IGNORED

Which to Do First: Lessons or Fitting?

I’ve moved to Australia and was only able to bring a limited number of things with me. Unfortunately my clubs were not one of those things. 
     The good news is I’m going to a club fitting and getting some new clubs. My wife also gave me a voucher for three free golf lessons at our club  (I’ve been golfing for nearly twenty years but always open to a good lesson)

My question is, which do I do first, the lessons or the fitting? I’m playing with borrowed clubs at the moment.  Any advice. 

Ericw

• iacas changed the title to Which to Do First: Lessons or Fitting?

Hi @Ericw. Welcome to the site.

1 hour ago, Ericw said:

My question is, which do I do first, the lessons or the fitting?

My answer would be Yes. Get fit and take lessons. 3 lessons sounds like a good start, but believe me when I say that it is ONLY a start. Unless you have natural talent, it will take a lot more than that.

Best of luck!

• Thanks 1
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, Ericw said:

I’ve moved to Australia and was only able to bring a limited number of things with me. Unfortunately my clubs were not one of those things. 
     The good news is I’m going to a club fitting and getting some new clubs. My wife also gave me a voucher for three free golf lessons at our club  (I’ve been golfing for nearly twenty years but always open to a good lesson)

My question is, which do I do first, the lessons or the fitting? I’m playing with borrowed clubs at the moment.  Any advice. 

Ericw

Welcome to TST! 

What is your handicap or what do you usually shoot?

If you know your swing is in a bad place and you struggle to make consistent contact, then it might be worth it to take a lesson or two first then do the fitting. If you hit the ball fairly solid and don't anticipate huge swing changes coming, then you could do the club fitting first.

• Thanks 1