Jump to content
IGNORED

Billy Casper - Anchored Putter?


Archie Bunker
Note: This thread is 1452 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Recommended Posts

On 5/2/2020 at 11:27 PM, fredf said:

 But we have no guidance on whether this would be considered a breach by RBs - they have provided no example of a standard hands together grip producing a breach where no part of the club is in direct contact with the player's body.

Looking at the picture in post#22, it looks like the butt end of the putter grip is in direct contact with his body, no?

Colin P.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, colin007 said:

Looking at the picture in post#22, it looks like the butt end of the putter grip is in direct contact with his body, no?

Static, front on shot, not so helpful. There's plenty of video, for example, the first video on #18 has plenty of Casper putting. On all the longer putts, his hands follow through past the left leg. Obviously no anchoring there.

There's a short putt at 52.10 facing the camera and you can see he actually moves his hands slightly forward immediately before the little backswing and stab stroke. If the club butt was already fixed against his body or leg then he wouldn't be able to move those hands forward. 

As has already been noted, it's all long ago and far away so it's just a curiosity discussing this now. But there has been some misunderstanding of the current rule in this thread.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


6 hours ago, fredf said:

AND (2) THE PLAYER MUST GRIP THE CLUB SO THAT THE HANDS ARE SEPARATED AND WORK INDEPENDENTLY FROM EACH OTHER.

 So you misunderstand the rule if you try to defend the statement that 'fixing a forearm to a leg is a breach', it is not, it meets neither of the two elements of 10.1b.

As I have said, I have not seen a video of Casper's action, so cannot judge whether (2) is breached or not.

You may be right about (2) but I can only see where he locates his forearm in the two still pictures earlier in the thread..

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Moderator
2 hours ago, Rulesman said:

As I have said, I have not seen a video of Casper's action, so cannot judge whether (2) is breached or not.

There were three or four videos of him playing posted earlier in the thread.

Bill

“By three methods we may learn wisdom: First, by reflection, which is noblest; Second, by imitation, which is easiest; and third by experience, which is the bitterest.” - Confucius

My Swing Thread

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, Rulesman said:

As I have said, I have not seen a video of Casper's action, so cannot judge whether (2) is breached or not.

You may be right about (2) but I can only see where he locates his forearm in the two still pictures earlier in the thread..

You don't need to see any video action to judge whether (2) is breached - it is there in the stills and in the simple, uncontestable statement that he  used a hands together grip. Which simply means that the position of the forearms has NO role in determining whether the player is anchoring the club (10.1b and 10.1b/1).

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Note: This thread is 1452 days old. We appreciate that you found this thread instead of starting a new one, but if you plan to post here please make sure it's still relevant. If not, please start a new topic. Thank you!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now


  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • TST Partners

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    ShotScope
    The Stack System
    FlightScope Mevo
    Direct: Mevo, Mevo+, and Pro Package.

    Coupon Codes (save 10-15%): "IACAS" for Mevo/Stack, "IACASPLUS" for Mevo+/Pro Package, and "THESANDTRAP" for ShotScope.
  • Popular Now

  • Posts

    • Agree. The next omission needs to be that ridiculous team concept. Nobody cares about a team when they really don’t represent anything except being a group of diminished morality and/or washed up pro golfers. Or wait, we’ve also got total nobodies who’ve accomplished nothing who now get a participation trophy! Doesn’t that sound invigorating!
    • LIV moving to 72 holes is a subtle admission that 54 holes was nothing but a joke all along. 
    • I was going to start a thread, but this seems like the place.  Yesterday I played my matchplay match at my local club.  My opponent is a notorious sandbagger by reputation.  The pro once pulled his tournament rounds from the past several years and said that it is impossible his tournament rounds are legit based on his handicap. here is what happened last night.  I am getting 4 shots from him.  His current handicap index is 15.3 i shot 45 on the front.   Was down 4 after nine, he had three birdies and shot even par. I was closed out on thirteen, we halved with a bogey.  That bogey put him one over par for his round.   He then took a triple on 14 and then left. As if that wasn’t bad enough, he lied about his score.   I wrote down on my scorecard what the score was.  He put higher values that didn’t affect the outcome of the match to pad his score and apparently make it not look as obvious.   He shot 36 on the front, but claimed 40.  The higher values for his score were in the online scoring app our club uses.  He did it this way: I won #7. He had a 2 foot putt for par that if he made would still lose the hole.   He picked up and said it didn’t matter since I won.  He took a 5 instead of a 4 after picking up a gimme. on #8 his approach shot on this par 4 was 8 inches.  I verbally conceded the putt but I had hit into a hazard.  I finished the hole with a 6.  Instead of birdie he put in for par. on #9, another par 4, his approach was to 18 inches.  I missed my par putt and then knowing how close I verbally conceded the putt.  I missed my bogey putt, he never conceded mine.  Instead of birdie he put down a bogey. He padded his score by 4 shots on the front.  And then did again on 10.  I rinsed one and made 6 on a par 4.  I putted out and he was fishing balls out of the lake so I drove off to the next tee.  He had 15 feet laying two but claimed a 5.     love to know the odds of a 15 handicap being even thru 12 holes on a round of golf. 
    • They've been chuckling since they hooked the shark. I think Greg doesn't realize the jokes on him.
    • to confirm, I'll need a hotel for Friday and Saturday, planning to share with you
×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...