Jump to content
Papa Steve 55

Putting a Conceded Putt

10 posts / 559 viewsLast Reply

Recommended Posts

During a two man match we conceded a 12' bogey putt on the line of the partners 20' par one. The 12 footer went up to his ball and putted it anyway. In the end it didn't matter as the 20 footer 3 putted. Any rules issue with stroking a conceded putt? 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

During a two man match we conceded a 12' bogey putt on the line of the partners 20' par one. The 12 footer went up to his ball and putted it anyway. In the end it didn't matter as the 20 footer 3 putted. Any rules issue with stroking a conceded putt? 

Absolutely, they lose the hole when the first guy putted.  Essentially, the first guy is practicing on the green of a hole on which play has not been completed.  The penalty for that is the General Penalty, Loss of Hole (Rule 5.5).  Because his practice putting can help his partner, the penalty applies to his partner as well.  (Rule 23.8(a)2)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

52 minutes ago, Papa Steve 55 said:

Thanks guys...

no problem, that's how we all learned.  This is one reason that in (semi)serious matches, I'll usually pick up the other guys ball and hand it to him when I concede it.  And if he says "Hey, I wanted to putt that" I tell him he's welcome to practice all he wants once we finish playing the hole.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

For clarity, this penalty is purely for a form of play involving a partner. In a singles match, this would not be a Rule 5.5 breach.

In this part of the world, "two man match" would be more commonly interpreted as player A versus player B - a match between two players. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 hours ago, fredf said:

For clarity, this penalty is purely for a form of play involving a partner. In a singles match, this would not be a Rule 5.5 breach.

In this part of the world, "two man match" would be more commonly interpreted as player A versus player B - a match between two players. 

 

19 minutes ago, Rulesman said:

Papa Steve, you were playing 'Fourball matchplay'

No question, I made an evaluation based on the way he phrased the question, and went straight to the Fourball rules section.  But I agree, learning and using the right terminology makes searching for the right answer much easier.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

3 hours ago, DaveP043 said:

 

No question, I made an evaluation based on the way he phrased the question, and went straight to the Fourball rules section.  But I agree, learning and using the right terminology makes searching for the right answer much easier.

I tried to find the rule, but was searching 'conceded putts'. Found a lot about them, but nothing on my situation, just have to be more precise with the language. Thanks again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...