Jump to content
IGNORED

Daily Rules Question II


Asheville
 Share

Note: This thread is 991 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

11 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:
  Reveal hidden contents

1. A. It hit a loose impediment.

2. B. Live insect is an outside influence. Must replay the stroke.

 

The terminology in the heading of R11.1, and the terminology in 11.1b's Exception 2 are critically different. 'Outside Influence' does not have relevance to Exception 2, the Exception applies only to the explicitly named items.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


16 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

Spoiler

I'm going with C.  It's not asking about club selection..

 

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

59 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

B.

 

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

Spoiler

C, from the definitions of Loose impediments, abnormal course condition, and animal hole.  

 

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

Spoiler

C

 

  • Like 1

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Again thanks for the refresher on all the Rules details.

  Hide contents

I was going to say "C" but cheated and looked at @DaveP043's answer.  Shame on me.

 

You'll note that DaveP doesn't guess . . . he looks 'em up, beginning where? Beginning with Definitions!

New one tomorrow. ☺

 

 

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Upvote 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


We need more participation!   This is a great thing that @Asheville is doing for the forum.  I for one greatly appreciate the time and effort.   thanks!

  • Upvote 1

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

We need more participation!   This is a great thing that @Asheville is doing for the forum.  I for one greatly appreciate the time and effort.   thanks!

Thanks, Denny. The reality is that Rules are a niche interest. We know they're vital for players who wish to compete at higher levels, but for most who just want to knock it around with their friends, the Rules aren't very important.

Spoiler

Charlie

 

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


3 hours ago, dennyjones said:

We need more participation!   This is a great thing that @Asheville is doing for the forum.  I for one greatly appreciate the time and effort.   thanks!

I'm guessing that participation likely goes beyond those who post. Is that something @iacas has data on?

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


18 minutes ago, fredf said:

I'm guessing that participation likely goes beyond those who post. Is that something @iacas has data on?

99B1FA12-9D11-4D83-8327-AD7737462F0B.jpeg.b761337e7f6cee75a9eb789b8801d289.jpeg

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

19 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

99B1FA12-9D11-4D83-8327-AD7737462F0B.jpeg.b761337e7f6cee75a9eb789b8801d289.jpeg

I'm not aware how much that data guides on how many people view without posting at all. In my case, I've posted 7 times (this is #8) since the thread began Saturday, but I've probably accessed the thread many times that number. The big number above doesn't tell me now many people. But my underlying point to Denny is posts will understate the number of folk engaging with the material.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

Spoiler

17.1c says B is right, referencing 6.3b(2).  Essentially, you only get to have one ball in play at any time.  Once you drop a ball to take relief, intending to play that substituted ball, it becomes the ball in play.  This is the same reasoning behind the rule that you cannot play your provisional if you find the original ball in the woods.  You don't get the option to select which ball to play.

 

13 hours ago, Asheville said:

You'll note that DaveP doesn't guess . . . he looks 'em up, beginning where? Beginning with Definitions!

Many times I don't need to look these up, but I always try to reference a specific rule (or definition).  I've had lots of people tell me the wrong thing about rules, so I don't often take other people's answers at face value, and nobody should take MY answers at face value.  Trust but verify.  Read the rules for yourself if you really want to learn about the rules, and learn about using the rulebook.

  • Upvote 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

Rule 17.1c reveals all. (Edit, I see Dave identified 17.1c too, but then fell victim to gremlins.)

Edited by fredf
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 991 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Posts

    • Day 1: Aftermath of wife's company end of year celebration on Tuesday put my plans on hold, so trying again, again, again or whatever. Worked on backswing - focus on width and depth, with a little bit of toe-up feel. Did this indoors because it's starting to rain, used mirror vision to check on things (need to do this more often/always).
    • Played the back nine again at Minnesott with my son and my friend who’s working back from nerve injury to his right hand (numb little and ring fingers).  He’s contemplating larger grips so we brought a couple irons - one midsize, one jumbo.  He hit a few with each and said he could feel the clubs in his right hand better.  He’s going to work with a fitter about the best grip for him.  How did the round go?  It was a bogie kind of day - one dbl, two pars and six bogies for a 44.  Hit 5 of 7 fairways, the drives were finding the short grass today.  Not quite the same on the par threes, caught the tee shot with heavy 9i on 12 to nearly pin high, but right of the green. Pitched the 58 over the bunker as the pin was tucked tight.  Two putted for bogie.  The other three, 14 was a 6i flushed that landed ball at the back of the green and bounced just off.  Bumped the 50 to get the ball close - not close enough for a one putt par, but rather a two putt bogie.  While it wasn’t the up and down saves for par, felt the overall game was consistent today.  Best highlight was that there were only 18 putts - no three putts today!  
    • Day 23 (08 Dec 22) - Played the back nine today at Minnesott with my son and my friend who recently moved back to the area.  Drill work is paying off as I continue to see more consistent shot results. 
    • I didn't know the gaps were going to be that big when I ordered the kit. The installation instructions as far as mounting them were pretty lacking, I'll do some more research and see if I can find how others have mounted it but I'm not sure how much closer I can get them to each other based on how big the brackets are and how far the brackets/motors stick out from the ends of each tube.   Edit: I did just realize I could make the side screens roll up on the insides rather than the outside like they do now which should help close the gaps some
    • He didn't want to spoil it for me because I hadn't listened to that one yet. It's actually a good pod cast from the few that I have heard so far. Lots of good "inside" information about players and tours etc...

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...