Jump to content
IGNORED

Daily Rules Question II


Asheville
 Share

Note: This thread is 916 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

1 minute ago, dennyjones said:

But such practice strokes must not be made from a bunker and must not unreasonably delay play (see Rule 5.6a).

 

ROG: 5-5b

No ball = no stroke

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, dennyjones said:

Interesting thought.  

It comes from here, Denny:

Rule 5.5 Practising During Round or While Play Is Stopped

a. No Practice Strokes While Playing Hole - While playing a hole, a player must not make a practice stroke at any ball on or off the course.

These are not practice strokes:

A practice swing made with no intent to strike a ball.

Hitting a ball back to a practice area or to another player, when done solely as a courtesy.

Strokes made by a player in playing out a hole whose result has been decided.

  • Like 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


So after I've played a hole, if time allows, I can get into a bunker and swing away as long as I don't have a ball?   Of course, raking after I'm done..

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:

Except the question is about a practice swing.
Rule 5.5b discusses a practice stroke. A stroke is the forward movement of the club made to strike the ball. If there is no ball, is it still a stroke? “Striking a tee or natural object with a club (such as a stone or a pine cone) is not a practice stroke.” (Interpretation of 5.5a/1)

Quite right. Let me join you in redefining the consensus, answer True.

It's a nice question, our brains are hard-wired to go "no-one takes practice swings in a bunker after a hole is finished, it must mean stroke".

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


(edited)
2 hours ago, dennyjones said:

So after I've played a hole, if time allows, I can get into a bunker and swing away as long as I don't have a ball?   Of course, raking after I'm done..

So it seems. 😀

I'm playing with my group on Wednesday. They're vaguely familiar with the Rules, perhaps I'll try it out on them.

Edited by Asheville
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a puddle of rain water in a penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?
    A.    The player proceeded correctly.
    B.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking unplayable ball relief.
    C.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area and 2 penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place.

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a puddle of rain water in a penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?
    A.    The player proceeded correctly.
    B.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking unplayable ball relief.
    C.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area and 2 penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place.

C

Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a puddle of rain water in a penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?
    A.    The player proceeded correctly.
    B.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking unplayable ball relief.
    C.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area and 2 penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place.

C

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player's ball comes to rest on a puddle of rain water in a penalty area. The player drops a ball within 1 club-length of the nearest point of complete relief within the penalty area and plays a stroke. Which is correct?
    A.    The player proceeded correctly.
    B.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking unplayable ball relief.
    C.    The player gets 1 penalty stroke for taking relief from the penalty area and 2 penalty strokes for playing from a wrong place.

C

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1.  A player's putt from on a putting green hits a pine cone and is deflected into the hole. The player then tees off the next hole. 
    A.    There is no penalty.
    B.    The player is disqualified because the putt should have been cancelled and replayed.
    C.    There is a 2 stroke penalty and the ball is holed.

2.  A player putts his or her ball from the putting green. The ball deflects off a live insect into the hole. The ball is considered holed. 
    A.    True
    B.    False

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


I'll give this a try.  I have "hidden" my response so my incorrect advice doesn't influence anyone else.

Spoiler

 

1. A - the pine cone is a loose impediment and no penalty for the deflection

2. B - False.  A live insect is an outside agent and a putt deflected by an outside agent must be replayed.

 

 

Edited by bkuehn1952

Brian Kuehn

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

57 minutes ago, Asheville said:

1.  A player's putt from on a putting green hits a pine cone and is deflected into the hole. The player then tees off the next hole. 
    A.    There is no penalty.
    B.    The player is disqualified because the putt should have been cancelled and replayed.
    C.    There is a 2 stroke penalty and the ball is holed.

2.  A player putts his or her ball from the putting green. The ball deflects off a live insect into the hole. The ball is considered holed. 
    A.    True
    B.    False

1. A

2. A

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Asheville said:

1.  A player's putt from on a putting green hits a pine cone and is deflected into the hole. The player then tees off the next hole. 
    A.    There is no penalty.
    B.    The player is disqualified because the putt should have been cancelled and replayed.
    C.    There is a 2 stroke penalty and the ball is holed.

2.  A player putts his or her ball from the putting green. The ball deflects off a live insect into the hole. The ball is considered holed. 
    A.    True
    B.    False

Like @bkuehn1952, I'll hide my answer to avoid influencing anyone:

Spoiler

11.1b Exception 2.  A ball played on the putting green hits any person, animal, or movable obstruction, it must be replayed from its original spot.  So the answer to question 2 is False. A Pine Cone is not a movable obstruction, obstructions are artificial objects, to in Question 1 the ball must be played as it lies, e.i. it is holed, with no penalty.

 

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, bkuehn1952 said:

I'll give this a try.  I have "hidden" my response so my incorrect advice doesn't influence anyone else.

  Hide contents

 

1. A - the pine cone is a loose impediment and no penalty for the deflection

2. B - False.  A live insect is an outside agent and a putt deflected by an outside agent must be replayed.

 

 

Explanation for 2 is inaccurate, the phrase "outside agent" has no role in the relevant rule, R11.1b, Exception 2. Swap it out for "animal" and you're good.

  • Upvote 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


2 hours ago, Asheville said:

1.  A player's putt from on a putting green hits a pine cone and is deflected into the hole. The player then tees off the next hole. 
    A.    There is no penalty.
    B.    The player is disqualified because the putt should have been cancelled and replayed.
    C.    There is a 2 stroke penalty and the ball is holed.

2.  A player putts his or her ball from the putting green. The ball deflects off a live insect into the hole. The ball is considered holed. 
    A.    True
    B.    False

Spoiler

1. A. It hit a loose impediment.

2. B. Live insect is an outside influence. Must replay the stroke.

 

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Note: This thread is 916 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...