If I am understanding this correctly, I've been able to, for over two and a half years now, move stones in bunkers, as long as doing so doesn't move my ball, same as I can do on the fairway or in the rough?
I either missed this entirely or forgot about it.
It was explained to me that they wanted people to remove stones, but not to give them so much freedom that they could just go messing about willy nilly and moving their ball.
So, what they came up with did that.
Previously the LR caused a stone to be treated like a MO in all respects. Now the rule doesn't.
Why not? Why shouldn't the Rule simply deem a stone in a bunker as either a LI or treat it by Rule as one? A safety conscious player could incur a penalty for being safe about a stone but not a walnut.