Jump to content
IGNORED

Rules Issues During Competition


Recommended Posts

4 hours ago, Asheville said:

One last one (I think) in this section:

7) If a player knows or believes that another player has breached or might have breached the Rules and that the other player does not recognize or is ignoring this, the player should tell the other player, the player’s marker, a referee or the Committee. Which of the following are correct?

A. This only applies to match play.
B. In match play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by their opponent.
C. This only applies to stroke play.
D. In stroke play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by another player.

  Hide contents

R20.1b & R20.1c

8 Which of the following are true?

A. In stroke play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, to cover yourself, play a second ball.
B. In stroke play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, you and your opponent may agree on a course of action so long as you don’t knowingly agree to ignore a Rule or a penalty.
C. Both A and B are permitted.
D. Neither A or B are true.

  Reveal hidden contents

R20.1

9) Which of the following are true?

A. In match play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, to cover yourself, play a second ball.
B. In match play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, you and your opponent may agree on a course of action so long as you don’t knowingly agree to ignore a Rule or a penalty.
C. Both A and B are permitted.
D. Neither A or B are true.

  Reveal hidden contents

R20.1

 

I've not played competitively, especially match play and after reading the rules, I'm still a little confused:  Best guess:

Spoiler

B:   Not sure why/if there should be a difference between match play and stroke play

A:  Getting an opponent to agree on playing two balls doesn't seem like a requirement

D    Match play doesn't allow for playing a second ball.

 

Edited by dennyjones
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

9 hours ago, Asheville said:

One last one (I think) in this section:

7) If a player knows or believes that another player has breached or might have breached the Rules and that the other player does not recognize or is ignoring this, the player should tell the other player, the player’s marker, a referee or the Committee. Which of the following are correct?

A. This only applies to match play.
B. In match play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by their opponent.
C. This only applies to stroke play.
D. In stroke play, a player may silently disregard a breach of the Rules by another player.

  Reveal hidden contents

8 Which of the following are true?

A. In stroke play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, to cover yourself, play a second ball.
B. In stroke play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, you and your opponent may agree on a course of action so long as you don’t knowingly agree to ignore a Rule or a penalty.
C. Both A and B are permitted.
D. Neither A or B are true.

  Reveal hidden contents

9) Which of the following are true?

A. In match play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, to cover yourself, play a second ball.
B. In match play, if you don’t know the Rule or procedure, you and your opponent may agree on a course of action so long as you don’t knowingly agree to ignore a Rule or a penalty.
C. Both A and B are permitted.
D. Neither A or B are true.

  Reveal hidden contents

 

Spoiler

7. B & D You  can call another player or your opponent on it, but you may also choose to silently ignore it since it is their responsibility to play within the rules of the game.

8. A

9. C - if it is agreed between opponents that this is how the situation is to be resolved.

 

Edited by DrvFrShow
Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Spoiler

7. B (D - we're supposed to protect the field and inform our competitor of the breach and if the situation isn't corrected, the committee or rules official, if any.)

9. B

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

I'm not a fan of Q7, it  muddies the water with a mismatch of wording in the question and answers. Answer B is a true statement but bears little relationship to the language of the question.

Link to post
Share on other sites

2 minutes ago, fredf said:

I'm not a fan of Q7, it  muddies the water with a mismatch of wording in the question and answers. Answer B is a true statement but bears little relationship to the language of the question.

I agree Fred. Sometimes "we" know what "we" mean, but fail to articulate it properly. Thanks for your input. By mid-afternoon, I wasn't really happy with #7 either.

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • Does it occur to you that your friend is not the arbiter of what is or isn't appropriate?  He is one man with an opinion. And you seem to think that that trumps anyone else's. You may as well say that I as an Australian, represent everyone in my country and have the final say over anything to do with my country.  Funny how this is similar to you you thinking that Florida is doing great on Covid - but then you'd know, so we'll defer to you, in spite of the numbers and facts. You are passive aggressive and a troll. Actually, I don't think you are a troll. I fear you believe your own simplistic arguments. For your information, the Chief Wahoo image is part of an exhibit at the Jim Crow Museum of Racist Memorabilia.  
    • You really don’t get it. Not do you realize how dumb statements like that are, apparently, because nobody would make such statements intentionally if they did.
    • Played 27 Holes today made 7 birdies today finally birdied the 1st, just the second and third left to birdie.
    • I’ll pass that along to him and his people.  👍
    • Played my second round (ever) at the course that I think will be a home course for me next year (the complex has two 18s... I have played the other 18, but not in over a decade).  Birdied #13 to improve my away composite to five birdies and a total of -4 (I still have yet to par a hole nine in 2021 ... anywhere).  My two-round composite at that course is a 77.  By contrast, no birdies so far at my home course (well beyond two rounds played... and at least three scheduled in the next two weeks!), and three holes there I've yet to par.
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. CrappyGolfer
      CrappyGolfer
      (68 years old)
    2. Jacob Vance
      Jacob Vance
      (25 years old)
    3. jax731
      jax731
      (54 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...