Jump to content
IGNORED

Daily Rules Question II


Asheville
 Share

Note: This thread is 873 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

11 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:
  Reveal hidden contents

1. A. It hit a loose impediment.

2. B. Live insect is an outside influence. Must replay the stroke.

 

The terminology in the heading of R11.1, and the terminology in 11.1b's Exception 2 are critically different. 'Outside Influence' does not have relevance to Exception 2, the Exception applies only to the explicitly named items.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


16 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

Spoiler

I'm going with C.  It's not asking about club selection..

 

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

59 minutes ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following is not a breach of Rule 10.2a (Advice)?
    A.    A player makes a statement regarding club selection that was intended to be overheard by another player who had a similar stroke.
    B.    During play of the 6th hole, a player asks another player what club he or she used on the 4th hole that is a par 3 of similar length.
    C.    A player comments to another player, "If I were you, I would decide to take unplayable ball relief".

B.

 

In David's bag....

Driver: Titleist 910 D-3;  9.5* Diamana Kai'li
3-Wood: Titleist 910F;  15* Diamana Kai'li
Hybrids: Titleist 910H 19* and 21* Diamana Kai'li
Irons: Titleist 695cb 5-Pw

Wedges: Scratch 51-11 TNC grind, Vokey SM-5's;  56-14 F grind and 60-11 K grind
Putter: Scotty Cameron Kombi S
Ball: ProV1

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
  • Like 1

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

Spoiler

C, from the definitions of Loose impediments, abnormal course condition, and animal hole.  

 

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

Which of the following statements is true?
    A.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both loose impediments.
    B.    Ant hills and the removed dirt from animal holes are both abnormal course conditions.
    C.    Ant hills are loose impediments and the removed dirt from animal holes is an abnormal course condition.
 

Spoiler

C

 

  • Like 1

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

15 minutes ago, bkuehn1952 said:

Again thanks for the refresher on all the Rules details.

  Hide contents

I was going to say "C" but cheated and looked at @DaveP043's answer.  Shame on me.

 

You'll note that DaveP doesn't guess . . . he looks 'em up, beginning where? Beginning with Definitions!

New one tomorrow. ☺

 

 

  • Like 1
  • Thumbs Up 1
  • Upvote 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


We need more participation!   This is a great thing that @Asheville is doing for the forum.  I for one greatly appreciate the time and effort.   thanks!

  • Upvote 1

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 minutes ago, dennyjones said:

We need more participation!   This is a great thing that @Asheville is doing for the forum.  I for one greatly appreciate the time and effort.   thanks!

Thanks, Denny. The reality is that Rules are a niche interest. We know they're vital for players who wish to compete at higher levels, but for most who just want to knock it around with their friends, the Rules aren't very important.

Spoiler

Charlie

 

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


3 hours ago, dennyjones said:

We need more participation!   This is a great thing that @Asheville is doing for the forum.  I for one greatly appreciate the time and effort.   thanks!

I'm guessing that participation likely goes beyond those who post. Is that something @iacas has data on?

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


18 minutes ago, fredf said:

I'm guessing that participation likely goes beyond those who post. Is that something @iacas has data on?

99B1FA12-9D11-4D83-8327-AD7737462F0B.jpeg.b761337e7f6cee75a9eb789b8801d289.jpeg

Craig
What's in the :ogio: Silencer bag (on the :clicgear: cart)
Driver: :callaway: Razr Fit 10.5°  
5 Wood: :tmade: Burner  
Hybrid: :cobra: Baffler DWS 20°
Irons: :ping: G400 
Wedge: :ping: Glide 2.0 54° ES grind 
Putter: :heavyputter:  midweight CX2
:aimpoint:,  :bushnell: Tour V4

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

19 minutes ago, Missouri Swede said:

99B1FA12-9D11-4D83-8327-AD7737462F0B.jpeg.b761337e7f6cee75a9eb789b8801d289.jpeg

I'm not aware how much that data guides on how many people view without posting at all. In my case, I've posted 7 times (this is #8) since the thread began Saturday, but I've probably accessed the thread many times that number. The big number above doesn't tell me now many people. But my underlying point to Denny is posts will understate the number of folk engaging with the material.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


1 hour ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

Spoiler

17.1c says B is right, referencing 6.3b(2).  Essentially, you only get to have one ball in play at any time.  Once you drop a ball to take relief, intending to play that substituted ball, it becomes the ball in play.  This is the same reasoning behind the rule that you cannot play your provisional if you find the original ball in the woods.  You don't get the option to select which ball to play.

 

13 hours ago, Asheville said:

You'll note that DaveP doesn't guess . . . he looks 'em up, beginning where? Beginning with Definitions!

Many times I don't need to look these up, but I always try to reference a specific rule (or definition).  I've had lots of people tell me the wrong thing about rules, so I don't often take other people's answers at face value, and nobody should take MY answers at face value.  Trust but verify.  Read the rules for yourself if you really want to learn about the rules, and learn about using the rulebook.

  • Upvote 1

Dave

:callaway: Rogue SubZero Driver

:titleist: 915F 15 Fairway, 816 H1 19 Hybrid, AP2 4 iron to PW, Vokey 52, 56, and 60 wedges, ProV1 balls 
:ping: G5i putter, B60 version
 :ping:Hoofer Bag, complete with Newport Cup logo
:footjoy::true_linkswear:, and Ashworth shoes

the only thing wrong with this car is the nut behind the wheel.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 hours ago, Asheville said:

In stroke play, a player is virtually certain that their tee shot has come to rest in a yellow penalty area. The player properly drops another ball back-on-the-line under the penalty area relief Rule 17. Before playing the dropped ball and within 3 minutes the player finds the original ball outside the penalty area.

Which is correct?

    A.    The original ball is out of play; the player must proceed with the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
    B.    The player must abandon the dropped ball and continue play with the original ball.
    C.    The player may play the original ball or the dropped ball with 1 penalty stroke.
 

Rule 17.1c reveals all. (Edit, I see Dave identified 17.1c too, but then fell victim to gremlins.)

Edited by fredf
  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 873 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
    • Oh man, I would LOVE for one of those guys to say that under oath. But at the end of the day, not one of those guys in that lawsuit said they were leaving for money.  They were leaving for a "better schedule", to "spend more time with their families", or "to grow the game of golf."  They were also aware that LIV was an international organization, the LIV website literally calls themself an "International Golf Series."  They were aware of the format at the time they joined, they were aware of the schedule.  They were also made very aware of what the penalty would be from the PGA Tour if they joined.  They had all of that information in advance, and made a choice.  Now to come back and say that? Understand you're playing devils advocate, but that argument coming from these professionals should have no legs to stand on in a legal setting.
    • Playing devils advocate here because I can't comprehend what its like to be a millionaire and want to be a zillionaire - but I think the point is there is no competition in LIV just money. Thus still no meaningful choice to them. LIV can pay but can't provide competition, PGA Tour has the competition but doesn't pay that well. Most PGA Tour players are not making a ton of money, especially compared to other US sports.
    • Day 650: Played 18 this morning at North Kingstown. Driver was dreadful. I’m at a loss as to what is different on the course.
    • Historically, I've had difficultly getting the ball off the deck with woods. I've new Callaway Mavrik MAX 3, 5, and 7-woods.  Haven't swung the 3w, yet, nor have I yet played the other two, but I was able to get the ball off the deck much more easily, in range practice, with the 5 and 7-woods than I had with my previous woods. You might also consider hybrids.  I couldn't hit my 4i worth a darn. Replaced it with a Mavrik 4h on a "I wonder...?" impulse and I'm able to hit that well.  Again: At least in range practice. Whether any of those improvements will translate to play remains a question I hope to answer this season. My main concern with replacing anything under my 5i with woods or hybrids would be play out of the rough--from where I far too often find myself playing 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...