Jump to content
IGNORED

2020 Memorial Tournament


DeadMan
 Share

Recommended Posts

2 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

That's backwards from the way I think (not to say it's wrong). When I see posts, I would think center to center. So rarely is it on that fine line, but it is great to know that it is edge to edge instead. Thank you.

Well imagine if you took a string to mark the OB boundary...then said ‘let’s put a fence here.’ You would place the inside ( course) side of the posts to mark the boundary line. The middle of the post or backside wouldn’t make much sense. Make sense? 🙂

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
7 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

That's backwards from the way I think (not to say it's wrong). When I see posts, I would think center to center. So rarely is it on that fine line, but it is great to know that it is edge to edge instead. Thank you.

You will do yourself more good by looking these types of things up. Just bookmark the Rules page and look there first.

”How you think” doesn’t matter of course. It’s how the rules are written.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

8 minutes ago, Vinsk said:

Well imagine if you took a string to mark the OB boundary...then said ‘let’s put a fence here.’ You would place the inside ( course) side of the posts to mark the boundary line. The middle of the post or backside wouldn’t make much sense. Make sense? 🙂

I get the logic now, but in the situation with bryson, the fence-line was down the middle (the same way I would think about it), but the rules are different. Definitely appreciating the input/logic on this one. Cheers!

 

6 minutes ago, iacas said:

You will do yourself more good by looking these types of things up. Just bookmark the Rules page and look there first.

”How you think” doesn’t matter of course. It’s how the rules are written.

Yeah. I still need to do a better job reading up on rules. There are just so many, and in this case, something I wouldn't even think about until it came up. Hopefully I can gain some more knowledge by 2 weeks from now, lol. Thanks.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

  • Administrator
13 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Yeah. I still need to do a better job reading up on rules. There are just so many, and in this case, something I wouldn't even think about until it came up. Hopefully I can gain some more knowledge by 2 weeks from now, lol. Thanks.

Just bookmark this, and always start with Definitions.

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=1

  • Informative 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

24 minutes ago, Bonvivant said:

Yeah. I still need to do a better job reading up on rules. There are just so many, and in this case, something I wouldn't even think about until it came up. 

Not to worry.  I play golf with an attorney friend and even he has a difficult time keeping up with and interpreting the rules.  Unless you want to divorce your golf clubs... then he's got you covered.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

2 minutes ago, Double Mocha Man said:

Not to worry.  I play golf with an attorney friend and even he has a difficult time keeping up with and interpreting the rules.  Unless you want to divorce your golf clubs... then he's got you covered.

As I am not married, and have never been fitted, I am in no place to divorce anything of the sort. I'll keep him in mind if either of these happen.

Back on topic. How tough is Muirfield playing ATM? These guy are struggling!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

4 hours ago, Missouri Swede said:

FWIW, I think the commentators on nbcsportsgold got it wrong, too.  (Different from the golf channel broadcast at the same time.)  If I heard them correctly, one of them said that just like a penalty area, any part of the ball over the line makes it in the penalty area or OB.  But for OB, any part of the ball being in bounds makes the ball in bounds. 18.2a(2). 

I think BCD was trying to get a ruling that each small metal piece of the fence formed the line, rather than the posts. The ruling was the posts, if I understood it right. So even though part of his ball was course-side of the fence at the place his ball was, it was outside of the line formed by the posts.A985BF57-0760-425C-8B79-1535DF1F4C89.thumb.jpeg.d3c1972bf9727845b677a0dd3d111ada.jpeg

Yes, up until last year I would have gotten it wrong too. Buuuuut.... the point is, for an ultra-smart-super-duper-megladonion-progolf-physics-metaphysics- genius this should be 101.

On a different note, there's this aftertaste in all he does. In his rights, but the huffy rebuttal of the first official was icing on the cake.

He expected a cameraman to not soil his 'brand' couple of tournaments ago but he sure can't be bothered to do much towards it. 

Much respect for what he is doing with his distance thing but loved he won't be. 

Edited by GolfLug
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

59 minutes ago, GolfLug said:

On a different note, there's this aftertaste in all he does. In his rights, but the huffy rebuttal of the first official was icing on the cake.

Yes, he was just plain rude. The first rules official did well not to react. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

33 minutes ago, jamo said:

:scared:

 

R3 placements seem like they are all right  off the green edges too. Jack can't stand them tearing up his course. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

7 hours ago, Double Mocha Man said:

Not to worry.  I play golf with an attorney friend and even he has a difficult time keeping up with and interpreting the rules.  Unless you want to divorce your golf clubs... then he's got you covered.

Why wouldn’t he have me covered? Do you think he’d side with the golf clubs?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

45 minutes ago, Slim_Pivot said:

Why wouldn’t he have me covered? Do you think he’d side with the golf clubs?

Depends on whether the clubs or you hire him first. Are you having irreconcilable differences with your clubs?

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

10 hours ago, Bonvivant said:

Fair points. I hope he plays well today and tomorrow, and doesn't crack like he normally does.

I'm pulling for him as well, but it will be tough if Rahm shoots a decent round.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

5 hours ago, Vinsk said:

Annnnd this is why Finau has one win on the PGA TOUR. Shame...I like him but boy does he choke.

He should stop worrying about ball speed, imo, and work on his weaknesses, which are legion.  Improving his driving accuracy, scrambling, sand play, and putts inside10 ft. would improve his scores more than boosting his ball speed, imo, given that he already has more than adequate length.  I hope he figures this out. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

1 hour ago, turtleback said:

He should stop worrying about ball speed, imo, and work on his weaknesses, which are legion.  Improving his driving accuracy, scrambling, sand play, and putts inside10 ft. would improve his scores more than boosting his ball speed, imo, given that he already has more than adequate length.  I hope he figures this out. 

I think he's just a legit choke artist. NLU has categories for players: Killer (tiger, jack, and maybe a few other like Ratiff, Els, Faldo), dogs (guys that can and will fight to win like JT, Burba W), and (pussy) cats (Finau, schauffele, pretty much anyone that cant win on a regualr basis).

Finau is a cat, that can't fight back under any kind of pressure. It has little to do with what he is focusing on in his training time. He is just not capable of fighting for a win. This seems odd to the average golfer because we aren't typically worried about what others are doing, but for him, he is worried, and it makes him crack.

To me, TF's streak of not winning has nothing to do with mechanics.

Edited by Bonvivant
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

16 hours ago, iacas said:

Yeah it’s in the definitions. Those little ones don’t even reach the ground.

And I’m not sure the ball is inside that.

Not a hard one if you know the rules. On Sky Sports in the UK they called it correctly straight away.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


  • Administrator
2 hours ago, weekend hacker1 said:

Not a hard one if you know the rules. On Sky Sports in the UK they called it correctly straight away.

I know. They had it right on the US coverage, too, IIRC. The referee even said "in the definitions…" or something.

One of the first things you learn as a rules official is how the course is marked and what counts as "in" (in a penalty area, in bounds, in a bunker, etc.) on various areas of the course.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Awards, Achievements, and Accolades

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share



  • Want to join this community?

    We'd love to have you!

    Sign Up
  • Support TST Affiliates

    TourStriker PlaneMate
    Golfer's Journal
    Whoop
    SuperSpeed
    FlightScope Mevo
    Use the code "iacas" for 10% off Mevo and the code "iacasjun21" for 10% off SuperSpeed.
  • Posts

    • That's why I've got Nickent 3DX Hybrid irons, I have a 10 iron which works for me. Most sets of irons have 8" or more of loft gap between the 9 and the wedge, it's ok if your good enough to hit a half'ish or climb into the Sandiron but I'm not. I'm not too bad hitting a strong 9 8 7 etc but the wedges I'm more likely to hit skinny or fat, I think why there is so many wedges is all about the Money...
    • Above, or you could also make yourself a set of homemade speed training aids, instructions are all over the internet.
    • Day 202.  This evening, I spent ten minutes hitting balls.  I noticed my rehearsal swings weren't getting to where I expected and that my front arm was folding almost at setup.  I wonder if this was the issue yesterday?  I will have to pay more attention going forward.  By the way, I say "the issue yesterday" as if I hit the ball horribly.  Other than the first shot O.B. (which was also my first shot of the day -- range was closed), I played quite well, beating the 10 handicap mark on strokes gained by nearly a full stroke, and if we ignore the opening O.B. (which I maintain wouldn't have happened if I had been able to hit a few balls to warm up -- yes, it still counts of course), I'm under my handicap in SG:D for the day, too.  
    • Welcome to TST! Golf is a grand journey we all love around here. It’s disastrously wonderful. Cheers!
    • Day 48: Worked on priority piece with 4-iron. Multiple rehearsals between balls. Focused on having a quiet swing,
  • Today's Birthdays

    1. Avanh
      Avanh
      (34 years old)
    2. DesertTime
      DesertTime
      (73 years old)
    3. Kersys
      Kersys
      (30 years old)
    4. takemoney
      takemoney
      (30 years old)
    5. trapdodger
      trapdodger
      (50 years old)

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Welcome to TST! Signing up is free, and you'll see fewer ads and can talk with fellow golf enthusiasts! By using TST, you agree to our Terms of Use, our Privacy Policy, and our Guidelines.

The popup will be closed in 10 seconds...