Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules Issues During Competition


Asheville
 Share

Note: This thread is 869 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

4 hours ago, Asheville said:

One last one (I think) in this section:

7) If a player knows or believes that another player has breached or might have breached the Rules and that the other player does not recognize or is ignoring this, the player should tell the other player, the player’s marker, a referee or the Committee. Which of the following are correct?

A. This only applies to match play.
B. In match play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by their opponent.
C. This only applies to stroke play.
D. In stroke play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by another player.

  Hide contents

R20.1b & R20.1c

8 Which of the following are true?

A. In stroke play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, to cover yourself, play a second ball.
B. In stroke play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, you and your opponent may agree on a course of action so long as you don’t knowingly agree to ignore a Rule or a penalty.
C. Both A and B are permitted.
D. Neither A or B are true.

  Reveal hidden contents

R20.1

9) Which of the following are true?

A. In match play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, to cover yourself, play a second ball.
B. In match play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, you and your opponent may agree on a course of action so long as you don’t knowingly agree to ignore a Rule or a penalty.
C. Both A and B are permitted.
D. Neither A or B are true.

  Reveal hidden contents

R20.1

 

I've not played competitively, especially match play and after reading the rules, I'm still a little confused:  Best guess:

Spoiler

B:   Not sure why/if there should be a difference between match play and stroke play

A:  Getting an opponent to agree on playing two balls doesn't seem like a requirement

D    Match play doesn't allow for playing a second ball.

 

Edited by dennyjones

From the land of perpetual cloudiness.   I'm Denny

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, Asheville said:

One last one (I think) in this section:

7) If a player knows or believes that another player has breached or might have breached the Rules and that the other player does not recognize or is ignoring this, the player should tell the other player, the player’s marker, a referee or the Committee. Which of the following are correct?

A. This only applies to match play.
B. In match play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by their opponent.
C. This only applies to stroke play.
D. In stroke play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by another player.

  Reveal hidden contents

8 Which of the following are true?

A. In stroke play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, to cover yourself, play a second ball.
B. In stroke play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, you and your opponent may agree on a course of action so long as you don’t knowingly agree to ignore a Rule or a penalty.
C. Both A and B are permitted.
D. Neither A or B are true.

  Reveal hidden contents

9) Which of the following are true?

A. In match play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, to cover yourself, play a second ball.
B. In match play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, you and your opponent may agree on a course of action so long as you don’t knowingly agree to ignore a Rule or a penalty.
C. Both A and B are permitted.
D. Neither A or B are true.

  Reveal hidden contents

 

Spoiler

7. B & D You  can call another player or your opponent on it, but you may also choose to silently ignore it since it is their responsibility to play within the rules of the game.

8. A

9. C - if it is agreed between opponents that this is how the situation is to be resolved.

 

Edited by DrvFrShow

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator

@DrvFrShow, check your first and third answers.

Erik J. Barzeski —  I knock a ball. It goes in a gopher hole. 🏌🏼‍♂️
Director of Instructor Development, 5 Simple Keys®/Golf Evolution • Owner, The Sand Trap .com • AuthorLowest Score Wins • Golf Digest "Best Young Teachers in America" 2016-17 • "Best in State" 2017-20 • WNY Section PGA Teacher of the Year 2019 • Penn-State Behrend Head Coach • • • • • • • • • • :aimpoint: :edel: :true_linkswear:

Check Out: New Topics | TST Blog | Golf Terms | Instructional Content | Analyzr | 5SK.com | LSW | Instructional Droplets

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Spoiler

7. B (D - we're supposed to protect the field and inform our competitor of the breach and if the situation isn't corrected, the committee or rules official, if any.)

9. B

 

Julia

:callaway:  :cobra:    :seemore:  :bushnell:  :clicgear:  :adidas:  :footjoy:

Spoiler

Driver: Callaway Big Bertha w/ Fubuki Z50 R 44.5"
FW: Cobra BiO CELL 14.5 degree; 
Hybrids: Cobra BiO CELL 22.5 degree Project X R-flex
Irons: Cobra BiO CELL 5 - GW Project X R-Flex
Wedges: Cobra BiO CELL SW, Fly-Z LW, 64* Callaway PM Grind.
Putter: 48" Odyssey Dart

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm not a fan of Q7, it  muddies the water with a mismatch of wording in the question and answers. Answer B is a true statement but bears little relationship to the language of the question.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


2 minutes ago, fredf said:

I'm not a fan of Q7, it  muddies the water with a mismatch of wording in the question and answers. Answer B is a true statement but bears little relationship to the language of the question.

I agree Fred. Sometimes "we" know what "we" mean, but fail to articulate it properly. Thanks for your input. By mid-afternoon, I wasn't really happy with #7 either.

  • Thumbs Up 1
"Age improves with wine."
 
Wishon 919THI 11*
Wishon 925HL 4w
Wishon 335HL 3h & 4h
Wishon 755pc 5i, 6i, 7i, 8i & 9i
Tad Moore 485 PW
Callaway X 54*
Ping G2 Anser C
Callaway SuperSoft
Titleist StaDry
Kangaroo Hillcrest AB
Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 869 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct links for Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package. Save 10% on Mevo with coupon code "IACAS" as well.
  • Posts

    • And if there were, as @boogielicious points out, would it be reasonable to expect anybody to be able to play both at a time? Of course not - that idea is absurd.
    • Oh man, I would LOVE for one of those guys to say that under oath. But at the end of the day, not one of those guys in that lawsuit said they were leaving for money.  They were leaving for a "better schedule", to "spend more time with their families", or "to grow the game of golf."  They were also aware that LIV was an international organization, the LIV website literally calls themself an "International Golf Series."  They were aware of the format at the time they joined, they were aware of the schedule.  They were also made very aware of what the penalty would be from the PGA Tour if they joined.  They had all of that information in advance, and made a choice.  Now to come back and say that? Understand you're playing devils advocate, but that argument coming from these professionals should have no legs to stand on in a legal setting.
    • Playing devils advocate here because I can't comprehend what its like to be a millionaire and want to be a zillionaire - but I think the point is there is no competition in LIV just money. Thus still no meaningful choice to them. LIV can pay but can't provide competition, PGA Tour has the competition but doesn't pay that well. Most PGA Tour players are not making a ton of money, especially compared to other US sports.
    • Day 650: Played 18 this morning at North Kingstown. Driver was dreadful. I’m at a loss as to what is different on the course.
    • Historically, I've had difficultly getting the ball off the deck with woods. I've new Callaway Mavrik MAX 3, 5, and 7-woods.  Haven't swung the 3w, yet, nor have I yet played the other two, but I was able to get the ball off the deck much more easily, in range practice, with the 5 and 7-woods than I had with my previous woods. You might also consider hybrids.  I couldn't hit my 4i worth a darn. Replaced it with a Mavrik 4h on a "I wonder...?" impulse and I'm able to hit that well.  Again: At least in range practice. Whether any of those improvements will translate to play remains a question I hope to answer this season. My main concern with replacing anything under my 5i with woods or hybrids would be play out of the rough--from where I far too often find myself playing 
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. JoeInPI
      JoeInPI
      (49 years old)
    2. meenman
      meenman
      (53 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...