considering you like to play daily.....I assume this might be a short term fix until you and your husband decide what other/closer course you might want to join. It's shocking that metro Albuquerque with nearly 900,000 residents doesn't have more club choices to join. Take care. You still sporting your 5.5 cap?.....I assume you got back your 440 M3/M5?...you planning on buying any new clubs this year?....I don't have any plans for new equip...still deciding if a new/used Hungtintion Beach putter remains in the bag. My ball striking has improved in my last 4 rds...but still giving away 4-5 stupid strokes per rd...my cap is at 8.0....goal is to be around 6.8 - 7.5 by late July/Aug.
    • The lesson was bit "meh", could of been partly because I had really bad headache. It's been actually so bad that I've taken few days off course completely and had a visit to a doctor. Instructor basically told me three things: 1. My upper back and chest are extremely tight, have so called "facet lock" if that's the right term in English 2. I slide a lot towards target during my downswing, making it hard to hit driver 3. I should check the lie angles of my clubs, 1 degree or so upright could help. For number 2 he gave me a drill where you set yourself to impact position and start the backswing from there. I pointed out this could work as a trigger move for me, he agreed. Will work on this surely, but I feel now it's not the time. I asked him few times about my wrist condition at the top of backswing, but he didn't feel that's a problem which made be bit disappointed because I feel it clearly is after watching the day 4 drill. Taking the wrist action as my number one priority to fix, because I feel there's many things that arched position at the top is preventing me from doing. Been working on it bit inside and today got to hit some balls. In order to have a chance to get that cupped wrist position at the top, I felt like my backswing direction had to change, the plane looks completely different now. I checked the wrist position multiple times before swinging, but I couldn't hold it at the top. However now it's atleast flat instead of arched, but I guess this needs much more work: Imgur Post with 1 views. Left wrist looks better to my eye at impact, but could it be I'm rolling my wrists over more or something? Thanks in advance!
    • A senior player I know likes to buy clubs from Callaway Pre-Own. He said they offer great prices/condition, trade-in value and returns if you don’t like the clubs. He is constantly swapping club through the program.
  • TST Blog Entries

  • Blog Entries

  • Today's Birthdays

    1. golfjedi777
      golfjedi777
      (63 years old)
    2. obwan
      obwan
      (74 years old)
    3. rkim291968
      rkim291968
      (58 years old)
    4. Sammieiii
      Sammieiii
      (38 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...